Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove
JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments
Encyclopedia of Experiments: Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Nematode Slide Preparation

 
Click here for the English version

Nematode Slide Preparation: Eine Methode, um Tiere auf einem Agar Pad zu mounten

Article

Transcript

Please note that all translations are automatically generated.

Click here for the English version.

- Legen Sie zunächst ein Mikroskop-Dia zwischen zwei anderen Dias mit Klebeband. Diese bieten Unterstützung und Abstandshalter für die Agarose-Pad-Vorbereitung. Als nächstes legen Sie einen Tropfen geschmolzene Agarose auf die Folie. Drücken Sie sofort auf sie mit einem anderen Dia.

Nachdem die Agarose verfestigt ist, trennen Sie die Dias sorgfältig, so dass die Agarose auf einem Dia bleibt. Verwenden Sie immer frisch gemachte Pads, da ausgetrocknete Pads die Tiere dehydrieren können. Stellen Sie sicher, dass es keine Risse oder Blasen gibt, die die Pad-Integrität stören können.

Als nächstes fügen Sie einen Tropfen Anästhetikum in das Pad-Center und übertragen Sie 10 bis 15 Tiere, so wenig Bakterien mit ihnen wie möglich. Überschüssige Bakterien könnten mit der Bildgebung stören. Wenn die Anästhesielösung austrocknet, fügen Sie einen zweiten Tropfen auf die Tiere.

Legen Sie vorsichtig einen Deckelschlupf über das Pad. Vermeiden Sie blasen oder setzen Sie ihn zu stark unter Druck, um eine Beschädigung der Tiere zu verhindern. Beschriften Sie schließlich den Dia, der für die Bildgebung bereit ist.

- Beginnen Sie mit der Vorbereitung von Dias für die Bildgebung. Legen Sie einen Tropfen geschmolzener Agarose auf ein Mikroskopschlitten und drücken Sie sofort den Tröpfchen mit einem anderen Mikroskopschlitten, der die Agarose sanft abflacht.

Dann trennen Sie vorsichtig die beiden Dias und lassen Sie das erstarrte Pad auf einem der Dias. Legen Sie das Dia auf die Mikroskopbühne und fügen Sie einen 5- bis 10-Mikroliter-Tropfen Anästhetikum in die Mitte des Agras-Pads.

Verwenden Sie einen wärmesterilisierten Pick, um schnell 10 bis 15 Tiere von der Stockplatte auf das Anästhetikum zu übertragen, bevor die Lösung austrocknet. Dann tragen Sie einen Deckelschlappe auf, indem Sie ihn direkt über dem Agarose-Pad positionieren und vorsichtig fallen lassen.

Read Article

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

You have temporary access through JoVE.
This access will expire on 09/30/2020 12:00am EST

Nematode Slide Preparation
 

Nematode Slide Preparation: A Method to Mount Animals on an Agar Pad

Article

Transcript

- First, place a microscope slide between two other slides with tape. These provide support and spacers for the agarose pad preparation. Next, place a drop of melted agarose onto the slide. Immediately press down on it with another slide.

After the agarose solidifies, carefully separate the slides so that the agarose remains on one slide. Always use freshly made pads as dried out pads can dehydrate the animals. Ensure there are no cracks or bubbles, which can disrupt pad integrity.

Next, add a drop of anesthetic to the pad center and transfer 10 to 15 animals to it, bringing as little bacteria with them as possible. Excess bacteria could interfere with imaging. If the anesthetic solution dries out, add a second drop onto the animals.

Gently place a coverslip over the pad. Avoid forming bubbles or placing too much pressure on it to prevent damaging the animals. Finally, label the slide, which is ready for imaging.

- Start by preparing slides for imaging. Place a drop of melted agarose onto a microscope slide and immediately press down the droplet with another microscope slide gently flattening the agarose Need the agarose to dry for one minute.

Then, carefully separate the two slides and leave the solidified pad on one of the slides. Place the slide on the microscope stage and add a 5- to 10-microliter drop of anesthetic to the center of the agras pad.

Use a heat sterilized pick to quickly transfer 10 to 15 animals from the stock plate to the anesthetic droplet before the solution dries out. Then, apply a coverslip by positioning it just above the agarose pad and gently dropping it down.

Read Article

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter