Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

23.4: Harnstoff-Zyklus
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Harnstoff-Zyklus
 
PROTOKOLLE

23.4: Harnstoff-Zyklus

Der Harnstoffzyklus beschreibt, wie die Leberzellen Ammoniak in Harnstoff umwandeln. Ammoniak ist ein giftiges Abfallprodukt des Proteinabbaus. Landtiere müssen Ammoniak in den weniger giftigen Harnstoff umwandeln, der von den Nieren sicher über den Urin ausgeschieden werden kann. Meerestiere scheiden Ammoniak direkt aus, wobei das umgebende Wasser das Ammoniak in ungefährliche Mengen verdünnt.

Der Harnstoffzyklus besteht aus fünf grundlegenden Schritten:

  1. die Umwandlung von Ammoniak (NH3) in Carbamoylphosphat
  2. die Einführung von Ornithin für die Umwandlung von Carbamoylphosphat in Citrullin
  3. die Umwandlung von Citrullin in Argininosuccinat mit Aspartat und chemischer Energie (ATP)
  4. die Umwandlung von Argininosuccinat in Arginin und Fumarat als Nebenprodukt
  5. die Bildung von Harnstoff und Ornithin aus Arginin

Man beachte, dass Ornithin im zweiten Schritt verwendet wird und im letzten Schritt regeneriert wird. Da Ornithin recycelt wird, wird der Harnstoffkreislauf manchmal auch als Ornithinkreislauf bezeichnet.

Eine erhöhte Ammoniakkonzentration im Blut, die Hyperammonämie, ist die Folge einer Unterbrechung des Harnstoffzyklus. Dies kann auf der Organ-Ebene auftreten, wo Narbengewebe die Blutversorgung der Leber blockiert. Narbengewebe in der Leber, die Leberzirrhose, kann durch chronischen Alkoholmissbrauch, Hepatitis B oder Hepatitis C verursacht werden.

In den Leberzellen kann auch eine Störung des Harnstoffzyklus in jedem seiner fünf Schritte auftreten. Ein Mangel der Ornithin-Transcarbamylase (OTC) ist eine vererbte Stoffwechselstörung, die im zweiten Schritt zu einem vollständigen oder teilweisen Enzymmangel führt. Dieser behindert die Produktion von Citrullin aus Ornithin und Carbamoylphosphat.

Eine Hyperammonämie, die durch Zirrhose oder eine spät einsetzende Stoffwechselstörung entsteht, kann zu Aufmerksamkeitsdefiziten und anderen kognitiven Beeinträchtigungen bei Erwachsenen führen. Außerdem haben die Betroffenen ein höheres Risiko, an Leberversagen zu sterben. Bei Neugeborenen mit einem früh vorkommenden Enzymmangel ist mit Entwicklungsverzögerungen zu rechnen. Wenn sie nicht diagnostiziert und behandelt werden, besteht bei diesen Säuglingen das Risiko eines Komas und des Todes. Wie ein erhöhter Ammoniakspiegel das Gehirn schädigt und kognitive und Entwicklungsverzögerungen verursacht, ist noch nicht vollständig verstanden. Als mögliche Mechanismen werden jedoch Störungen der Aminosäure- und Neurotransmitterkonzentrationen, Störungen der Ionenkanalfunktion und Energiedefizite im Gehirn vermutet.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

23.3: Urea Cycle
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

23.3: Urea Cycle

The urea cycle describes how liver cells convert ammonia to urea. Ammonia is a toxic waste product of protein catabolism. Land animals must convert ammonia into the less toxic urea which can be safely eliminated by the kidneys through urine. Marine animals excrete ammonia directly, and the surrounding water dilutes the ammonia to safe levels.

There are five basic steps in the urea cycle:

  1. the conversion of ammonia (NH3) to carbamoyl phosphate
  2. the introduction of ornithine in the transformation of carbamoyl phosphate to citrulline
  3. the transformation of citrulline into arginosuccinate involving aspartate and chemical energy (ATP)
  4. the conversion of arginosuccinate into arginine with fumarate as a by-product
  5. the formation of urea and ornithine from arginine

Notice that ornithine is used in the second step and is regenerated in the last step. Since ornithine is recycled, the urea cycle is sometimes referred to as the ornithine cycle.

Elevated levels of blood ammonia, or hyperammonemia, results from an interruption of the urea cycle. This can occur at the organ level where scar tissue blocks the blood supply to the liver. Scar tissue, or cirrhosis, can result from chronic alcohol abuse, hepatitis B, or hepatitis C infection.

Within the liver cells, disruption of the urea cycle can also occur in any one of its five steps. Ornithine transcarbamylase deficiency (OTCD) is an inherited metabolic disorder that results in a full or partial enzyme deficiency in step 2, affecting the production of citrulline from ornithine and carbamoyl phosphate.

Hyperammonemia in adults, resulting from cirrhosis or late-onset metabolic disorders, can result in deficits in attention and other cognitive impairments. They are also at higher risk of death from liver failure. In neonates with early-onset enzyme deficiency, developmental delays can be expected. If not diagnosed and treated, these infants risk coma and death. How elevated ammonia damages the brain to produce cognitive and developmental delays is not yet fully understood; however, disturbances in amino acid and neurotransmitter levels, disruptions in ion channel function, and energy deficits in the brain have been proposed as possible mechanisms.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter