Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

11.4: Crossing Over
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's JoVE Core collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

 

PROTOKOLLE

11.4: Crossing Over

Im Gegensatz zur Mitose hat die Meiose die Vervielfältigung der genetischen Diversität bei der Bildung haploider Keimzellen als Ziel. Sich teilende Keimzellen beginnen diesen Prozess zuerst in der Prophase I. Dort besteht jedes Chromosom, das in der S-Phase repliziert wird, nun aus zwei Schwesterchromatiden (identische Kopien), die zentral miteinander verbunden sind.

Die homologen Paare von Schwesterchromosomen eines vom mütterlichen und eines vom väterlichen Genoms beginnen dann, sich der Länge nach nebeneinander auszurichten. Dabei werden die entsprechenden DNA-Positionen in einem Prozess namens Synapsis übereinandergelegt.

Um die Homologe zu halten, bildet sich ein Proteinkomplex. Diesen bezeichnet man als synaptonemalen Komplex. Der synaptonemale Komplex erleichtert den Austausch von entsprechenden zufälligen DNA-Stücken zwischen Nicht-Schwester-Chromatiden, wodurch neue Allelkombinationen über homologe Rekombinationen entstehen.

Wenn der synaptonemale Komplex sich aufzulösen beginnt, halten X-förmige Strukturen die homologen Chromosomen zusammen, bis die Rekombination abgeschlossen ist. Die Strukturen markieren die Bereiche, in denen es zu einer Kreuzung der genetischen Information kam. Man bezeichnet sie als Chiasmat


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

11.4: Crossing Over
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

11.4: Crossing Over

Unlike mitosis, meiosis aims for genetic diversity in its creation of haploid gametes. Dividing germ cells first begin this process in prophase I, where each chromosome—replicated in S phase—is now composed of two sister chromatids (identical copies) joined centrally.

The homologous pairs of sister chromosomes—one from the maternal and one from the paternal genome—then begin to align alongside each other lengthwise, matching corresponding DNA positions in a process called synapsis.

In order to hold the homologs together, a protein complex—the synaptonemal complex—forms. The synaptonemal complex facilitates the exchange of corresponding random pieces of DNA between non-sister chromatids, yielding new combinations of alleles via homologous recombination.

As the synaptonemal complex begins to dissolve, X-shaped structures hold the homologous chromosomes together until recombination is completed. The structures—called chiasmata—mark the areas where crossover of genetic information occurred.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter