Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove
JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments
Encyclopedia of Experiments: Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. Sign in or start your free trial.

 
Click here for the English version

Electrotaxis Assay: A Method to Observer Locomotion in C. elegans Electrotaxis Assay: A Method to Observer Locomotion in C. elegans Electrotaxis Assay: A Method to Observer Locomotion in C. elegans Electrotax

Article

Transcript

Please note that all translations are automatically generated.

Click here for the English version.

- Sans stimuli sensoriels, le mouvement de C. elegans est généralement vers l’avant et est interrompu par des inversions et des virages - des manœuvres de réorientation aléatoires qui entraînent un changement de direction. C. elegans sont électroréceptifs. C’est-à-dire qu’ils peuvent sentir les champs électriques. Lorsqu’ils sont exposés à un courant direct doux ou à un DC, les vers se déplacent sur un chemin ininterrompu droit dans le sens de l’électrode négative ou de la cathode, un comportement appelé électrotaxis.

Pour observer plus précisément la locomotion du ver, placez l’animal dans un dispositif microfluidique et appliquez un champ électrique DC. Inverser la direction du champ, et le ver tournera dans la direction opposée - vers la direction de la cathode. Appliquer un courant alternatif, AC, et le ver s’arrêtera. Le changement alternatif dans la direction du champ submerge les systèmes neuromoteurs du ver, ce qui entraîne l’immobilisation du ver. Réappliquer le champ DC, et le ver reprendra le mouvement vers l’avant vers la cathode.

Dans le protocole d’exemple suivant, nous verrons une configuration démontrant un essai d’électrotaxis dans un dispositif microfluidique.

- Commencez cette étape en plaçant le microcanal juste assemblé sur une scène xy-mobile d’un microscope avec une caméra montée reliée à un moniteur. Connectez l’alimentation électrique aux électrodes du microcanal.

Après avoir confirmé que la résistance du microcanal est d’environ 0,6 méga-ohms, fixez le tube de sortie du micro-canal à une seringue jetable. Puis submergez la bouche du tube d’entrée dans une solution de nématodes suspendus dans le tampon physiologique M9. Appliquez une pression négative à l’intérieur de la seringue pour aspirer le liquide dans le canal.

Lorsque les tubes d’entrée et de sortie sont tous deux remplis, déconnecter la seringue et manipuler hydrostatiquement le débit en ajustant la hauteur relative du tube pour placer un ver au centre du chenal. Puis poser les deux tubes à plat à la même altitude. Maintenir un débit nul à l’intérieur du microcanal lors de la commutation d’échantillons de vers au cours d’une expérience d’électrotaxis, après avoir nivelé les deux tubes d’entrée à la même altitude, s’il y a encore un flux, faire de petits ajustements à la hauteur du tube par rapport à l’autre.

- Si jamais nous ne savons pas si le flux est vraiment nul, nous pouvons induire une inversion du mouvement du ver en changeant la polarité du champ électrique, puis en évaluant la vitesse linéaire du ver au fur et à mesure qu’il se retourne.

- Maintenant, réglez l’alimentation à la tension appropriée. Activez le signal électrique et prévoyez une minute de pré-exposition pour que le ver s’acclimate au champ, période pendant laquelle le ver doit commencer à se déplacer vers la cathode. Lorsque la minute est passée, commencez à enregistrer.

Lorsque l’expérience est terminée, retirer tout le liquide et les vers du canal. Rincer la chambre avec de l’eau déionisée et laisser sécher l’appareil sur une plaque chauffante à 125 degrés Celsius.

Read Article

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

You have temporary access through JoVE.
This access will expire on 09/30/2020 12:00am EST

 

Electrotaxis Assay: A Method to Observe Locomotion in C. elegans

Article

Transcript

- Without sensory stimuli, C. elegans movement is generally forward and is interrupted by reversals and turns-- random reorienting maneuvers that result in a change of direction. C. elegans are electroreceptive. That is, they can sense electric fields. When exposed to a mild direct current or DC, worms move in a straight uninterrupted path in the direction of the negative electrode or cathode, a behavior termed electrotaxis.

To more accurately observe the worm's locomotion, place the animal in a microfluidic device and apply a DC electric field. Reverse the direction of the field, and the worm will turn the opposite way-- towards the direction of the cathode. Apply an alternating current, AC, and the worm will stop. The alternating change in the field's direction overwhelms the worm's neuromotor systems, resulting in the worm's immobilization. Reapply the DC field, and the worm will resume forward motion towards the cathode.

In the following example protocol, we will see a setup demonstrating an electrotaxis assay in a microfluidic device.

- Begin this step by placing the just assembled micro-channel onto an xy- movable stage of a microscope with a mounted camera connected to a monitor. Connect the power supply to the micro-channel's electrodes.

After confirming that the resistance of the micro-channel is around 0.6 mega-ohms, attach the output tube of the micro-channel to a disposable syringe. Then submerge the mouth of the inlet tube into a solution of nematodes suspended in M9 physiological buffer. Apply negative pressure inside the syringe to aspirate liquid into the channel.

When the inlet and outlet tubes are both filled, disconnect the syringe and hydro-statically manipulate the flow by adjusting the tube's relative height to place a worm in the center of the channel. Then lay both tubes flat at the same elevation. To maintain zero flow inside the micro-channel when switching worm samples during an electrotaxis experiment, after leveling both the inlet tubes to the same elevation, if there is still flow make small adjustments to the tube's height relative to each other.

- If we are ever unsure of whether the flow is really zero, we can induce a reversal in the worm's movement by changing the polarity of the electric field and then evaluating the worm's linear velocity as it turns around.

- Now, set the power supply to the appropriate voltage. Activate the electric signal, and allow one minute of pre-exposure for the worm to acclimatize to the field, during which time the worm should begin moving towards the cathode. When the minute has passed, begin recording.

When the experiment is finished, remove all the liquid and worms from the channel. Rinse the chamber with de-ionized water and leave the device on a hot plate at 125 degrees Celsius to dry.

Read Article

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter