Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

12.11: Théorie chromosomique de l'hérédité
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Chromosomal Theory of Inheritance
 
TRANSCRIPTION

12.11: Théorie chromosomique de l'hérédité

En 1866, Gregor Mendel publia les résultats de ses expériences de sélection des plants de petits pois, fournissant des preuves de modèles prévisibles dans la transmission des caractéristiques physiques. L’importance de ses conclusions ne fut pas immédiatement reconnue. En effet, l’existence des gènes était inconnue à l’époque. Mendel a qualifié les unités héréditaires de “ facteurs ”.

Les mécanismes qui sous-tendent les observations de Mendel, la base de ses lois de ségrégation et de l’assortiment indépendant, demeuraient insaisissables. À la fin des années 1800, les progrès des techniques de microscopie et de coloration ont permis aux scientifiques de visualiser la mitose et la méiose pour la première fois.

Au début des années 1900, Theodor Boveri, Walter Sutton et d’autres ont proposé indépendamment que les chromosomes puissent être à la base des lois de Mendel, la théorie chromosomique de l’hérédité. En faisant respectivement des recherches sur les oursins et les sauterelles, Boveri et Sutton ont noté des similitudes frappantes entre les chromosomes pendant la méiose et les facteurs de Mendel.

Comme les facteurs de Mendel, les chromosomes vont par paires. Rappelant la loi de ségrégation de Mendel, ces paires se séparent pendant la méiose de telle sorte que chaque gamète (par exemple, le spermatozoïde ou l'ovule) reçoit un chromosome de chaque paire. Les paires de chromosomes sont séparées indépendamment les unes des autres, ce qui correspond à la loi de Mendel sur l’assortiment indépendant.

La première preuve concrète de la théorie chromosomique de l’hérédité est venue de l’un de ses détracteurs, Thomas Hunt Morgan. Morgan a constaté qu’une mutation affectant la couleur des yeux des mouches de vinaigre a été héritée différemment par les mouches mâles et femelles, et il a démontré que ce trait était déterminé par le chromosome X.

Nous savons maintenant que les facteurs de Mendel sont des segments d’ADN, appelés gènes, à des endroits chromosomiques spécifiques. L’indépendance de l’assortiment des gènes sur différents chromosomes est une conséquence de l’arrangement aléatoire des chromosomes à la ligne médiane d’une cellule pendant la métaphase I, qui détermine quels gènes se séparent dans les mêmes cellules filles. Chaque paire homologue de chromosomes migre indépendamment des autres. La loi de ségrégation correspond au mouvement des chromosomes pendant l’anaphase I qui garantit, dans des conditions normales, que chaque gamète ne reçoit qu’une seule copie de chaque chromosome distribuée au hasard.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

12.11: Chromosomal Theory of Inheritance
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

12.11: Chromosomal Theory of Inheritance

In 1866, Gregor Mendel published the results of his pea plant breeding experiments, providing evidence for predictable patterns in the inheritance of physical characteristics. The significance of his findings was not immediately recognized. In fact, the existence of genes was unknown at the time. Mendel referred to hereditary units as “factors.”

The mechanisms underlying Mendel’s observations—the basis of his laws of segregation and independent assortment—remained elusive. In the late 1800s, advances in microscopy and staining techniques allowed scientists to visualize mitosis and meiosis for the first time.

In the early 1900s, Theodor Boveri, Walter Sutton, and others independently proposed that chromosomes may underlie Mendel’s laws—the chromosomal theory of inheritance. Researching sea urchins and grasshoppers, respectively, Boveri and Sutton noted striking similarities between chromosomes during meiosis and Mendel’s factors.

Like Mendel’s factors, chromosomes come in pairs. Reminiscent of Mendel’s law of segregation, these pairs become separated during meiosis such that every gamete (e.g., sperm or egg) receives one chromosome from each pair. Chromosome pairs are segregated independently of one another, corresponding to Mendel’s law of independent assortment.

The first concrete evidence for the chromosomal theory of inheritance came from one of its critics, Thomas Hunt Morgan. Morgan found that a mutation affecting the eye color of fruit flies was inherited differently by male and female flies, and demonstrated that this trait was determined by the X chromosome.

We now know that Mendel’s factors are DNA segments—called genes—at specific chromosomal locations. The independent assortment of genes on different chromosomes is a consequence of the random arrangement of chromosomes at the midline of a cell during metaphase I, which determines which genes segregate into the same daughter cells. Each homologous pair of chromosomes migrates independently of the others. The law of segregation corresponds to the movement of chromosomes during anaphase I which ensures, under normal conditions, that each gamete receives only one copy of each chromosome randomly distributed.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter