Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

26.3: Communication
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Communication
 
Cette voix off est générée par ordinateur
TRANSCRIPTION
* La traduction du texte est générée par ordinateur

26.3: Communication

La communication entre deux animaux se produit lorsqu’un animal transmet un signal d’information qui provoque un changement dans l’animal qui reçoit l’information. Les organismes communiquent entre eux de différentes façons. Les signaux peuvent être auditifs, chimiques, visuels, tactiles, ou une combinaison de ceux-ci. La communication est une adaptation comportementale critique qui favorise la survie, la croissance et la reproduction.

Types de communication

Une forme commune de communication est visuelle. La communication visuelle peut être utilisée pour attirer un compagnon, comme les danses élaborées de l’oiseau de paradis, ou émettre un avertissement, comme les dents barrées d’un loup ou la coloration aposematic lumineuse d’un krait de mer bagué (un serpent venimeux). La waggle-dance de l’abeille est une autre communication visuelle cruciale qui informe les autres membres de la ruche sur l’emplacement des ressources.

Les animaux utilisent également fréquemment des signaux chimiques pour envoyer des messages. Par exemple, les canidés, comme le coyote, marquent souvent des odeurs pour établir la dominance ou attirer un partenaire.

La communication auditive est également courante, y compris les vocalisations comme les hurlements, les chansons ou les gazouillis. Les grillons, par exemple, utilisent des signaux acoustiques spécifiques à des espèces (généralement une série de gazouillis) pour communiquer avec des conspécifiques. Les éléphants utilisent des infrasons, des sons à très basse fréquence en dessous de la plage de l’ouïe humaine, pour communiquer.

Le cafard sifflement de Madagascar est l’une des nombreuses espèces d’insectes qui utilisent la communication tactile. En particulier, ils utilisent une technique appelée antenne, littéralement le toucher des antennes à un partenaire potentiel, dans ce cas. Beaucoup d’autres animaux utilisent également des gestes tactiles, y compris les humains.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

26.3: Communication
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

26.3: Communication

Communication between two animals occurs when one animal transmits an information signal that causes a change in the animal that receives the information. Organisms communicate with one another in a host of different ways. Signals can be auditory, chemical, visual, tactile, or a combination of these. Communication is a critical behavioral adaptation that promotes survival, growth, and reproduction.

Types of Communication

A common form of communication is visual. Visual communication can be used to attract a mate, like the elaborate dances of the bird-of-paradise, or issue a warning, like the bared teeth of a wolf or the bright aposematic coloration of a banded sea krait (a venomous snake). The waggle-dance of the bee is another crucial visual communication that informs other members of the hive about the location of resources.

Animals also frequently use chemical signals to send messages. For example, canids, like the coyote, will often scent-mark to establish dominance or attract a mate.

Auditory communication is also common, including vocalizations like howls, songs, or chirps. Crickets, for example, use species-specific acoustic signals (typically a series of chirps) to communicate with conspecifics. Elephants use infrasounds, very low frequency sounds below the range of human hearing, to communicate.

The Madagascar hissing cockroach is one of many insect species that use tactile communication. In particular, they employ a technique called antennation—literally the touching of antennae to a prospective partner, in this case. Many other animals also use tactile gestures, including humans.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter