Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

36.3: Horloges biologiques et réponses saisonnières
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Horloges biologiques et réponses saisonnières
 
TRANSCRIPTION

36.3: Horloges biologiques et réponses saisonnières

L'horloge circadienne — ou biologique — est un mécanisme moléculaire intrinsèque de mesure du temps qui permet aux plantes de coordonner leurs activités physiologiques sur des cycles de 24 heures appelés rythmes circadiens. Le photopériodisme est un terme collectif désignant les réponses biologiques des plantes aux variations des durées relatives des périodes d'obscurité et de lumière. La période d'exposition à la lumière est appelée photopériode.

Un exemple de photopériodisme chez les plantes est la floraison saisonnière. Les scientifiques croient que les plantes sont incitées à fleurir par la correspondance de leur horloge circadienne aux changements de la photopériode. Elles détectent ces changements à l’aide de systèmes de photorécepteurs sensibles à la lumière.

Les phytochromes sont un groupe de photorécepteurs impliqués dans la floraison et d’autres processus induits par la lumière. Le système des phytochromes permet aux plantes de comparer la durée des périodes sombres sur plusieurs jours.

Les plantes de jour court (nuit longue) fleurissent après un nombre minimum de longues nuits consécutives. En revanche, les plantes de jour long (nuit courte) initient la floraison après un nombre minimum de nuits courtes consécutives.

Les phytochromes existent sous deux formes interconvertibles : Pr et Pfr. Le Pr est converti en Pfr pendant la journée, de sorte que le Pfr est plus abondant en plein jour. Le Pfr est converti en Pr la nuit ; il y a donc plus de Pr la nuit. Par conséquent, les plantes peuvent déterminer la longueur du cycle jour-nuit en mesurant le rapport Pr/Pfr à l’aube. Les longues nuits d’hiver réduisent les niveaux de Pfr à l’aube, tandis que les nuits plus courtes du printemps entraînent des niveaux plus élevés de Pfr au lever du soleil.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

36.3: Biological Clocks and Seasonal Responses
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's JoVE Core collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

 
Start Free Trial
TRANSCRIPT

36.3: Biological Clocks and Seasonal Responses

The circadian—or biological—clock is an intrinsic, timekeeping, molecular mechanism that allows plants to coordinate physiological activities over 24-hour cycles called circadian rhythms. Photoperiodism is a collective term for the biological responses of plants to variations in the relative lengths of dark and light periods. The period of light-exposure is called the photoperiod.

One example of photoperiodism in plants is seasonal flowering. Scientists believe that plants are cued to flower by the correspondence of their circadian clocks to changes in the photoperiod. They detect these changes using light-sensitive photoreceptor systems.

Phytochromes are a group of photoreceptors involved in flowering and other light-mediated processes. The phytochrome system enables plants to compare the duration of dark periods over several days.

Short-day (long-night) plants flower after a minimum number of consecutive long nights. Long-day (short-night) plants, by contrast, initiate flowering following a minimum number of consecutive short nights.

Phytochromes exist as two interconvertible forms: Pr and Pfr. Pr is converted into Pfr during the day, so Pfr is more abundant in daylight hours. Pfr is converted into Pr at night, so there is more Pr at nighttime. Therefore, plants can determine the length of the day-night cycle by measuring the Pr/Pfr ratio at dawn. The long nights of winter reduce Pfr levels at dawn, while the shorter nights of spring result in higher Pfr levels at sunrise.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter