Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

23.7: Osmorégulation chez les poissons
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Osmorégulation chez les poissons
 
TRANSCRIPTION

23.7: Osmorégulation chez les poissons

Lorsque les cellules sont placées dans un liquide hypotonique (faible en sel), elles peuvent gonfler et éclater. Pendant ce temps, les cellules d’une solution hypertonique, avec une concentration en sel plus élevée, peuvent se ratatiner et mourir. Comment les cellules de poissons évitent-elles ces destins affreux dans les milieux hypotoniques d’eau douce ou hypertoniques d’eau de mer ?

Les poissons utilisent des stratégies osmorégulatrices pour équilibrer les niveaux corporels d’eau et d’ions dissous (c.-à-d. les solutés), comme le sodium et le chlorure.

Imaginez deux solutions séparées par une membrane perméable à l’eau. Bien que l’eau traverse la membrane dans les deux directions, il y a plus d’eau qui s’écoule (c.-à-d. qu’il y a un mouvement net de l’eau) vers la solution avec une concentration en soluté plus élevée ; c’est la partie essentielle de l’osmose.

Les poissons maintiennent l'équilibre osmotique par l'osmoconformation ou l'osmorégulation.

Les osmoconformateurs maintiennent une concentration interne de soluté, ou osmolarité, égale à celle de leur environnement, et ainsi ils prospèrent dans des environnements sans fluctuations fréquentes. Tous les osmoconformateurs sont des animaux marins, bien que de nombreux animaux marins ne soient pas des osmoconformateurs.

La plupart des poissons sont des osmorégulateurs. Les osmorégulateurs maintiennent l’osmolarité interne indépendamment de l’environnement, ce qui les rend adaptables aux environnements changeants et équipés pour la migration.

L’osmorégulation nécessite de l’énergie

L’osmose a tendance à égaliser les concentrations en ions. Puisque les poissons ont besoin de niveaux d’ions différents des concentrations environnementales, ils ont besoin d’énergie pour maintenir un gradient de soluté qui optimise leur équilibre osmotique.

L’énergie requise pour l’équilibre osmotique dépend de plusieurs facteurs, y compris la différence entre les concentrations internes et externes en ions. Lorsque les différences d’osmolarité sont minimes, il faut moins d’énergie.

Stratégies osmotiques alternatives

Les fluides corporels des requins marins et de la plupart des autres poissons cartilagineux contiennent du TMAO ; cela leur permet de stocker l’urée et de dépasser l’osmolarité externe, ce qui leur permet d’absorber de l’eau par osmose.

La plupart des animaux sont sténohalines, incapables de tolérer de grandes fluctuations externes de l’osmolarité. Les espèces euryhalines, comme le saumon, peuvent changer le statut osmorégulateur. Lorsque les saumons migrent de l’eau douce vers l’océan, ils subissent des changements physiologiques, comme la production d’une plus grande quantité de cortisol pour développer des cellules sécrétant du sel.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

23.7: Osmoregulation in Fishes
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

JoVE Core
Biology
Education
Osmoregulation in Fishes
 

TRANSCRIPT

23.7: Osmoregulation in Fishes

When cells are placed in a hypotonic (low-salt) fluid, they can swell and burst. Meanwhile, cells in a hypertonic solution—with a higher salt concentration—can shrivel and die. How do fish cells avoid these gruesome fates in hypotonic freshwater or hypertonic seawater environments?

Fish employ osmoregulatory strategies to balance bodily levels of water and dissolved ions (i.e., solutes), such as sodium and chloride.

Imagine two solutions separated by a membrane that is permeable to water. Although water crosses the membrane in both directions, more water flows (i.e., there is net water movement) into the solution with a higher solute concentration; this is the essential part of osmosis.

Fish Maintain Osmotic Balance by Osmoconforming or Osmoregulating

Osmoconformers maintain an internal solute concentration—or osmolarity—equal to that of their surroundings, and so they thrive in environments without frequent fluctuations. All osmoconformers are marine animals, although many marine animals are not osmoconformers.

Most fish are osmoregulators. Osmoregulators maintain internal osmolarity independent of the environment, making them adaptable to changing environments and equipped for migration.

Osmoregulation Requires Energy

Osmosis tends to equalize ion concentrations. Since fish require ion levels different from environmental concentrations, they need energy to maintain a solute gradient that optimizes their osmotic balance.

The energy required for osmotic balance depends on multiple factors, including the difference between internal and external ion concentrations. When osmolarity differences are minimal, less energy is required.

Alternative Osmotic Strategies

The bodily fluids of marine sharks and most other cartilaginous fish contain TMAO; this enables them to store urea and internally surpass the external osmolarity, allowing them to absorb water through osmosis.

Most animals are stenohaline—unable to tolerate large external osmolarity fluctuations. Euryhaline species, like salmon, can change osmoregulatory status. When salmon migrate from freshwater to the ocean, they undergo physiological changes, such as producing more cortisol to grow salt-secreting cells.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter