Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

9.6: Le cycle de Calvin
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Le cycle de Calvin
 
TRANSCRIPTION

9.6: Le cycle de Calvin

Aperçu

La photosynthèse oxygénique transforme environ 200 milliards de tonnes de dioxyde de carbone (CO2) par an en composés organiques et produit environ 140 milliards de tonnes d’oxygène atmosphérique (O2). La photosynthèse est à la base de tous les besoins humains en nourriture et en oxygène.

Le processus photosynthétique peut être divisé en deux séries de réactions qui ont lieu dans différentes régions des chloroplastes végétaux : la réaction dépendante de la lumière et les réactions indépendantes de la lumière ou “ sombres ”. La réaction dépendante de la lumière a lieu dans la membrane thylakoïdienne du chloroplaste. Elle convertit l’énergie lumineuse en énergie chimique, stockée sous forme d’ATP et de NADPH. Cette énergie est ensuite utilisée dans la région du stroma du chloroplaste, pour réduire le dioxyde de carbone atmosphérique en glucides complexes grâce aux réactions indépendantes de la lumière du cycle de Calvin-Benson.

Le cycle de Calvin-Benson

Le cycle de Calvin-Benson représente l’ensemble des réactions photosynthétiques indépendantes de la lumière. Il utilise l’adénosine triphosphate (ATP) et le nicotinamide-adénine dinucléotide phosphate (NADPH) générés pendant les réactions dépendantes de la lumière pour transformer le CO2 atmosphérique en glucides complexes. Le cycle de Calvin-Benson régénère également l’adénosine diphosphate (ADP) et le NADP+ pour la réaction dépendante de la lumière.

Au début du cycle de Calvin-Benson, le CO2 atmosphérique pénètre dans la feuille par des ouvertures s’appelant des stomates. Dans la région du stroma du chloroplaste, l’enzyme ribulose-1,5-bisphosphate carboxylase/oxygénase (RuBisCO) ajoute un atome de carbone du CO2 à une molécule acceptrice de sucre à 5 carbones (5C), le ribulose-1,5- bisphosphate (RuBP). La molécule 6C qui en résulte est très instable et se divise en deux molécules d’acide 3-phosphoglycérique (3-PGA). L’enzyme 3-phosphoglycérate kinase utilise l’ATP pour phosphoryler ces molécules de 3-PGA pour former le 1,3-bisphosphoglycérate. La glycéraldéhyde 3-phosphate déshydrogénase utilise le NADPH pour réduire ces molécules afin de former le glycéraldéhyde 3-phosphate (G3P), un sucre 3C. Ce produit final donne naissance au nom de fixation du carbone en C3 : un alias pour le cycle de Calvin-Benson.

Pour fixer six molécules de CO2, le cycle de Calvin-Benson réduit 12 molécules de NADPH et 18 molécules d’ATP. Ces sources d’énergie sont réapprovisionnées par les réactions dépendantes de la lumière de la photosynthèse. Les six CO2 sont fixés à six molécules 5C (RuBP) qui se divisent en 12 molécules 3C (G3P). Dix de ces molécules de G3P régénèrent six molécules de l’accepteur RuBP, pour poursuivre le cycle. Deux molécules de G3P sont transformées en un seul glucose. Le G3P peut également être utilisé pour synthétiser d’autres glucides, acides aminés et lipides.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

9.6: The Calvin Cycle
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

9.6: The Calvin Cycle

Overview

Oxygenic photosynthesis converts approximately 200 billion tons of carbon dioxide (CO2) annually to organic compounds and produces approximately 140 billion tons of atmospheric oxygen (O2). Photosynthesis is the basis of all human food and oxygen needs.

The photosynthetic process can be divided into two sets of reactions that take place in different regions of plant chloroplasts: the light-dependent reaction and the light-independent or “dark” reactions. The light-dependent reaction takes place in the thylakoid membrane of the chloroplast. It converts light energy to chemical energy, stored as ATP and NADPH. This energy is then utilized in the stroma region of the chloroplast, to reduce atmospheric carbon dioxide into complex carbohydrates through the light-independent reactions of the Calvin-Benson cycle.

The Calvin-Benson Cycle

The Calvin-Benson cycle represents the light-independent set of photosynthetic reactions. It uses the adenosine triphosphate (ATP) and nicotinamide-adenine dinucleotide phosphate (NADPH) generated during the light-dependent reactions to convert atmospheric CO2 into complex carbohydrates. The Calvin-Benson cycle also regenerates adenosine diphosphate (ADP) and NADP+ for the light-dependent reaction.

At the start of the Calvin-Benson cycle, atmospheric CO2 enters the leaf through openings called stomata. In the stroma region of the chloroplast, the enzyme ribulose-1,5-bisphosphate carboxylase/oxygenase (RuBisCO) adds one carbon atom from CO2 to a 5-carbon (5C) acceptor sugar molecule, ribulose-1,5- bisphosphate (RuBP). The resulting 6C molecule is highly unstable and splits into two molecules of 3-phosphoglyceric acid (3-PGA). The enzyme 3-phosphoglycerate kinase uses ATP to phosphorylate these 3-PGA molecules to form 1,3-bisphosphoglycerate. Glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate dehydrogenase uses NADPH to reduce these molecules to form glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate (G3P), a 3C sugar. This final product gives rise to the name C3 carbon fixation—an alias for the Calvin-Benson cycle.

To fix six CO2 molecules, the Calvin-Benson cycle reduces 12 NADPH and 18 ATP molecules. These energy sources are replenished by the light-dependent reactions of photosynthesis. The six CO2 are attached to six 5C molecules (RuBP) that break into 12 3C molecules (G3P). Ten of these G3P molecules regenerate six molecules of the RuBP acceptor, to continue the cycle. Two molecules of G3P are converted into one glucose. G3P may also be used to synthesize other carbohydrates, amino acids, and lipids.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter