Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

36.2: Photorezeptoren und pflanzliche Reaktionen auf Licht
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Photoreceptors and Plant Responses to Light
 
PROTOKOLLE

36.2: Photorezeptoren und pflanzliche Reaktionen auf Licht

Licht spielt eine wichtige Rolle bei der Regulierung des Wachstums und der Entwicklung von Pflanzen. Neben der Bereitstellung der Energie für die Photosynthese liefert Licht weitere wichtige Reize, um eine Reihe von Entwicklungen und physiologischen Reaktionen in Pflanzen zu regulieren.

Was ist ein Photorezeptor?

Pflanzen reagieren auf Licht mit einem einzigartigen Satz an lichtempfindlichen Proteine, die Photorezeptoren genannt werden. Photorezeptoren enthalten Photopigmente, die aus einer Proteinkomponente bestehen, die an ein nicht-proteinogenes lichtabsorbierendes Pigment namens Chromophor gebunden ist. Es gibt verschiedene Arten von Photorezeptoren, die in ihrer Aminosäuresequenz und der Art des Chromophors variieren. Diese Typen reagieren maximal auf unterschiedliche spezifische Wellenlängen des Lichts, von ultraviolettem (280-315 Nanometer) bis ins rote (700-750 Nanometer). Die Absorption des Lichts durch das Chromophor löst strukturelle Veränderungen im Photorezeptor aus und führt zu einer Reihe an Signaltransduktionsereignissen, die zu Veränderungen der Genexpression führen.

Das Phytochrom-System

Viele Arten von Photorezeptoren sind in Pflanzen vorhanden. Phytochrome sind eine Klasse von Photorezeptoren, die hellrotes bis dunkelrotes Licht erkennen. Das Phytochrom-System fungiert als natürlicher Lichtschalter, der es Pflanzen ermöglicht, auf die Intensität, Dauer und Farbe des Umgebungslichts zu reagieren.

Das Phytochromsystem spielt eine wichtige Rolle bei der Photomorphogenese – dem Wachstum und der Entwicklung von Pflanzen als Reaktion auf Licht. Helles Sonnenlicht enthält mehr hellrotes als dunkelrotes Licht. Chlorophyll absorbiert stark rotes Licht, so dass schattierte Pflanzenbereiche mehr dunkelrotes als rotes Licht erhalten.

Pflanzen verwenden Phytochrome, um ihr Wachstum als Reaktion auf rotes und dunkelrotes Licht anzupassen. Die Exposition mit dunkelrotem Licht in beschatteten Bereichen löst die Dehnung der Sprossachsen und Blattstiele auf der Suche nach Licht aus. Andererseits verbessert die Exposition mit roten Wellenlängen durch ungefiltertes Sonnenlicht das seitliche Wachstum und die Verzweigung.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

36.2: Photoreceptors and Plant Responses to Light
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Photoreceptors and Plant Responses to Light
 

TRANSCRIPT

36.2: Photoreceptors and Plant Responses to Light

Light plays a significant role in regulating the growth and development of plants. In addition to providing energy for photosynthesis, light provides other important cues to regulate a range of developmental and physiological responses in plants.

What Is a Photoreceptor?

Plants respond to light using a unique set of light-sensitive proteins called photoreceptors. Photoreceptors contain photopigments, which consist of a protein component bound to a non-protein, light-absorbing pigment called the chromophore. There are several different types of photoreceptors, which vary in their amino acid sequences and the type of chromophore present. These types maximally respond to different specific wavelengths of light, ranging from ultraviolet B (280-315 nanometers) to far-red (700-750 nanometers). The chromophore's absorption of light elicits structural changes in the photoreceptor, triggering a series of signal transduction events that result in gene expression changes.

The Phytochrome System

Many types of photoreceptors are present in plants. Phytochromes are a class of photoreceptors that sense red and far-red light. The phytochrome system acts as a natural light switch, allowing plants to respond to the intensity, duration, and color of environmental light.

The phytochrome system plays a significant role in photomorphogenesis—the growth and development of plants in response to light. Bright sunlight contains more red light than far-red light. Chlorophyll strongly absorbs red light, so shaded plant regions receive more far-red light than red light.

Plants use phytochromes to adapt their growth in response to red and far-red light. Exposure to far-red light in shaded regions triggers the elongation of stems and petioles in search of light. On the other hand, exposure to red wavelengths from unfiltered sunlight enhances lateral growth and branching.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter