Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

8.4: Energiefreisetzende Schritte der Glykolyse
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Energy-releasing Steps of Glycolysis
 
PROTOKOLLE

8.4: Energiefreisetzende Schritte der Glykolyse

Während die erste Phase der Glykolyse Energie verbraucht, um Glucose in Glycerinaldehyd-3-Phosphat (GAP) umzuwandeln, produziert die zweite Phase Energie. Die Energie wird in eine Reihe von Reaktionen freigesetzt. Dabei wird GAP in Pyruvat umgewandelt. Die energiefreisetzende Phase (Schritte 6-10 der Glykolyse) erfolgt zweimal. Sie läuft nämlich für jeden der beiden 3-Kohlenstoffzucker ab, die während der Schritte 1-5 produziert worden sind.

Der erste energiefreisetzende Schritt (der 6. Schritt der Glykolyse) besteht aus zwei gleichzeitigen Ereignissen: Die Oxidation und Phosphorylierung von GAP. Der Elektronenträger NAD+ entfernt einen Wasserstoff aus GAP, oxidiert den 3-Kohlenstoffzucker und wandelt (reduziert) NAD+ in NADH und H+ um. Die freigesetzte Energie wird genutzt, um GAP zu phosphorylieren und in 1,3-Bisphosphoglycerat umzuwandeln.

Im nächsten Schritt wandelt 1,3-Bisphosphoglycerat ADP in ATP, durch die Abgabe einer Phosphatgruppe, um. Dabei wird 3-Phosphoglycerat gebildet. Das 3-Phosphoglycerat wird dann in ein Isomer, 2-Phosphoglycerat, umgewandelt.

Nachfolgend verliert 2-Phosphoglycerat ein Wassermolekül und wird zu dem instabilen Molekül 2-Phosphoenolpyruvat oder PEP. PEP gibt seine Phosphatgruppe leicht an ADP ab, wandelt es in ein zweites ATP-Molekül um, wobei Pyruvat gebildet wird.

In der Energiefreisetzungsphase werden pro umgewandelten Zucker zwei Moleküle ATP und ein Molekül NADH freigesetzt. Da während der energieverbrauchenden Phase der Glykolyse zwei 3-Kohlenstoff-Zucker produziert wurden, findet dies doppelt statt. Es werden also vier ATP-Moleküle und zwei NADH-Moleküle freigesetzt. So ergibt die Glykolyse für jedes Glukosemolekül eine Nettoproduktion von zwei ATP-Molekülen (4 produziert minus 2 verbraucht, während der energieaufwendigen Phase) und zwei NADH-Molekülen.

Glykolyse produziert zwei 3-Kohlenstoff-Pyruvat-Moleküle aus einem 6-Kohlenstoff-Glucosemolekül. In Gegenwart von Sauerstoff kann Pyruvat im Krebszyklus in Kohlenstoffdioxid zerlegt werden, wobei viele ATP-Moleküle freigesetzt werden. NADH sammelt sich in der Zelle an, wo es wieder in NAD+ umgewandelt werden kann und für weitere Kreislaufe der Glykolyse verwendet werden kann.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

8.4: Energy-releasing Steps of Glycolysis
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's JoVE Core collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

 
TRANSCRIPT

8.4: Energy-releasing Steps of Glycolysis

While the first phase of glycolysis consumes energy to convert glucose to glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate (G3P), the second phase produces energy. The energy is released over a sequence of reactions that turns G3P into pyruvate. The energy-releasing phase—steps 6-10 of glycolysis—occurs twice, once for each of the two 3-carbon sugars produced during steps 1-5.

The first energy-releasing step—considered the 6th step of glycolysis overall—consists of two concurrent events: oxidation and phosphorylation of G3P. The electron carrier NAD+ removes one hydrogen from G3P, oxidizing the 3-carbon sugar and converting (reducing) NAD+ to form NADH and H+. The released energy is used to phosphorylate G3P, turning it into 1,3-bisphosphoglycerate.

In the next step, 1,3-bisphosphoglycerate converts ADP to ATP by donating a phosphate group, thereby becoming 3-phosphoglycerate. The 3-phosphoglycerate is then converted into an isomer, 2-phosphoglycerate.

Subsequently, 2-phosphoglycerate loses a water molecule, becoming the unstable molecule 2-phosphoenolpyruvate, or PEP. PEP easily loses its phosphate group to ADP, converting it into a second ATP molecule and becoming pyruvate in the process.

The energy-releasing phase releases two molecules of ATP and one molecule of NADH per converted sugar. Because it occurs twice—for each 3-carbon sugar produced in the energy-requiring phase of glycolysis—four ATP molecules and two NADH molecules are released. Thus, for each glucose molecule, glycolysis results in a net production of two ATP molecules (4 produced minus 2 used during the energy-requiring phase) and two NADH molecules.

Glycolysis produces two 3-carbon pyruvate molecules from one 6-carbon glucose molecule. In the presence of oxygen, pyruvate can be broken down into carbon dioxide in the Krebs cycle, releasing many ATP molecules. NADH amasses in the cell, where it can be converted back into NAD+ and used for further glycolysis.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter