RNA-Seq

Genetics

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's Advanced Biology collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

Welcome!

Enter your email below to get your free 1 hour trial to JoVE!





By clicking "Submit", you agree to our policies.

 

Summary

Parmi les différentes méthodes pour évaluer l’expression des gènes, le séquençage haut débit d’ARN, ou RNA-Seq. est particulièrement intéressante, car il peut être interprété et analysé sans se baser sur des données génomiques disponibles. Au cours de RNA-seq, RNA isolée d’échantillons d’intérêt est utilisé pour générer une bibliothèque d’ADN, qui est ensuite amplifiée et séquencée. En fin de compte, RNA-seq peut déterminer quels gènes sont exprimés, les niveaux de leur expression et la présence de toutes les transcriptions inédites.

JoVE présente ici les principes de base derrière la RNA-Seq. Nous discutons ensuite les étapes expérimentales et analytiques d’un protocole général de RNA-seq. Enfin, nous examinons comment les chercheurs utilisent actuellement RNA-seq, par exemple, pour comparer l’expression des gènes entre les différents échantillons biologiques ou pour caractériser les interactions de protéine-ARN.

Cite this Video

JoVE Science Education Database. Genetics. RNA-Seq. JoVE, Cambridge, MA, (2017).

Séquençage de RNA ou RNA-seq, est une technique qui peut fournir des informations sur la séquence et la quantité de chaque ARN exprimé, connu comme le « transcriptome, » dans une population de cellules. Contrairement à d’autre méthodes telles que des puces à ADN, qui impliquent des séquences d’ARN connues de détection, de profilage de l’expression RNA-seq pouvez profiler l’expression des gènes d’organismes avec les génomes non séquencés. En outre, RNA-seq peut mesurer avec exactitude un plus large éventail de niveaux d’expression de transcription que les puces à ADN, en particulier à des niveaux très faibles ou très élevés.

Cette vidéo couvre les principes de la RNA-seq, un protocole pour la préparation d’une bibliothèque de RNA-seq et analyse les données et quelques applications de cette technique.

Tout d’abord, passons en revue quelques principes derrière RNA-Seq. Transcriptome séquencement nécessite d’isoler une population de transcriptions dont les niveaux sont à mesurer. La plupart des ARN dans les cellules est l’ARN ribosomal ou ARNr, l’élément central des machines la production de protéines de la cellule. Pour faciliter la récupération des autres types de transcriptions, ARNr est généralement retiré avant le séquençage par hybridation de l’échantillon à des oligonucléotides complémentaires attachés à magnétique perles et en utilisant un aimant à séparer du reste de l’échantillon de l’ARNr.

Par ailleurs, une population spécifique de l’ARN peut être sélectionnée pour le séquençage. Par exemple, codant pour des protéines des ARN messager ou ARNm, peut être capturées avec « oligo-dT » — courts tronçons de nucléotides désoxy-T qui se lient à la séquence des bases d’un connu comme une queue poly-A à la fin de ces transcriptions. L’ARNr contaminantes est ensuite retiré. Micro-ARN, qui sont 22 nucléotides RNAs réglementaires, peut être sélectivement isolés pour le séquençage selon leur taille. Parce que l’ARN est intrinsèquement sujette à la dégradation, il est premier ADN transcrit à double brin inverse.

Les séquences oligonucléotidiques appelés adaptateurs sont ensuite ligaturés sur les fragments d’ADN. Les adaptateurs contiennent des régions constantes qui servent de sites de liaison du primer pour l’amplification PCR ultérieure, et ceux-ci sont généralement asymétriques afin de préserver la « présence » du modèle. Les adaptateurs contiennent également des séquences uniques, appelés « codes barres », qui identifient tous les fragments provenant d’un seul échantillon. La bibliothèque est alors amplifiée par PCR.

Une puce de séquençage, dans lesquelles se trouvent des oligonucléotides complémentaires sur les adaptateurs, est utilisée pour immobiliser l’exemple de la bibliothèque, qui est dilué tel que les molécules d’ADN recuisent sur la puce à faible densité. L’ADN est amplifié sur la puce via un processus appelé « amplification de pont » pour former « grappes clonales. » Courts fragments, chaque bases de 30-150 de long, sont ensuite synthétisés à partir un ou aux deux extrémités de ces modèles d’ADN, générant des centaines de millions de produits appelés séquençage lectures.

Les résultats de séquençage sont ensuite analysées pour la qualité et les données sont traitées. L’analyse des séquences peut révéler une grande variété d’information, y compris des différences dans les niveaux d’expression d’ARN entre les échantillons et les transcriptions inédites ou formes de transcriptions.

Maintenant que nous avons vu comment fonctionne le RNA-seq, Let ' s go via un protocole pour la préparation d’une bibliothèque de RNA-seq et analyse des données de séquence. RNA provient tout d’abord de l’échantillon, et sa qualité est contrôlée par électrophorèse, par exemple en utilisant un dispositif microfluidique appelé un bioanalyzer. L’ARN doit être de haute qualité pour les résultats du séquençage précis. Pour s’assurer de l’absence de contamination de l’ADN, RT-PCR pour un gène exprimé est réalisée avec ou sans la transcriptase inverse. Il ne devrait y avoir aucun produit en l’absence de la transcriptase inverse.

Pour sélectionner l’ARN polyA, les échantillons sont liés aux sondes oligo-dT joint à billes magnétiques. L’ARN sélectionné est fragmenté en morceaux 200 nucléotides à haute température en présence d’ions magnésium, réduisant la longueur dépendant des biais dans les analyses et les réactions subséquentes. Les fragments sont ensuite convertis en ADN bicaténaire et adaptateurs sont ligaturés. La bibliothèque est amplifiée par PCR, et sa qualité est vérifiée sur un bioanalyzer et en effectuant de qPCR. Les résultats de bioanalyzer devraient révéler un maximum de produits à la taille attendue basé sur la taille de fragment moyenne et la longueur de l’adaptateur.

Bibliothèques d’échantillons différents, contenant barcoded différents adaptateurs, peuvent être mélangés ensemble, ainsi qu’un échantillon de référence ajouté à faible concentration comme un contrôle de qualité pour les étapes suivantes du processus, tels que la génération de grappes clonales et les réactions de séquençage de l’ADN. Le mélange est ajouté à une puce de séquençage et chargé dans la machine.

Au cours de la réaction de séquençage la densité des grappes d’ADN est contrôlée : il ne doit pas être trop élevée, qui peut conduire à la contamination croisée, ou trop faible, qui peut conduire à l’insuffisance des données. La qualité du séquençage est donnée par le score de Q, ce qui indique la probabilité d’une base incorrecte étant identifiée. Les scores de Q pour la plupart des bases doivent être supérieurs à 30, ce qui correspond à une chance de moins de 1 à 1000 pour une lecture incorrecte. Recouvrement des séquences d’ADN de référence au taux prévu indique que toutes les séquences de bibliothèque sont régulièrement représentés.

Puis, lectures produites par le séquençage sont chevauchent entre eux pour déduire l’ARN qui a été séquencé. Pour les organismes avec l’information de génome disponible, lectures peuvent être alignés sur le génome de référence. Le nombre de lectures par transcription est compté pour mesurer l’abondance de chaque ARN.

Après avoir vu comment fonctionne la RNA-seq, regardons quelques façons qu'il est utilisé.

Séquençage de transcriptome permet d’identifier les gènes qui sont exprimés dans des conditions différentes. Par exemple, dans cette expérience, transcriptomes des produits sous différentes conditions de croissance des larves de moustiques ont été comparés. Même si cette espèce particulière de moustiques porteurs de maladies n’a pas un génome séquencé, les chercheurs ont pu comparer les informations transcriptome obtenus à d’autres espèces séquencée et d’identifier les gènes avec les niveaux d’expression une augmentation ou une diminution.

RNA-seq peut également être utilisé dans les « essais de reporter massivement parallèle » pour étudier les mécanismes de régulation génique. Ceci est fait en transfectant les cellules de mammifères avec une bibliothèque de milliers de plasmides, qui contiennent chacun une variante mutante d’un site de gène régulateur « en route » la transcription d’une séquence de journaliste qui est couplée aux balises uniques. Après isolement d’ARN et séquençage haut-débit, les niveaux de chaque balise sont évalués afin d’évaluer l’expression du Rapporteur de chaque construction, laquelle donne aperçu de l’importance fonctionnelle des nucléotides mutés dans chaque variante site régulateur.

Enfin, le séquençage de RNA peut être adapté pour étudier les interactions ARN-protéine, notamment pour identifier les transcriptions qui lie une protéine d’intérêt. La protéine immunoprecipitated avec des anticorps et le RNAs lié sont définis par séquençage. Si les complexes ARN-protéines sont réticulés au début, analyse de la séquence peut mapper le site de la réticulation et identifier le site la liaison aux protéines de l’ARN jusqu’au niveau des nucléotides.

Vous avez juste regardé la vidéo de JoVE sur RNA-Seq. Dans cette vidéo, nous avons vu comment les échantillons d’ARN sont convertis en bibliothèques, séquencés et les données analysées, ainsi que les types d’informations qui permet à l’analyse de la séquence. Grâce à sa sensibilité, potentiel pour être utilisé dans n’importe quel organisme et le coût réduit du séquençage, RNA-seq est plus en plus utilisé dans de multiples domaines de recherche en génétique et vous donnent un aperçu de nombreuses questions entourant la fonction cellulaire et le développement. Merci de regarder !

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this article.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

RECOMMEND JoVE

Applications

RNA-Seq

Genetics

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's Advanced Biology collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

Welcome!

Enter your email below to get your free 1 hour trial to JoVE!





By clicking "Submit", you agree to our policies.

 

Summary

Among different methods to evaluate gene expression, the high-throughput sequencing of RNA, or RNA-seq. is particularly attractive, as it can be performed and analyzed without relying on prior available genomic information. During RNA-seq, RNA isolated from samples of interest is used to generate a DNA library, which is then amplified and sequenced. Ultimately, RNA-seq can determine which genes are expressed, the levels of their expression, and the presence of any previously unknown transcripts.

Here, JoVE presents the basic principles behind RNA-seq. We then discuss the experimental and analytical steps of a general RNA-seq protocol. Finally, we examine how researchers are currently using RNA-seq, for example, to compare gene expression between different biological samples, or to characterize protein-RNA interactions.

Cite this Video

JoVE Science Education Database. Genetics. RNA-Seq. JoVE, Cambridge, MA, (2017).

RNA sequencing, or RNA-seq, is a technique that can provide information on the sequence and quantity of every RNA expressed, known as the “transcriptome,” in a cell population. Unlike other expression profiling methods such as microarrays, which involve probing for known RNA sequences, RNA-seq can profile gene expression from organisms with un-sequenced genomes. Additionally, RNA-seq can accurately measure a larger range of transcript expression levels than microarrays, especially at very low or very high levels.

This video will cover the principles of RNA-seq, a protocol for preparing an RNA-seq library and analyzing the data, and some applications of this technique.

First, let’s review some principles behind RNA-seq. Transcriptome sequencing requires isolating a population of transcripts whose levels are to be measured. Most RNA in cells is ribosomal RNA, or rRNA, the central component of the cell’s protein-production machinery. To facilitate recovery of other types of transcripts, rRNA is typically removed prior to sequencing by hybridizing the sample to complementary oligonucleotides attached to magnetic beads, and using a magnet to separate the rRNA from the rest of the sample.

Alternatively, a specific population of RNA can be selected for sequencing. For example, protein-coding messenger RNAs, or mRNAs, can be captured with “oligo-dT”—short stretches of deoxy-T nucleotides that bind to the sequence of A bases known as a poly-A tail at the end of these transcripts. The contaminating rRNA is then removed. MicroRNAs, which are 22-nucleotide regulatory RNAs, can be selectively isolated for sequencing based on their size. Because RNA is inherently prone to degradation, it is first reverse transcribed to double-stranded DNA.

Oligonucleotide sequences known as adaptors are then ligated onto the DNA fragments. The adaptors contain constant regions that serve as primer-binding sites for subsequent PCR amplification, and these are usually asymmetric so that the “strandedness” of the template is preserved. The adaptors also contain unique sequences, known as “barcodes,” that identify all fragments originating from a single sample. The library is then amplified by PCR.

A sequencing chip, on which there are oligonucleotides complementary to the adaptors, is used to immobilize the library sample, which is diluted such that the DNA molecules anneal onto the chip at low density. The DNA is amplified on the chip via a process called “bridge amplification” to form “clonal clusters.” Short fragments, each 30-150 bases in length, are then synthesized from one or both ends of these DNA templates, generating hundreds of millions of products known as sequencing reads.

The sequencing results are then analyzed for quality and the data are processed. Analysis of the sequences can reveal a wide variety of information, including differences in expression levels of RNAs between samples and previously unknown transcripts or forms of transcripts.

Now that we’ve seen how RNA-seq works, let’s go through a protocol for preparing an RNA-seq library and analyzing the sequence data. RNA is first obtained from the sample of interest, and its quality is checked by electrophoresis, for example by using a microfluidics device called a bioanalyzer. The RNA must be of high quality for accurate sequencing results. To ensure the absence of DNA contamination, RT-PCR for an expressed gene is conducted with or without reverse transcriptase. There should be no products in the absence of reverse transcriptase.

To select poly-A RNA, the samples are bound to oligo-dT probes attached to magnetic beads. The selected RNA is fragmented to 200-nucleotide pieces at high temperature in the presence of magnesium ions, reducing length-dependent biases in subsequent reactions and analyses. The fragments are then converted to double-stranded DNA, and adaptors are ligated. The library is amplified by PCR, and its quality is checked on a bioanalyzer and by performing qPCR. The bioanalyzer results should reveal a peak of products at the size expected based on the average fragment size and length of the adaptors.

Libraries from different samples, containing different barcoded adaptors, can be mixed together, along with a sample of reference DNA added at low concentration as a quality control for subsequent steps of the process, such as clonal cluster generation and the sequencing reactions. The mixture is added to a sequencing chip and loaded into the machine.

During the sequencing reaction the density of DNA clusters is monitored: it must not be too high, which can lead to cross-contamination, or too low, which can lead to insufficient data. The quality of the sequencing is given by the Q score, which indicates the likelihood of an incorrect base being identified. The Q scores for most bases should be greater than 30, which corresponds to a chance of less than 1 in 1000 for an incorrect read. Recovery of the reference DNA sequences at the expected rate indicates that all library sequences are evenly represented.

Reads generated by sequencing are then overlapped with each other to deduce the RNA that was sequenced. For organisms with genome information available, reads can be aligned to the reference genome. The number of reads per transcript is counted to measure the abundance of each RNA.

After seeing how RNA-seq works, let’s look at some ways it’s being used.

Transcriptome sequencing can identify genes that are differentially expressed under different conditions. For example, in this experiment, transcriptomes of mosquito larvae produced under different growth conditions were compared. Even though this particular species of disease-carrying mosquito does not have a sequenced genome, researchers were able to compare the obtained transcriptome information to other sequenced species, and identify genes with increased or decreased expression levels.

RNA-seq can also be used in “massively parallel reporter assays” to study gene regulatory mechanisms. This is done by transfecting mammalian cells with a library of thousands of plasmids, each containing a mutated variant of a gene regulatory site “driving” the transcription of a reporter sequence that is coupled to unique tags. Following RNA isolation and high-throughput sequencing, the levels of each tag are assessed to evaluate reporter expression from each construct, which gives insight into the functional importance of the nucleotides mutated in each regulatory site variant.

Finally, RNA sequencing can be adapted to study RNA-protein interactions, particularly to identify transcripts that a protein of interest binds to. The protein is immunoprecipitated with antibodies and the bound RNAs are defined by sequencing. If the RNA-protein complexes are crosslinked at the beginning, sequencing analysis can map the site of the crosslink and identify the protein-binding site on the RNA down to the nucleotide level.

You’ve just watched JoVE’s video on RNA-seq. In this video, we’ve seen how RNA samples are converted into libraries, sequenced, and the resulting data analyzed, as well as the types of information that sequencing analysis can provide. Thanks to its sensitivity, potential to be used in any organism, and the lowered cost of sequencing, RNA-seq is increasingly being used in multiple areas of genetics research, and will provide insight into many questions surrounding cell function and development. Thanks for watching!

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this article.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

RECOMMEND JoVE

Applications