Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove
JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments
Encyclopedia of Experiments: Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. Sign in or start your free trial.

C. elegans Suivi des mouvements

 
Click here for the English version

C. elegans Suivi des mouvements : une méthode pour évaluer la locomotion chez les vers

Article

Transcript

Please note that all translations are automatically generated.

Click here for the English version.

- Pour évaluer la locomotion chez C. elegans, utilisez une caméra pour enregistrer le mouvement des vers sur une plaque d’agar, assurant même l’éclairage de la plaque pendant l’enregistrement. Pour limiter le mouvement des vers autour de la plaque, utilisez des anneaux de cuivre. Le cuivre est aversif pour C. elegans, de sorte que les vers sont corralled dans les anneaux.

Placez plusieurs anneaux de cuivre sur une plaque pour suivre simultanément les vers dans chaque anneau. Cela permet d’évaluer les animaux témoins et expérimentaux dans des conditions identiques, de réduire la variabilité quotidienne et de permettre des comparaisons côte à côte. Enregistrez le mouvement des vers sur des intervalles de temps définis, et utilisez un logiciel pour analyser les caractéristiques du comportement de la locomotive, telles que la vitesse de déplacement et la distance parcourue.

Dans le protocole de l’exemple, nous verrons une démonstration d’un test de suivi des mouvements testant les effets de l’alcool sur la vitesse de locomotion du ver.

- Pour commencer, prendre deux minutes ou moins pour transférer 10 vers de chaque groupe expérimental au centre d’un anneau de cuivre sur une plaque d’acclimation. Il s’agit d’une plaque sans éthanol. Évitez de transférer les aliments avec les vers, car cela réduira leur mouvement. Évitez également d’endommager la surface de l’agar parce que les vers creuseront. Enregistrez le temps de chargement sur la plaque et assurez-vous de échelonner le transfert de vers à chaque plaque de plus de deux minutes, de sorte que chaque plaque peut être filmée individuellement à l’intervalle de temps approprié.

Laissez chaque plaque d’aclimation couver à température ambiante pendant 30 minutes. Ensuite, transférez les vers à la plaque d’essai, suivant l’ordre utilisé pour placer les vers sur la plaque d’acclimation. À l’aide d’un pic de ver aplati à bords minces sans bactéries, recueillez les vers sur le dessus de la pioche aplatie à l’aide d’un mouvement de ramassage. Puis, sceller la plaque avec un film de laboratoire pour minimiser la perte d’éthanol à la vaporisation.

- La vitesse à laquelle les animaux sont transférés à cette étape est très importante, car les animaux transférés seront exposés à l’éthanol plus longtemps. Il est donc bon de faire pivoter les souches qui sont placées sur la plaque en premier à travers des répliques expérimentales.

- Un microscope avec caméra vidéo haute résolution est nécessaire pour filmer les vers maintenant. Même l’éclairage, comme à partir d’un rétro-éclairage carré de trois pouces, est essentiel pour l’analyse. Puis, pour maintenir le contraste, l’image du côté du média de la plaque vers le haut.

Préparez le logiciel d’analyse d’images pour capturer des films de 120 images, 12 bits, gris, time-lapse en un cadre par seconde. Pour réduire la taille du fichier de sortie, tout en conservant une résolution d’image suffisante, utilisez un mode binning deux par deux.

Enregistrez maintenant des films de deux minutes à partir de chaque assiette, 10 minutes après que les derniers vers ont été placés sur cette plaque. Puis faites un deuxième enregistrement de deux minutes, 30 minutes après que des vers ont été placés sur la plaque. Pour cette démonstration, le logiciel Image-Pro Plus est utilisé, car une grande variété d’autres logiciels peuvent être adaptés à la technique. Analyser les films sous forme de segments de deux minutes.

Appliquez d’abord un filtre sur les images qui aplatissent l’arrière-plan et améliorent le contraste des objets ver. Sous le menu, sélectionnez Processus, puis Filtres, puis Amélioration, puis Aplatissez. Définissez le paramètre pour un fond sombre et une largeur de fonctionnalité de 20 Pix.

Maintenant, analyser la locomotion des animaux dans chaque anneau séparément avec une région circulaire d’intérêt qui chevauche l’anneau de cuivre. Identifier et suivre les vers avec la commande d’objets de voie sous le sous-menu Mesure.

Dans la fenêtre Table de données de suivi, utilisez le bouton Options de suivi pour permettre l’exclusion de pistes spécifiques et pour limiter les artefacts expérimentaux. Sous l’onglet Suivi automatique, définissez les paramètres de la voie à une limite de vitesse de 400 microns par image. Définissez la limite d’accélération à automatique.

Réglez la longueur totale minimale de la voie à 400 microns, et réglez le type de mouvement prédominant à chaotique. Puis sous le paramètre de piste, réglez les objets pour permettre aux pistes partielles d’avoir une longueur minimale de 21 images et d’avoir une profondeur de projection de suivi d’un cadre.

Maintenant, pour lancer le processus de suivi, cliquez d’abord sur le bouton de fonction Trouver toutes les pistes automatiquement. Cela fait ressortir la boîte de dialogue Count/Size Options et la boîte de dialogue de suivi. Sélectionnez l’option Manuel pour la sélection de plage d’intensité dans la boîte de dialogue Count/Size. Cela fournit une étape de seuil importante. Puis ajuste les curseurs seuil d’intensité pour créer une plage inclusive qui met en évidence les objets sombres. Un bon point de départ sur l’échelle se situe entre 0 et 1 500.

Appliquez maintenant un filtre de taille pour exclure les objets plus grands ou plus petits qu’un seul ver. Allez au menu Mesure, puis sélectionnez le sous-menu mesure. Cela ouvre la boîte de dialogue d’options Count/Size. Là, réglez la plage de surface à 28 000 à 120 000 microns carrés. Et réglez la plage de périmètre à 600 à 2 500 microns. Faites des ajustements à ces paramètres lorsque vous utilisez des vers de taille anormale.

Maintenant, complétez le processus de suivi en cliquant continuer dans la boîte de dialogue de suivi. Vérifiez que la sortie suit avec les séquences de film. Assurez-vous que chaque ver est représenté à moins qu’il n’y ait une raison claire de le filtrer. Puis, supprimer manuellement les pistes produites par des objets non vermifuges.

Ensuite, calculez la vitesse de chaque ver en faisant la moyenne de la distance parcourue entre chaque image ou chaque seconde, et créez une vitesse moyenne pour les pistes de chaque population. Considérez cette moyenne finale comme un point d’échantillon pour l’analyse statistique de l’expérience.

Tags

Valeur vide Question
Read Article

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

You have temporary access through JoVE.
This access will expire on 09/30/2020 12:00am EST

C. elegans Movement Tracking
 

C. elegans Movement Tracking: A Method to Assess Locomotion in Worms

Article

Transcript

- To assess locomotion in C. elegans, use a camera to record the worms' movement on an agar plate, ensuring even illumination of the plate during the recording. To restrict the worms' movement around the plate, use copper rings. Copper is aversive to C. elegans, so worms are corralled within the rings.

Place several copper rings onto one plate to simultaneously track worms in each ring. This allows the assessment of control and experimental animals to be performed under identical conditions, reducing day to day variability and allowing for side by side comparisons. Record the worms' movement over set time intervals, and use computer software to analyze features of the locomotive behavior, such as the speed of movement and distance traveled.

In the example protocol, we will see a demonstration of a movement tracking assay testing the effects of alcohol on the worm's locomotion speed.

- To begin, take two minutes or less to transfer 10 worms from each experimental group to the center of a copper ring on an acclimation plate. This is a plate with no ethanol. Avoid transferring food with the worms as it will reduce their movement. Also avoid damaging the agar surface because the worms will burrow. Record the time of loading onto the plate, and be sure to stagger the transfer of worms to each plate by over two minutes, so each plate can be filmed individually at the appropriate time interval.

Let each acclimation plate incubate at room temperature for 30 minutes. Then, transfer the worms to the assay plate, following the order used to place the worms on the acclimation plate. Using a thin-edged flattened worm pick without bacteria, collect the worms on top of the flattened pick using a scooping motion. Then, seal the plate with laboratory film to minimize loss of ethanol to vaporization.

- The speed at which the animals are transferred at this step is very important, because the transferred animals will be exposed to ethanol longer. So it is a good idea to rotate which strains are placed on the plate first across experimental replicates.

- A microscope with high resolution video camera is required to film the worms now. Even illumination, such as from a three-inch square backlight, is vital for the analysis. Then, to maintain contrast, image the plate media side up.

Prepare the image analysis software to capture 120 frame, 12-bit, grayscale, time-lapse movies in one frame per second. To reduce the size of the output file, while still retaining sufficient image resolution, use a two-by-two binning mode.

Now record two-minute movies from each plate, 10 minutes after the last worms were placed on that plate. Then make a second two-minute recording, 30 minutes after worms were placed on the plate. For this demonstration Image-Pro Plus software is used, as a wide variety of other software can be adapted to the technique. Analyze the movies as two-minute segments.

First apply a filter to the images that flattens the background and enhances the contrast of the worm objects. Under the menu, select Process, then Filters, then Enhancement, and then Flatten. Set the parameter for a dark background and a 20 Pix feature width.

Now, analyze the locomotion of the animals in each ring separately with a circular region of interest that overlaps the copper ring. Identify and track the worms with the Track Objects command under the Measure sub-menu.

In the Tracking Data Table window, use the Tracking Options button to allow specific tracks to be excluded and to limit any experimental artifacts. Under the Auto Tracking tab, set the track parameters to a velocity limit of 400 microns per frame. Set the Acceleration limit to Automatic.

Set the Minimum Total Track Length to 400 microns, and set the Predominant Motion Type to Chaotic. Then under the Track Parameter, set the objects to allow Partial Tracks to have a minimum length of 21 frames and to have a Tracking Projection Depth of one frame.

Now, to initiate the tracking process, first click the Find All Tracks Automatically function button. This brings up the Count/Size Options dialog box and the Tracking Dialog box. Select the Manual option for the Intensity Range Selection in the Count/Size dialog box. This provides an important threshold step. Then adjusts the Intensity Threshold sliders to create an inclusive range that highlights dark objects. A good starting point on the scale is between 0 to 1,500.

Now apply a size filter to exclude objects that are larger or smaller than a single worm. Go to the Measure menu, and then select Measurement sub menu. This opens the Count/Size options dialog box. There, set the area range to 28,000 to 120,000 square microns. And set the perimeter range to 600 to 2,500 microns. Make adjustments to these parameters when using worms of abnormal size.

Now, complete the tracking process by clicking Continue in the tracking dialog box. Double check that the output tracks with the movie footage. Make sure every worm is represented unless there is a clear reason to filter it. Then, manually delete tracks produced by non-worm objects.

Next, calculate the velocity of each worm by averaging the distance traveled between each frame or each second, and create an average velocity for the tracks in each population. Consider this final average to be one sample point for statistical analysis of the experiment.

Read Article

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter