Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

36.2: Photorécepteurs et réactions de la plante à la lumière
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Photorécepteurs et réactions de la plante à la lumière
 
TRANSCRIPTION

36.2: Photorécepteurs et réactions de la plante à la lumière

La lumière joue un rôle important dans la régulation de la croissance et du développement des plantes. En plus de fournir de l’énergie pour la photosynthèse, la lumière fournit d’autres indices importants pour réguler une gamme de réponses développementales et physiologiques chez les plantes.

Qu’est-ce qu’un photorécepteur ?

Les plantes réagissent à la lumière à l’aide d’un ensemble unique de protéines sensibles à la lumière appelées photorécepteurs. Les photorécepteurs contiennent des photopigments, qui consistent en un composant protéique lié à un pigment non protéique absorbant la lumière, appelé chromophore. Il existe plusieurs types de photorécepteurs, qui varient dans leurs séquences d’acides aminés et le type de chromophore présent. Ces types répondent de façon maximale à différentes longueurs d’onde spécifiques de la lumière, allant de l’ultraviolet B (280-315 nanomètres) à l’extrême-rouge (700-750 nanomètres). L’absorption de la lumière par le chromophore provoque des changements structurels dans le photorécepteur, déclenchant une série d’événements de transduction du signal qui entraînent des changements dans l’expression des gènes.

Le système des phytochromes

De nombreux types de photorécepteurs sont présents chez les plantes. Les phytochromes sont une classe de photorécepteurs qui sentent la lumière rouge et rouge lointaine. Le système des phytochromes agit comme un interrupteur de lumière naturel, permettant aux plantes de répondre à l’intensité, la durée et la couleur de la lumière de l’environnement.

Le système des phytochromes joue un rôle important dans la photomorphogenèse — la croissance et le développement des plantes en réponse à la lumière. La lumière du soleil contient plus de lumière rouge que de lumière rouge lointaine. La chlorophylle absorbe fortement la lumière rouge, de sorte que les régions végétales ombragées reçoivent plus de lumière rouge lointaine que de lumière rouge.

Les plantes utilisent des phytochromes pour adapter leur croissance en réponse à la lumière rouge et rouge lointaine. L’exposition à la lumière rouge dans les régions ombragées déclenche l’élongation des tiges et des pétioles à la recherche de la lumière. D’autre part, l’exposition aux longueurs d’onde rouges provenant de la lumière du soleil non filtrée améliore la croissance latérale et la ramification.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

36.2: Photoreceptors and Plant Responses to Light
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Photoreceptors and Plant Responses to Light
 

TRANSCRIPT

36.2: Photoreceptors and Plant Responses to Light

Light plays a significant role in regulating the growth and development of plants. In addition to providing energy for photosynthesis, light provides other important cues to regulate a range of developmental and physiological responses in plants.

What Is a Photoreceptor?

Plants respond to light using a unique set of light-sensitive proteins called photoreceptors. Photoreceptors contain photopigments, which consist of a protein component bound to a non-protein, light-absorbing pigment called the chromophore. There are several different types of photoreceptors, which vary in their amino acid sequences and the type of chromophore present. These types maximally respond to different specific wavelengths of light, ranging from ultraviolet B (280-315 nanometers) to far-red (700-750 nanometers). The chromophore's absorption of light elicits structural changes in the photoreceptor, triggering a series of signal transduction events that result in gene expression changes.

The Phytochrome System

Many types of photoreceptors are present in plants. Phytochromes are a class of photoreceptors that sense red and far-red light. The phytochrome system acts as a natural light switch, allowing plants to respond to the intensity, duration, and color of environmental light.

The phytochrome system plays a significant role in photomorphogenesis—the growth and development of plants in response to light. Bright sunlight contains more red light than far-red light. Chlorophyll strongly absorbs red light, so shaded plant regions receive more far-red light than red light.

Plants use phytochromes to adapt their growth in response to red and far-red light. Exposure to far-red light in shaded regions triggers the elongation of stems and petioles in search of light. On the other hand, exposure to red wavelengths from unfiltered sunlight enhances lateral growth and branching.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter