Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

19.10: Vision
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Vision
 
Cette voix off est générée par ordinateur
TRANSCRIPTION
* La traduction du texte est générée par ordinateur

19.10: Vision

La vision est le résultat de la lumière détectée et transducée en signaux neuronaux par la rétine de l’œil. Cette information est ensuite analysée et interprétée par le cerveau. Tout d’abord, la lumière pénètre à l’avant de l’œil et est concentrée par la cornée et la lentille sur la rétine, une mince feuille de tissu neural tapissant l’arrière de l’œil. En raison de la réfraction à travers la lentille convexe de l’œil, les images sont projetées sur la rétine à l’envers et inversées.

La lumière est absorbée par les cellules photorécepteurs de tige et de cône à l’arrière de la rétine, causant une diminution de leur taux de libération de neurotransmetteur. En plus de détecter les photons de lumière, l’information de couleur est également codée ici, puisque différents types de cônes répondent au maximum aux différentes longueurs d’onde de la lumière.

Les photorécepteurs envoient ensuite des informations visuelles aux cellules bipolaires près du milieu de la rétine, qui est suivie d’une projection aux cellules ganglionnaires à l’avant de la rétine. Les cellules horizontales et amacrines médient les interactions latérales entre ces types de cellules, intégrant l’information provenant de plusieurs photorécepteurs. Cette intégration facilite le traitement initial des informations visuelles, telles que la détection de fonctionnalités simples, comme les bords.

Avec les cellules gliales, les axones des cellules ganglionnaires rétiniennes composent le nerf optique, qui transmet l’information visuelle au cerveau. Le nerf optique traverse partiellement à la base du cerveau. Ainsi, chaque côté du cerveau reçoit l’entrée des deux yeux, permettant la perception de la profondeur.

La plupart des fibres nerveuses optiques synapse dans le noyau génique latéral dans le thalamus du cerveau, où différentes caractéristiques, telles que la couleur et le mouvement, sont traitées en parallèle. Le thalamus envoie ensuite des informations au cortex visuel primaire (V1) à l’arrière du cerveau. Les cellules en V1 répondent à des caractéristiques visuelles plus complexes, telles que des orientations spécifiques et des directions de mouvement. V1 contient une carte bien définie du champ visuel, avec une superficie relativement grande consacrée au traitement de l’information à partir de la fovea de la rétine, une région centrale qui a la plus forte densité de photorécepteurs.

L’information visuelle est envoyée de V1 aux zones adjacentes du cortex cérébral pour un traitement encore plus élevé, comme l’identification d’un objet ou d’un visage et la détermination de l’emplacement spatial des stimuli visuels.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

19.10: Vision
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

19.10: Vision

Vision is the result of light being detected and transduced into neural signals by the retina of the eye. This information is then further analyzed and interpreted by the brain. First, light enters the front of the eye and is focused by the cornea and lens onto the retina—a thin sheet of neural tissue lining the back of the eye. Because of refraction through the convex lens of the eye, images are projected onto the retina upside-down and reversed.

Light is absorbed by the rod and cone photoreceptor cells at the back of the retina, causing a decrease in their rate of neurotransmitter release. In addition to detecting photons of light, color information is also encoded here, since different types of cones respond maximally to different wavelengths of light.

The photoreceptors then send visual information to bipolar cells near the middle of the retina, which is followed by projection to ganglion cells at the front of the retina. Horizontal and amacrine cells mediate lateral interactions between these cell types, integrating information from multiple photoreceptors. This integration aids in the initial processing of visual information, such as detecting simple features, like edges.

Along with glial cells, the axons of the retinal ganglion cells make up the optic nerve, which transmits visual information to the brain. The optic nerve partially crosses at the base of the brain. Thus, each side of the brain receives input from both eyes, enabling depth perception.

Most optic nerve fibers synapse in the lateral geniculate nucleus in the thalamus of the brain, where different characteristics, such as color and motion, are processed in parallel. The thalamus then sends information to the primary visual cortex (V1) at the back of the brain. Cells in V1 respond to more complex visual characteristics, such as specific orientations and directions of movement. V1 contains a well-defined map of the visual field, with a relatively large area devoted to processing information from the fovea of the retina—a central region that has the highest density of photoreceptors.

Visual information is sent from V1 to adjacent areas of the cerebral cortex for even higher-level processing, such as identifying an object or face and determining the spatial location of visual stimuli.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter