Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

25.6: Neurulation
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Neurulation
 
Cette voix off est générée par ordinateur
TRANSCRIPTION
* La traduction du texte est générée par ordinateur

25.6: Neurulation

La neurulation est le processus embryologique qui forme les précurseurs du système nerveux central et se produit après que la gastrulation a établi les trois couches cellulaires primaires de l’embryon : ectoderm, mésoderme, et endoderm. Chez l’homme, la majorité de ce système est formé par la névrulation primaire, dans laquelle la partie centrale de l’ectoderme, apparaissant à l’origine comme une feuille plate de cellules, se replie vers le haut et vers l’intérieur, scellant pour former un tube neural creux. Au fur et à mesure que le développement se poursuit, la partie antérieure du tube neural donnera naissance au cerveau, le reste formant la moelle épinière.

Neurulation et la crête neurale

La partie centrale de l’ectoderme qui se plie pour générer le tube neural est bien appelée l’ectoderme neuronal, tandis que les zones qui le flanquent, le long de la périphérie de l’embryon, sont l’ectoderme de surface. Cependant, à la jonction de l’ectoderme neural et de surface se trouve une autre population de cellules, appelée la crête neurale. Comme les plis neuronaux (les bords du tube neural élevé) commencent à apparaître, les cellules de crête neurale (NCC) peuvent être visualisées dans leurs extrémités par l’expression de marqueurs caractéristiques, comme le facteur de transcription Pax7. Au fur et à mesure que le développement avance et que les plis neuronaux fusionnent, les CCN peuvent être observés soit dans la partie la plus haute du tube neural, soit dans la migration le long des côtés de cette structure vers les régions inférieures de l’embryon. Pour migrer, les CCN déglementent des protéines adhésives spécifiques, ce qui leur permet de se détacher des autres cellules du tube neural. Fait important, les CCN voyagent à travers l’embryon, peuplent différentes régions pour générer une variété de types de tissus, y compris des éléments du système nerveux périphérique (comme les ganglions des intestins).

Neurulation primaire vs neurulation secondaire

Tandis que la neurulation primaire forme la plupart du système nerveux central chez l’homme, une petite zone de la moelle épinière postérieure résulte d’un processus distinct appelé neurulation secondaire. Dans cette région, plutôt que d’avoir trois feuilles de cellules distinctes, l’embryon contient un mélange de cellules vaguement emballées couvertes d’une fine couche d’ectoderme. Certaines de ces cellules « lâches » se condensent pour générer une structure semblable à une tige appelée le cordon médullaire ou neuronal. Ce cordon finit par se creuser, et fusionne avec le tube neural primaire plus antérieur, formant une structure continue. Bien que la néurulation secondaire joue un rôle relativement mineur dans la formation du système nerveux central humain, les défauts dans ce processus peuvent encore avoir des conséquences développementales, telles que certains types de spina bifida.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

25.6: Neurulation
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

25.6: Neurulation

Neurulation is the embryological process which forms the precursors of the central nervous system and occurs after gastrulation has established the three primary cell layers of the embryo: ectoderm, mesoderm, and endoderm. In humans, the majority of this system is formed via primary neurulation, in which the central portion of the ectoderm—originally appearing as a flat sheet of cells—folds upwards and inwards, sealing off to form a hollow neural tube. As development proceeds, the anterior portion of the neural tube will give rise to the brain, with the rest forming the spinal cord.

Neurulation and the Neural Crest

The central portion of the ectoderm that bends to generate the neural tube is aptly called the neural ectoderm, while the areas that flank it—along the periphery of the embryo—are the surface ectoderm. However, at the junction of the neural and surface ectoderm lies another population of cells, called the neural crest. As the neural folds (the edges of the elevating neural tube) begin to appear, neural crest cells (NCCs) can be visualized in their tips through the expression of characteristic markers, like the Pax7 transcription factor. As development proceeds and the neural folds fuse, NCCs can be observed either in the top-most portion of the neural tube or migrating along this structure’s sides towards lower regions of the embryo. To migrate, NCCs downregulate specific adhesive proteins, which allows them to detach from the other cells in the neural tube. Importantly, NCCs travel throughout the embryo, populating different regions to generate a variety of tissue types, including elements of the peripheral nervous system (like the ganglia of the intestines).

Primary vs. Secondary Neurulation

While primary neurulation forms most of the central nervous system in humans, a small area of the posterior spinal cord results from a distinct process called secondary neurulation. In this region, rather than having three distinct cell sheets, the embryo contains a mixture of loosely-packed cells covered by a thin layer of ectoderm. Some of these “loose” cells condense to generate a rod-like structure called the medullary or neural cord. This cord eventually hollows out, and merges with the more anterior primary neural tube, forming a continuous structure. Although secondary neurulation plays a relatively minor role in the formation of the human central nervous system, defects in this process can still have developmental consequences, such as certain types of spina bifida.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter