Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

18.4: La barrière hémato-encéphalique
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
La barrière hémato-encéphalique
 
TRANSCRIPTION

18.4: La barrière hémato-encéphalique

Aperçu

La barrière hémato-encéphalique (BBB) fait référence à la vascularisation spécialisée qui fournit au cerveau des nutriments dans le sang tout en régulant strictement le mouvement des ions, des molécules, des agents pathogènes, et d’autres substances. Elle est composée de cellules endothéliales étroitement liées d’un côté et de projections d’astrocytes de l’autre. Ensemble, elles fournissent une barrière semi-perméable qui protège le cerveau et pose des défis uniques à l’apport de thérapies.

Les constituants cellulaires

La BBB est composée d’une variété de constituants cellulaires, y compris les cellules endothéliales et les astrocytes. Ces cellules partagent une membrane basale commune et régulent ensemble le passage des constituants entre la circulation et le fluide interstitiel entourant le cerveau.

Le premier type de constituant cellulaire, les cellules endothéliales spécialisées, composent les parois des capillaires cérébraux. Elles sont reliées par des jonctions intercellulaires extrêmement serrées et complexes. Ces jonctions créent une barrière physique sélective, empêchant la simple diffusion de la plupart des substances, y compris les molécules de taille moyenne à grande telles que le glucose et l’insuline.

Un second type de cellule, les astrocytes, sont un type de cellule gliale du système nerveux central qui influence la fonction de cellules endothéliales, le flux sanguin et l’équilibre des ions dans le cerveau par l’interaction et l’association étroite avec la vascularisation cérébrale. Ils fournissent un lien direct entre la vascularisation et les neurones : ils rallongent les prolongements — appelés pieds astrocytaires — qui s’enroulent autour des vaisseaux sanguins d’une extrémité tout en entrant en contact intime avec des neurones aux synapses à l’autre extrémité.

L’échange chimique

La faculté d’une substance à traverser la BBB et l’efficacité avec laquelle cet échange se produit dépend des propriétés chimiques et moléculaires de chaque molécule ou ion. En général, les petits constituants liposolubles, tels que l’oxygène et le dioxyde de carbone, subissent une diffusion rapide et simple à travers la couche endothéliale. En revanche, les constituants plus grands ou solubles dans l’eau nécessitent souvent un processus plus sélectif qui peut impliquer un transport passif ou actif par une cellule endothéliale. L’échange de ces substances se produit généralement plus lentement ou peut ne pas se produire du tout, selon l’abondance relative et l’efficacité des récepteurs spécifiques aux molécules et des protéines de transport à la surface des cellules endothéliales, entre autres facteurs.

La BBB protège le cerveau

La protection neuronale facilitée par la BBB est essentielle à la bonne santé et à la fonction du cerveau. La dysrégulation de la BBB peut entraîner des maladies neurologiques graves, y compris la sclérose en plaques, l’infection et l’ischémie en raison d’un approvisionnement insuffisant en sang. Inversement, l’activité de la BBB peut être préjudiciable au traitement de certaines maladies neurologiques en empêchant ou en réduisant considérablement le passage de médicaments pharmaceutiques neuroactifs dans le système nerveux central. Pour cette raison, les médicaments avec des cibles neurologiques doivent être conçus d’une manière qui facilite le passage à travers la BBB.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

18.4: The Blood-brain Barrier
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

18.4: The Blood-brain Barrier

Overview

The blood-brain barrier (BBB) refers to the specialized vasculature that provides the brain with nutrients in the blood while strictly regulating the movement of ions, molecules, pathogens, and other substances. It is composed of tightly linked endothelial cells on one side and astrocyte projections on the other. Together they provide a semipermeable barrier that protects the brain and poses unique challenges to the delivery of therapeutics.

Cellular Components

The BBB is made up of a variety of cellular components, including endothelial cells and astrocytes. These cells share a common basement membrane and together regulate the passage of components between the circulation and the interstitial fluid surrounding the brain.

The first type of cellular component, specialized endothelial cells, make up the walls of the cerebral capillaries. They are connected by extremely tight and complex intercellular junctions. These junctions create a selective physical barrier, preventing simple diffusion of most substances, including average to large-sized molecules such as glucose and insulin.

A second cell type, astrocytes, are a type of glial cell of the central nervous system which influences endothelial cell function, blood flow, and ion balance in the brain through interaction and close association with cerebral vasculature. They provide a direct link between the vasculature and neurons: they extend processes—called endfeet—that wrap around blood vessels on one end while making intimate contact with neurons at synapses on the other end.

Chemical Exchange

The ability of a substance to cross the BBB and the efficiency with which this exchange occurs depends on the chemical and molecular properties of each molecule or ion. In general, small lipid-soluble components, such as oxygen and carbon dioxide, undergo rapid, simple diffusion through the endothelial layer. In contrast, larger or water-soluble components often require a more selective process that may involve passive or active transport through an endothelial cell. The exchange of these substances generally occurs more slowly or may not occur at all, depending on the relative abundance and efficiency of molecule-specific receptors and transport proteins on the surface of endothelial cells, among other factors.

The BBB Protects the Brain

The neural protection facilitated by the BBB is critical to proper brain health and function. Dysregulation of the BBB can lead to severe neurological disease including multiple sclerosis, infection, and ischemia due to an inadequate blood supply. Conversely, the activity of the BBB may be detrimental to the treatment of some neurologic diseases by preventing or substantially reducing the passage of neuroactive pharmaceutical drugs into the central nervous system. For this reason, drugs with neurological targets must be designed in a way that facilitates passage through the BBB.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter