Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove
JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments
Encyclopedia of Experiments: Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. Sign in or start your free trial.

Freeze-Cracking of Nematodes

 
Click here for the English version

Freeze-Cracking of Nematodes: A Method to Expose Interior Worm Tissues for Staining

Article

Transcript

Please note that all translations are automatically generated.

Click here for the English version.

- Transférer les C. elegans lavés dans du liquide sur une lame de verre préalablement recouverte de polylysine, un composé qui aidera les cuticules de ver à coller à la surface du verre. Appuyez doucement sur une autre glissière de verre directement vers le bas avec un bord surplombant la glissière inférieure. Pour immobiliser les vers sans dommage, compressez les animaux en évitant tout mouvement latéral. Ensuite, placez les glissières de verre avec des vers pris en sandwich sur un bloc métallique à l’intérieur d’un récipient de laboratoire isolé rempli d’un agent de congélation, comme de l’azote liquide ou de la glace sèche.

Le métal est un conducteur de température efficace assurant que la surface du bloc est suffisamment froide pour geler rapidement les cuticules du ver sur les deux surfaces vitrées. Une fois congelés, séparez rapidement les glissières de verre pour séparer ou casser les cuticules de ver. Procéder à la fixation et à la coloration des tissus comme perturbation de la cuticule à faible perméabilité permet aux fixatifs chimiques et aux anticorps de coloration d’accéder aux tissus intérieurs du ver. Dans le protocole suivant, nous verrons une démonstration détaillée de la technique de fissuration du gel et de la fixation des tissus.

- Tout d’abord, préparer une diapositive pour fixer les vers. Pipette 30 microlitres de poly-L-lysine sur une diapositive, unnd puis, mettre une deuxième diapositive sur l’autre et lesfrotter ensemble pour étendre la solution uniformément sur les deux. Maintenant, peler les deux diapositives et les laisser sécher à l’air pendant 30 minutes. 

Ensuite, placez un bloc métallique plat dans un récipient rempli d’azote liquide. Lavez les plaques avec la solution M9 et transférez environ 10 microlitres de M9 contenant les vers. Alternativement, choisissez les vers et ajoutez M9 à la lame.

Une fois que les vers sont transférés, déposez doucement un coverslip sur eux de sorte que le coverslip surplombe un bord. Puis, appuyez doucement sur le coverslip sans faire de mouvements latéraux.

Maintenant, transférez immédiatement la glissière au bloc métallique dans de l’azote liquide et laissez-la geler. Après cinq minutes, feuilletez le coverslip à l’aide du bord en surplomb. Faites-le rapidement pour obtenir la fissure appropriée de la cuticule.

Ensuite, plongez la glissade dans un bocal coplin rempli de méthanol à moins 20 degrés Celsius. Après cinq minutes, transférez la lame dans un bocal coplin rempli d’acétone pendant encore cinq minutes à la même température. Les toboggans peuvent être tachés directement ou stockés à moins 20 degrés Celsius.

Tags

Valeur vide Question
Read Article

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

You have temporary access through JoVE.
This access will expire on 09/30/2020 12:00am EST

Freeze-Cracking of Nematodes
 

Freeze-Cracking of Nematodes: A Method to Expose Interior Worm Tissues for Staining

Article

Transcript

- Transfer washed C. elegans in liquid onto a glass slide previously coated with poly-lysine, a compound that will help worm cuticles stick to the glass surface. Gently press another glass slide straight down with an edge overhanging the bottom slide. To immobilize the worms without damage, compress the animals avoiding any lateral motions. Then, place the glass slides with sandwiched worms on a metal block inside an insulated laboratory container filled with a freezing agent, such as liquid nitrogen or dry ice.

Metal is an effective temperature conductor ensuring the block surface is cold enough to rapidly freeze the worm's cuticles to both glass surfaces. Once frozen, swiftly separate the glass slides to pull apart or crack open the worm cuticles. Proceed with tissue fixation and staining as disruption of the low permeability cuticle allows chemical fixatives and staining antibodies to access the interior worm tissues. In the following protocol, we will see a detailed demonstration of the freeze-cracking technique and tissue fixation.

- First, prepare a slide to fix the worms. Pipette 30 microliters of poly-L-lysine onto a slide, and then, set a second slide onto the other and rub them together to spread the solution evenly onto both. Now, peel apart the two slides and let them air dry for 30 minutes.

Next, place a flat metal block into a container filled with liquid nitrogen. Wash the plates with M9 solution and transfer about 10 microliters of M9 containing the worms. Alternatively, pick the worms and add M9 to the slide.

Once the worms are transferred, gently drop a coverslip crossways onto them such that the coverslip overhangs one edge. Then, gently press the coverslip without making any lateral movements.

Now, immediately transfer the slide to the metal block in liquid nitrogen and let it freeze. After five minutes, flick off the coverslip using the overhanging edge. Do this swiftly to get the proper crack of the cuticle.

Next, immerse the slide in a methanol-filled glass Coplin jar at minus 20 degrees Celsius. After five minutes, transfer the slide to an acetone-filled glass Coplin jar for another five minutes at the same temperature. The slides can be stained directly or stored at minus 20 degrees Celsius.

Read Article

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter