Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

21.1: Qu'est-ce que le système endocrinien ?
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
What is the Endocrine System?
 
TRANSCRIPTION

21.1: Qu'est-ce que le système endocrinien ?

Le système endocrinien envoie des hormones — signaux chimiques — à travers la circulation sanguine pour cibler des cellules, celles que les hormones impactent sélectivement. Ces signaux sont produits dans les cellules endocriniennes, sécrétés dans le liquide extracellulaire, puis se diffusent dans le sang. Finalement, ils se diffusent hors du sang et se lient aux cellules cibles qui ont des récepteurs spécialisés pour reconnaître les hormones.

Des voies alternatives

Alors que la plupart des hormones se propagent par le biais du système circulatoire pour atteindre leurs cellules cibles, il existe également d’autres voies pour apporter des hormones aux cellules cibles. La signalisation paracrine envoie des hormones hors de la cellule endocrinienne et dans le liquide extracellulaire où elles impactent les cellules locales. Sous forme de signalisation paracrine, appelée signalisation autocrine, les hormones sécrétées dans le liquide extracellulaire impactent la cellule qui les a sécrétées.

Un autre type de signalisation, la signalisation synaptique, implique la libération de neurotransmetteurs des terminaux neuronaux dans la synapse — une jonction spécialisée qui transmet l’information entre les neurones — où ils se lient aux récepteurs sur les neurones, les cellules musculaires et les glandes à proximité. Dans la signalisation neuroendocrine, les cellules neurosécrétrices sécrètent des neurohormones qui circulent dans le sang pour impacter les cellules cibles. Globalement, la signalisation endocrinienne a un effet plus lent que d’autres types de signalisation car il faut plus de temps pour que les hormones atteignent les cellules cibles, mais les effets durent aussi généralement plus longtemps.

La libération d’hormones

Les hormones se diffusent directement dans le liquide extracellulaire entourant les glandes endocriniennes parce qu’elles n’ont pas de conduits. En comparaison, les glandes exocrines, comme la glande salivaire, ont des conduits qui sécrètent une dose ciblée directement sur une surface ou dans une cavité. En plus de se trouver dans les glandes endocriniennes spécialisées, les cellules endocriniennes peuvent également être localisées dans des organes comme l’estomac, parmi des cellules ayant des fonctions différentes.

Les cellules cibles

Une hormone a des cellules cibles spécifiques qui ont des récepteurs qui reconnaissent l’hormone. On peut penser à une serrure et une clé, où les récepteurs sur une cellule cible sont la serrure et ils ne reconnaîtront que l’hormone, la clé, qui lui convient. Les cellules cibles peuvent être très proches des cellules endocriniennes qui produisent l’hormone ou très loin, mais doivent être transportées par la circulation sanguine. Par exemple, les cellules entéro-endocrines de l’estomac et de l’intestin grêle libèrent des hormones qui peuvent modifier la sécrétion d’acide gastrique par les cellules de l’estomac. D’autre part, les hormones libérées par l’hypophyse située à la base du cerveau peuvent affecter la production d’urine en agissant sur les cellules rénales.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

21.1: What is the Endocrine System?
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

21.1: What is the Endocrine System?

The endocrine system sends hormones—chemical signals—through the bloodstream to target cells—the cells the hormones selectively affect. These signals are produced in endocrine cells, secreted into the extracellular fluid, and then diffuse into the blood. Eventually, they diffuse out of the blood and bind to target cells which have specialized receptors to recognize the hormones.

Alternate Routes

While most hormones travel through the circulatory system to reach their target cells, there are also alternate routes to bring hormones to target cells. Paracrine signaling sends hormones out of the endocrine cell and into the extracellular fluid where they affect local cells. In a form of paracrine signaling, called autocrine signaling, hormones secreted into the extracellular fluid affect the cell that secreted them.

Another type of signaling, synaptic signaling, involves the release of neurotransmitters from neuron terminals into the synapse—a specialized junction that relays information between neurons—where they bind to receptors on neighboring neurons, muscle cells, and glands. In neuroendocrine signaling, neurosecretory cells secrete neurohormones that travel through the blood to affect target cells. Overall, endocrine signaling has a slower effect than other types of signaling because it takes longer for hormones to reach the target cells, but the effects typically also last longer.

Hormone Release

Hormones directly diffuse into the extracellular fluid surrounding the endocrine glands because they have no ducts. In comparison, exocrine glands, like the salivary gland, have ducts that secrete a targeted dose directly onto a surface or into a cavity. In addition to being found in specialized endocrine glands, endocrine cells can also be located in organs like the stomach, among cells with different functions.

Target Cells

A hormone has specific target cells that have receptors that recognize the hormone. It can be thought of like a lock and key where the receptors on a target cell are the lock and will only recognize the hormone, the key, that fits it. Target cells can be very close to the endocrine cells that produce the hormone or very far away but must be transported through the bloodstream. For instance, enteroendocrine cells in the stomach and small intestine release hormones that can alter gastric acid secretion by stomach cells. On the other hand, hormones released by the pituitary gland located at the base of the brain can affect urine production by acting on kidney cells.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter