Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

23.5: Régulation hormonale
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Régulation hormonale
 
TRANSCRIPTION

23.5: Régulation hormonale

Le système de rénine-angiotensine-aldostérone est un système endocrinien qui guide l’absorption rénale de l’eau et des électrolytes, gérant ainsi la pression artérielle et l’osmorégulation. L’activation du système commence dans les reins avec un petit groupe de cellules adjacentes aux vaisseaux sanguins afférents et efférents du corpuscule rénal. Alors que les néphrons filtrent le sang, les cellules juxtaglomérulaires surveillent la pression artérielle. Si elles détectent une baisse de la pression, elles libèrent l'hormone rénine dans la circulation sanguine.

La rénine qui circule interagit avec l’angiotensinogène, une protéine précurseur synthétisée par le foie, pour créer l’angiotensine I. Une dernière étape divise l’angiotensine I en angiotensine II, un processus réalisé par l’enzyme de conversion de l’angiotensine, ou ACE, qui est libérée par les poumons.

L’angiotensine II augmente temporairement la pression artérielle en contractant de plus petits vaisseaux sanguins. Elle induit également la libération de l’aldostérone du cortex surrénal des reins. L’aldostérone stimule directement la réabsorption du sodium et l’excrétion du potassium par les reins pour maintenir l’équilibre des électrolytes. En outre, les niveaux de circulation de l’aldostérone stimulent la libération de l’hormone antidiurétique, ou ADH, par l’hypothalamus dans le cerveau.

En atteignant les reins, l’ADH régule à la hausse les canaux aquaporines dans les néphrons qui augmentent la rétention d’eau dans les vaisseaux sanguins. Les effets combinés de l’ADH et de l’aldostérone entraînent une augmentation systémique de la pression artérielle.

La tension artérielle élevée, ou hypertension, et l’insuffisance cardiaque sont souvent traitées à l’aide d’inhibiteurs de l’ACE. Ces médicaments empêchent la formation de l’angiotensine II. Cela permet aux vaisseaux sanguins de se détendre, diminuant la pression artérielle qui à son tour réduit la charge de travail du cœur.

Le système de rénine-angiotensine-aldostérone joue un rôle important pendant la grossesse où le flux sanguin et l’équilibre en sel utéro-placentaires doivent être maintenus. Pendant la grossesse, l’hormone œstrogène stimule la synthèse de l’angiotensinogène dans le foie. La rénine, l’angiotensine I et II présentent toutes des augmentations progressives au cours de la grossesse. Chez certaines femmes, cette activation élevée du système rénine-angiotensine-aldostérone entraîne l’hypertension et la pré-éclampsie ; si elle n’est pas correctement gérée, c’est une source importante de mortalité maternelle.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

23.4: Hormonal Regulation
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

23.4: Hormonal Regulation

The renin-aldosterone system is an endocrine system which guides the renal absorption of water and electrolytes, thus managing blood pressure and osmoregulation. Activation of the system begins in the kidneys with a small cluster of cells adjacent to the afferent and efferent blood vessels of the renal corpuscle. As the nephrons are filtering blood, juxtaglomerular cells monitor blood pressure. If they detect a decrease in pressure, they release the hormone renin into the bloodstream.

Circulating renin interacts with angiotensinogen, a precursor protein synthesized by the liver, to create angiotensin I. A final step cleaves angiotensin I into angiotensin II, a process achieved by angiotensin-converting enzyme, or ACE, which is released by the lungs.

Angiotensin II temporarily increases blood pressure by contracting smaller blood vessels. It also induces the release of aldosterone from the adrenal cortex of the kidneys. Aldosterone directly stimulates the reabsorption of sodium and the excretion of potassium by the kidneys to maintain electrolyte balance. Moreover, circulating levels of aldosterone stimulate the release of antidiuretic hormone, or ADH, by the hypothalamus in the brain.

Upon reaching the kidneys, ADH upregulates aquaporin channels in the nephrons which increase the water retention in the blood vessels. The combined effects of ADH and aldosterone result in a systemic increase in blood pressure.

High blood pressure, or hypertension, and heart failure are often treated using ACE inhibitors. These drugs prevent the formation of angiotensin II. This lets the blood vessels relax, decreasing blood pressure which in turn reduces the workload of the heart.

The renin-angiotensin-aldosterone system plays an important role during pregnancy where uteroplacental blood flow and salt balance needs to be maintained. During pregnancy, the hormone estrogen stimulates the synthesis of angiotensinogen in the liver. Renin, angiotensin I and II all show progressive increases over the course of pregnancy. In some women, this elevated activation of the renin-aldosterone system results in hypertension and preeclampsia; if not properly managed, a significant source of maternal mortality.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter