Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

11.4: Crossing Over
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Crossing Over
 
Cette voix off est générée par ordinateur
TRANSCRIPTION
* La traduction du texte est générée par ordinateur

11.4: Crossing Over

Contrairement à la mitose, la méiose vise la diversité génétique dans sa création de gamètes haploïdes. La division des cellules germinales commence d’abord ce processus dans la propagande I, où chaque chromosome — répliqué en phase S — est maintenant composé de deux chromatides sœurs (copies identiques) jointes au niveau central.

Les paires homologues de chromosomes sœurs , l’un de la mère et l’autre du génome paternel , commencent alors à s’aligner les unes sur les autres dans le sens de la longueur, correspondant aux positions correspondantes de l’ADN dans un processus appelé synapsis.

Afin de maintenir les homologues ensemble, un complexe protéique — le complexe synaptonemique — se forme. Le complexe synaptonemal facilite l’échange de morceaux aléatoires d’ADN correspondants entre les chromatides non-soeurs, produisant de nouvelles combinaisons d’allèles par la recombinaison homologue.

Comme le complexe synaptonemal commence à se dissoudre, les structures en forme de X maintiennent les chromosomes homologues ensemble jusqu’à ce que la recombinaison soit terminée. Les structures, appelées chiasmata, marquent les zones où se produisent le croisement de l’information génétique.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

11.4: Crossing Over
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

11.4: Crossing Over

Unlike mitosis, meiosis aims for genetic diversity in its creation of haploid gametes. Dividing germ cells first begin this process in prophase I, where each chromosome—replicated in S phase—is now composed of two sister chromatids (identical copies) joined centrally.

The homologous pairs of sister chromosomes—one from the maternal and one from the paternal genome—then begin to align alongside each other lengthwise, matching corresponding DNA positions in a process called synapsis.

In order to hold the homologs together, a protein complex—the synaptonemal complex—forms. The synaptonemal complex facilitates the exchange of corresponding random pieces of DNA between non-sister chromatids, yielding new combinations of alleles via homologous recombination.

As the synaptonemal complex begins to dissolve, X-shaped structures hold the homologous chromosomes together until recombination is completed. The structures—called chiasmata—mark the areas where crossover of genetic information occurred.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter