Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

4.8: Ribosomes
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Ribosomes
 
Cette voix off est générée par ordinateur
TRANSCRIPTION
* La traduction du texte est générée par ordinateur

4.8: Ribosomes

Les ribosomes traduisent l’information génétique codée par ARN messager (ARNm) en protéines. Les cellules procaryotes et eucaryotes ont des ribosomes. Les cellules qui synthétisent de grandes quantités de protéines, comme les cellules sécrétrices dans le pancréas humain, peuvent contenir des millions de ribosomes.

Les ribosomes sont composés d’ARN ribosomal (ARR) et de protéines. Les ribosomes ne sont pas entourés d’une membrane (c’est-à-dire, malgré leur fonction cellulaire spécifique, ils ne sont pas une organelle). Chez les eucaryotes, l’ARRr est transcrit à partir de gènes du nucléole, une partie du noyau qui se spécialise dans la production de ribosomes. Dans le nucléole, l’ARR est combiné avec des protéines qui sont importées du cytoplasme. L’assemblage produit deux sous-unités d’un ribosome : les grandes et les petites sous-unités.

Ces sous-unités laissent ensuite le noyau à travers les pores de l’enveloppe nucléaire. Chaque petite et petite sous-unité se lient une fois que l’ARNm se lie à un site sur la petite sous-unité au début du processus de traduction. Cette étape forme un ribosome fonctionnel.

Les ribosomes peuvent s’assembler dans le cytosol — appelé ribosomes libres — ou lorsqu’ils sont attachés à l’extérieur de l’enveloppe nucléaire ou du réticulum endoplasmique — appelés ribosomes liés. En général, les ribosomes libres synthétisent les protéines utilisées dans le cytoplasme, tandis que les ribosomes liés synthétisent des protéines qui sont insérées dans les membranes, emballées dans des organites, ou sont sécrétées à partir de la cellule.

Les ribosomes synthétisent les protéines en réunissant l’ARNm et l’ARN de transfert (ARNT). Les nucléotides spécialisés de l’ARNT, appelé boucle anticodon, se lient au codon de l’ARNm. L’ARNT porte un acide aminé à l’autre extrémité. De cette façon, le code génétique de l’ARNm est traduit en une chaîne d’acides aminés un codon à la fois. Les ribosomes catalysent également la formation de liaisons peptides entre les acides aminés adjacents, ce qui entraîne un polypeptide.

Lorsque l’ARNm se lie à la petite sous-unité du ribosome, l’ARnt se lie à l’un des trois sites de liaison sur la grande sous-unité du ribosome. Les sites de liaison sont appelés les sites A (aminoacyl-tRNA), P (peptidyl-tRNA) et E (sortie). Au fur et à mesure que l’ARNm est traduit, de nouveaux ARN sont ajoutés sur le site A, se déplacent vers le site P et sont publiés sur le site E. La chaîne de polypeptide en croissance s’enfile à travers un tunnel de sortie dans la grande sous-unité. Lorsque la synthèse des protéines est terminée, les sous-unités ribosomal se dissocient.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

4.6: Ribosomes
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

4.6: Ribosomes

Ribosomes translate genetic information encoded by messenger RNA (mRNA) into proteins. Both prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells have ribosomes. Cells that synthesize large quantities of protein—such as secretory cells in the human pancreas—can contain millions of ribosomes.

Ribosomes are composed of ribosomal RNA (rRNA) and proteins. Ribosomes are not surrounded by a membrane (i.e., despite their specific cell function, they are not an organelle). In eukaryotes, rRNA is transcribed from genes in the nucleolus—a part of the nucleus that specializes in ribosome production. Within the nucleolus, rRNA is combined with proteins that are imported from the cytoplasm. The assembly produces two subunits of a ribosome—the large and small subunits.

These subunits then leave the nucleus through pores in the nuclear envelope. Each one large and small subunit bind to each other once mRNA binds to a site on the small subunit at the start of the translation process. This step forms a functional ribosome.

Ribosomes may assemble in the cytosol—called free ribosomes—or while attached to the outside of the nuclear envelope or endoplasmic reticulum—called bound ribosomes. Generally, free ribosomes synthesize proteins used in the cytoplasm, while bound ribosomes synthesize proteins that are inserted into membranes, packaged into organelles, or are secreted from the cell.

Ribosomes synthesize proteins by bringing together mRNA and transfer RNA (tRNA). Specialized nucleotides of the tRNA, called anticodon loop, bind to the codon of the mRNA. The tRNA carries an amino acid on the other end. In this way, the genetic code from mRNA is translated into a chain of amino acids one codon at a time. Ribosomes also catalyze the formation of peptide bonds between adjacent amino acids, resulting in a polypeptide.

When mRNA binds to the small subunit of the ribosome, tRNA binds to one of three binding sites on the large subunit of the ribosome. The binding sites are called the A (aminoacyl-tRNA), P (peptidyl-tRNA), and E (exit) sites. As the mRNA is translated, new tRNAs are added at the A site, move to the P site, and are released at the E site. The growing polypeptide chain threads through an exit tunnel in the large subunit. When the protein synthesis is complete, the ribosomal subunits dissociate.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter