Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

19.3: Gustation
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Gustation
 
Cette voix off est générée par ordinateur
TRANSCRIPTION
* La traduction du texte est générée par ordinateur

19.3: Gustation

La rafale est un sens chimique qui, avec l’olfaction (odeur), contribue à notre perception du goût. Il commence par l’activation des récepteurs par des composés chimiques (tastants) dissous dans la salive. La salive et les papilles filiformes sur la langue distribuent les tastants et augmentent leur exposition aux récepteurs gustatifs.

Les récepteurs gustatifs se trouvent à la surface de la langue ainsi que sur le palais mou, le pharynx et l’œsophage supérieur. Sur la langue, les récepteurs gustatifs sont contenus dans des structures appelées papilles gustatives. Les papilles sont incorporées dans les papilles, qui sont visibles sur la surface de la langue. Il existe trois types de papilles qui contiennent des papilles gustatives et leurs récepteurs. Les papilles circumvallates sont les plus grandes papilles et sont situées près de l’arrière de la langue. Les papilles foliates ressemblent à des plis sur le côté de la langue. Les papilles fongiformes se trouvent sur les trois quarts avant de la langue, mais sont moins concentrées au milieu de la langue.

Il y a cinq goûts de base : salé, aigre, sucré, amer et salé (ou umami). La perception du goût salé est causée par des tastants qui libèrent des ions de sodium lors de la dissolution. Le goût aigre, en revanche, est produit par la libération d’ions d’hydrogène à partir de tastants acides dissous. Les tastants salés et acides produisent une réponse neuronale en dépolarisant directement la membrane (tastants salés) ou par des changements de canal ione (tastants aigres).

Les composés sucrés, amers et salés activent les récepteurs couplés aux protéines G. Les produits chimiques perçus comme sucrés, comme le glucose et le fructose, ont généralement des groupes d’hydroxyle et de carbonyle. De nombreuses molécules diverses stimulent les récepteurs amers, et plus de 30 récepteurs pour le goût amer ont été identifiés. Le glutamate d’acide aminé active les récepteurs salés. L’ajout de glutamate monosodique, ou MSG, aux aliments améliore la saveur salée.

Les nerfs crâniens transportent l’information gustative des récepteurs dans les papilles gustatives à la médulla dans le tronc cérébral. De là, l’information se déplace vers le thalamus et est ensuite relayée au cortex gustatif primaire. Ce cortex gustatif reçoit également d’autres informations sensorielles de la langue, comme la stimulation thermique et mécanique. L’incorporation des différents intrants sensoriels fournit une qualité hédonique à la saveur, ce qui lui permet d’être perçu comme agréable ou désagréable.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

19.3: Gustation
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

19.3: Gustation

Gustation is a chemical sense that, along with olfaction (smell), contributes to our perception of taste. It starts with the activation of receptors by chemical compounds (tastants) dissolved in the saliva. The saliva and filiform papillae on the tongue distribute the tastants and increase their exposure to the taste receptors.

Taste receptors are found on the surface of the tongue as well as on the soft palate, the pharynx, and the upper esophagus. On the tongue, taste receptors are contained within structures called taste buds. The taste buds are embedded within papillae, which are visible on the tongue surface. There are three types of papillae that contain taste buds and their receptors. Circumvallate papillae are the largest papillae and are located near the back of the tongue. Foliate papillae resemble folds on the side of the tongue. Fungiform papillae are found across the front three-quarters of the tongue but are less concentrated in the middle of the tongue.

There are five basic tastes: salty, sour, sweet, bitter, and savory (or umami). The perception of salty taste is caused by tastants that release sodium ions upon dissolution. Sour taste, by contrast, is produced by the release of hydrogen ions from dissolved acidic tastants. Salty and sour tastants produce a neural response by depolarizing the membrane directly (salty tastants) or via ion channel changes (sour tastants).

Sweet, bitter, and savory compounds activate G-protein-coupled receptors. Chemicals perceived as sweet, like glucose and fructose, typically have hydroxyl and carbonyl groups. Numerous diverse molecules stimulate bitter receptors, and over 30 receptors for bitter taste have been identified. The amino acid glutamate activates savory receptors. The addition of monosodium glutamate, or MSG, to foods enhances the savory flavor.

Cranial nerves carry taste information from receptors in taste buds to the medulla in the brainstem. From there, the information travels to the thalamus and is then relayed to the primary gustatory cortex. This gustatory cortex also receives other sensory information from the tongue, like thermal and mechanical stimulation. The incorporation of the different sensory inputs provides a hedonic quality to flavor, allowing it to be perceived as pleasant or unpleasant.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter