Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

18.2: Le système nerveux parasympathique
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Le système nerveux parasympathique
 
TRANSCRIPTION

18.2: Le système nerveux parasympathique

Aperçu

Le système nerveux parasympathique est l’une des deux principales divisions du système nerveux autonome. Ce système parasympathique est responsable de la régulation de nombreuses fonctions inconscientes, telles que la fréquence cardiaque et la digestion. Il est composé de neurones situés à la fois dans le cerveau et le système nerveux périphérique qui envoient leurs axones pour cibler les muscles, les organes et les glandes.

Le système de “ repos et digestion ”

L’activation du système parasympathique a tendance à avoir un effet relaxant sur le corps, soutenant des fonctions qui réapprovisionnent les ressources et restaurent l’homéostasie. Il est donc parfois appelé le système de “ repos et digestion ”. Le système parasympathique prédomine pendant les périodes calmes lorsqu’il est possible de consacrer des ressources aux fonctions de base “ d’entretien ” sans risque d’attaque ou de tort.

Contrôle du système parasympathique

Le système nerveux parasympathique peut être activé par diverses parties du cerveau, y compris l’hypothalamus. Les neurones préganglionnaires du tronc cérébral et de la partie sacrée de la moelle spinale envoient d’abord leurs axones aux ganglions — des amas de corps de cellules neuronales — dans le système nerveux périphérique. Ces ganglions contiennent les connexions entre les neurones pré- et postganglionnaires et sont situés près des organes ou des glandes qu’ils contrôlent. De là, les neurones postganglionnaires envoient leurs axones sur les tissus cibles, généralement des muscles lisses, des muscles cardiaques ou des glandes. Habituellement, le neurotransmetteur acétylcholine est employé pour réguler l’activité de ces cibles.

L’activation du système parasympathique provoque divers effets sur le corps. Il fait baisser le rythme cardiaque et conduit les pupilles à se resserrer, ce qui ramène le corps à un état plus détendu. Il stimule également la digestion et l’excrétion, par exemple en favorisant la salivation, les contractions péristaltiques dans l’estomac et les intestins, et la contraction de la vessie pour expulser l’urine. Il aide à reconstruire les réserves d’énergie en conduisant le pancréas à sécréter plus d’insuline. Enfin, il favorise même la reproduction en augmentant le flux sanguin vers les organes génitaux.

Se mettre debout

Le contrôle de la fréquence cardiaque et du flux sanguin est essentiel, même pour des tâches banales comme se mettre debout. Les personnes qui souffrent d’intolérance orthostatique (IO) peuvent éprouver des étourdissements chroniques et des évanouissements par le simple acte d’entrer dans une posture verticale, appelée orthostase. Le système nerveux autonome contrôle les changements nécessaires à la vascularisation et à la fréquence cardiaque lorsque nous nous engageons dans l’orthostase. En particulier, le système parasympathique est responsable des signaux qui permettent la vasodilatation — la relaxation des muscles autour de la doublure des vaisseaux sanguins — des artères cérébrales. Une signalisation incorrecte par le système nerveux parasympathique peut causer une perte de conscience due à un flux sanguin inadéquat vers le cerveau.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

18.2: The Parasympathetic Nervous System
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

18.2: The Parasympathetic Nervous System

Overview

The parasympathetic nervous system is one of the two major divisions of the autonomic nervous system. This parasympathetic system is responsible for regulating many unconscious functions, such as heart rate and digestion. It is composed of neurons located in both the brain and the peripheral nervous system that send their axons to target muscles, organs, and glands.

The “Rest and Digest” System

Activation of the parasympathetic system tends to have a relaxing effect on the body, promoting functions that replenish resources and restore homeostasis. It is therefore sometimes referred to as the “rest and digest” system. The parasympathetic system predominates during calm times when it is safe to devote resources to basic “housekeeping” functions without a threat of attack or harm.

Control of the Parasympathetic System

The parasympathetic nervous system can be activated by various parts of the brain, including the hypothalamus. Preganglionic neurons in the brainstem and sacral part of the spinal cord first send their axons out to ganglia—clusters of neuronal cell bodies—in the peripheral nervous system. These ganglia contain the connections between pre- and postganglionic neurons and are located near the organs or glands that they control. From here, postganglionic neurons send their axons onto target tissues—generally smooth muscle, cardiac muscle, or glands. Typically, the neurotransmitter acetylcholine is used to regulate the activity of these targets.

Activation of the parasympathetic system causes a variety of effects on the body. It lowers heart rate and causes the pupils to constrict—restoring the body to a more relaxed state. It also stimulates digestion and excretion—for instance, by promoting salivation, peristaltic contractions in the stomach and intestines, and contraction of the bladder to expel urine. It helps rebuild energy stores by causing the pancreas to secrete more insulin. Finally, it even promotes reproduction by increasing blood flow to the genitals.

Standing Up

The control of heart rate and blood flow is essential even for mundane tasks such as standing up. People who suffer from orthostatic intolerance (OI) can experience chronic lightheadedness and fainting from the simple act of getting into an upright posture, called orthostasis. The autonomic nervous system controls the necessary changes to the vasculature and heart rate when we engage in orthostasis. In particular, the parasympathetic system is responsible for the signals that allow vasodilation—the relaxing of the muscles around lining the blood vessels—of the cerebral arteries. Improper signaling by the parasympathetic nervous system can cause loss of consciousness due to inadequate blood flow to the brain.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter