Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

34.5: Anatomie végétale basique : racines, tiges et feuilles
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Basic Plant Anatomy: Roots, Stems, and Leaves
 
TRANSCRIPTION

34.5: Anatomie végétale basique : racines, tiges et feuilles

Les organes primaires des plantes vasculaires sont les racines, les tiges et les feuilles, mais ces structures peuvent être très variables, adaptées aux besoins spécifiques et à l’environnement de différentes espèces végétales.

Les racines

Bien que les racines se trouvent le plus souvent sous terre, ce n’est pas universellement le cas. Les racines aériennes sont des racines qui émergent au-dessus du sol. Les plantes épiphytes, comme les orchidées, peuvent vivre toute leur vie sans toucher le sol. D’autres types de racines aériennes, comme celles du figuier étrangleur ou des banians, germent au-dessus du sol mais poussent vers le bas, pénétrant finalement le sol en dessous et semblant “ étrangler ” leur plante hôte.

Certaines plantes ont des racines qui sont adaptées pour fournir un soutien supplémentaire. Les racines contreforts sont l’une de ces modifications. Souvent trouvées sur les arbres qui poussent dans les zones tropicales où le sol est pauvre en nutriments, et il y a beaucoup d’eau disponible près de la surface provenant des précipitations, les racines contreforts fournissent un soutien structurel aux grands arbres avec des racines peu profondes. Les racines échasses sont un autre type de racine modifiée qui soutient les plantes hautes avec des racines peu profondes comme le maïs. Elles poussent comme des racines adventives — celles qui ne se développent pas à partir de la racine primaire — à partir des nœuds près du bas de la tige, atteignant le sol à un angle pour fournir un soutien structurel.

Les tiges

Les tiges végétales ont plusieurs fonctions. Il s’agit notamment de fournir la structure, le soutien des feuilles, des bourgeons et des fleurs. En outre, la tige aide à orienter les feuilles pour maximiser la photosynthèse. Les tiges sont composées de nœuds, des points où les feuilles et les branches s’attachent, et d’internœuds, les régions de tige entre les nœuds.

Le pétiole est une tige qui ancre chaque feuille au nœud.

Les feuilles

Les feuilles réalisent la majorité de la photosynthèse. Alors que les feuilles peuvent avoir une grande variété de formes et de tailles, les limbes sont souvent minces et aplaties pour maximiser la surface exposée à la lumière du soleil. La partie terminale de la feuille est appelée le limbe. Les feuilles simples ont un limbe par pétiole, tandis que les feuilles composées ont plusieurs limbes attachés à chaque pétiole. Certaines plantes, comme les graminées, n’ont pas de pétiole. Au lieu de cela, le limbe enveloppe directement une partie de la tige.

Racines, feuilles et tiges comme récipients de stockage

Les racines peuvent être modifiées pour le stockage des aliments. Les racines pivotantes comme les carottes et les betteraves sont agrandies pour conserver les amidons. Les tiges et les feuilles peuvent également être modifiées pour stocker les amidons ; les tubercules comme les pommes de terre sont en fait des tiges modifiées, même s’ils poussent sous terre. De plus, les oignons sont une feuille modifiée qui stocke l’amidon.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

34.5: Basic Plant Anatomy: Roots, Stems, and Leaves
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's JoVE Core collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

 
Start Free Trial
TRANSCRIPT

34.5: Basic Plant Anatomy: Roots, Stems, and Leaves

The primary organs of vascular plants are roots, stems, and leaves, but these structures can be highly variable, adapted for the specific needs and environment of different plant species.

Roots

While roots are most often found underground, this is not universally the case. Aerial roots are any roots that emerge aboveground. Epiphytic plants, such as orchids, can live their entire lives without touching soil. Other types of aerial roots, such as those of the strangler fig or banyan, germinate aboveground but grow downward, eventually penetrating the soil below and appearing to “strangle” their host plant.

Some plants have roots that are adapted to provide additional support. Buttress roots are one such modification. Often found on trees growing in tropical areas where the soil is nutrient-poor, and there is plenty of water available near the surface from rainfall, buttress roots provide structural support to large trees with shallow roots. Brace roots or prop roots are another type of modified root that supports tall, shallow-rooted plants such as corn. They grow as adventitious roots—those that do not develop from the primary root—from nodes near the bottom of the stem, reaching the ground at an angle to provide structural support.

Stems

Plant stems have several functions. These include providing structure, supporting the leaves, buds, and flowers. Additionally, the stem will aid in orienting the leaves to maximize photosynthesis. Stems are composed of nodes, points at which leaves and branches attach, and internodes, the regions of stem between the nodes.

The petiole is a stalk that anchors each leaf at the node.

Leaves

The leaves conduct the majority of photosynthesis. While leaves can come in a wide variety of shapes and sizes, the blades are often thin and flattened in shape to maximize the surface area exposed to sunlight. The terminal part of the leaf is called the blade, or lamina. Simple leaves have one blade per petiole, while compound leaves have multiple blades attached to each petiole. Some plants, such as grasses, lack a petiole. Instead, the blade directly envelops part of the stem.

Roots, Leaves, and Stems as Storage Vessels

Roots can be modified for food storage. Taproots such as carrots and beets are enlarged to store starches. Stems and leaves can also be modified to store starches - tubers such as potatoes are actually modified stems, even though they grow underground. Additionally, onions are a modified starch-storing leaf.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter