Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

23.4: Cycle de l'urée
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Cycle de l'urée
 
TRANSCRIPTION

23.4: Cycle de l'urée

Le cycle de l’urée décrit comment les cellules hépatiques transforment l’ammoniac en urée. L’ammoniac est un déchet toxique du catabolisme protéique. Les animaux terrestres doivent convertir l’ammoniac en urée moins toxique qui peut être éliminée en toute sécurité par les reins à travers l’urine. Les animaux marins excrètent directement l’ammoniac, et l’eau environnante dilue l’ammoniac à des niveaux sûrs.

Il y a cinq étapes de base dans le cycle de l’urée :

  1. la conversion de l’ammoniac (NH3) en carbamyl-phosphate ;
  2. l’introduction de l’ornithine dans la transformation du carbamyl-phosphate en citrulline ;
  3. la transformation de la citrulline en arginosuccinate impliquant l’aspartate et de l’énergie chimique (ATP) ;
  4. la conversion de l’arginosuccinate en arginine avec du fumarate comme sous-produit ;
  5. la formation d’urée et d’ornithine à partir de l’arginine.

Notez que l’ornithine est utilisée dans la deuxième étape et elle est régénérée dans la dernière étape. Puisque l’ornithine est recyclée, le cycle de l’urée est parfois appelé le cycle de l’ornithine.

Des niveaux élevés d’ammoniac sanguin, ou l’hyperammoniémie, résultent d’une interruption du cycle de l’urée. Cela peut se produire au niveau des organes où le tissu cicatriciel bloque l’approvisionnement en sang du foie. Le tissu cicatriciel, ou cirrhose, peut résulter d’un abus chronique d’alcool, d’une hépatite B ou d’une infection par l’hépatite C.

Dans les cellules hépatiques, la perturbation du cycle de l’urée peut également se produire dans l’une de ses cinq étapes. Le déficit en ornithine transcarbamylase (OTCD) est un désordre métabolique héréditaire qui a comme conséquence une insuffisance complète ou partielle d’enzyme dans l’étape 2, affectant la production de citrulline à partir de l’ornithine et du carbamyl-phosphate.

L’hyperammoniémie chez les adultes, résultant d’une cirrhose ou de troubles métaboliques tardifs, peut entraîner des déficits de l’attention et d’autres déficiences cognitives. Ils sont également plus à risque de décès par insuffisance hépatique. Chez les nouveau-nés présentant une carence en enzymes précoce, on peut s’attendre à des retards de développement. S’ils ne sont pas diagnostiqués et traités, ces nourrissons risquent le coma et la mort. La façon dont l’ammoniac élevé endommage le cerveau pour produire des retards cognitifs et développementaux n’est pas encore entièrement comprise ; cependant, des perturbations dans les niveaux d’acides aminés et de neurotransmetteurs, des perturbations dans la fonction des canaux ioniques et des déficits énergétiques dans le cerveau ont été proposées comme mécanismes possibles.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

23.3: Urea Cycle
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

23.3: Urea Cycle

The urea cycle describes how liver cells convert ammonia to urea. Ammonia is a toxic waste product of protein catabolism. Land animals must convert ammonia into the less toxic urea which can be safely eliminated by the kidneys through urine. Marine animals excrete ammonia directly, and the surrounding water dilutes the ammonia to safe levels.

There are five basic steps in the urea cycle:

  1. the conversion of ammonia (NH3) to carbamoyl phosphate
  2. the introduction of ornithine in the transformation of carbamoyl phosphate to citrulline
  3. the transformation of citrulline into arginosuccinate involving aspartate and chemical energy (ATP)
  4. the conversion of arginosuccinate into arginine with fumarate as a by-product
  5. the formation of urea and ornithine from arginine

Notice that ornithine is used in the second step and is regenerated in the last step. Since ornithine is recycled, the urea cycle is sometimes referred to as the ornithine cycle.

Elevated levels of blood ammonia, or hyperammonemia, results from an interruption of the urea cycle. This can occur at the organ level where scar tissue blocks the blood supply to the liver. Scar tissue, or cirrhosis, can result from chronic alcohol abuse, hepatitis B, or hepatitis C infection.

Within the liver cells, disruption of the urea cycle can also occur in any one of its five steps. Ornithine transcarbamylase deficiency (OTCD) is an inherited metabolic disorder that results in a full or partial enzyme deficiency in step 2, affecting the production of citrulline from ornithine and carbamoyl phosphate.

Hyperammonemia in adults, resulting from cirrhosis or late-onset metabolic disorders, can result in deficits in attention and other cognitive impairments. They are also at higher risk of death from liver failure. In neonates with early-onset enzyme deficiency, developmental delays can be expected. If not diagnosed and treated, these infants risk coma and death. How elevated ammonia damages the brain to produce cognitive and developmental delays is not yet fully understood; however, disturbances in amino acid and neurotransmitter levels, disruptions in ion channel function, and energy deficits in the brain have been proposed as possible mechanisms.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter