Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

39.1: Zygotic Development And Stem Cell Formation

JoVE Core
Cell Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. Sign in or start your free trial.

Zygotic Development And Stem Cell Formation

39.1: Zygotic Development And Stem Cell Formation

The development of all multicellular organisms starts with the fusion of haploid cells called sperm and egg to form a diploid zygote. A zygote is a totipotent cell that can develop into a complete organism. The zygote undergoes cell division or cleavage to form an 8-cell mass. Until this stage, the cells are spherical, loosely attached, and remain totipotent. Totipotent cells are capable of developing both the embryonic and the extraembryonic tissues. However, as they continue to divide, they reach the 64-cell stage, called the blastocyst. The cells differentiate into two distinct developmental pathways and form the inner cell mass (ICM) and the trophectoderm (TE) cells. ICM is the source of embryonic stem cells or ES cells. ICM and TE are self-renewing but can differentiate only to limited cell types.

The ICM next differentiates into the embryonic tissues and forms the three germ layers (mesoderm, endoderm, and ectoderm) that give rise to all cell types of the embryo (neural cells, epithelial cells, muscle cells, and blood cells). In contrast, TE cells form the extraembryonic tissues such as the placenta, amnion, and chorion that cover the growing embryo. Once the blastocyst gets implanted on the uterine wall, they undergo further embryonic development.

After birth, each adult tissue retains a fraction of stem cells called the adult stem cells. Adult stem cells can form cells of a particular tissue type to help replace damaged or dead cells and maintain tissue integrity.  Adult stem cells include hematopoietic stem cells of the bone marrow and epidermal stem cells of the skin, gut, brain, lung, or liver.

Suggested Reading


Zygotic Development Stem Cell Formation Haploid Cells Sperm Egg Diploid Zygote Totipotent Cell Cell Division Cleavage 8-cell Mass Blastocyst Inner Cell Mass (ICM) Trophectoderm (TE) Embryonic Stem Cells (ES Cells) Three Germ Layers (mesoderm Endoderm Ectoderm) Extraembryonic Tissues Placenta Amnion Chorion Uterine Wall Embryonic Development Adult Stem Cells

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter