Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

21.2: Arten von Hormonen
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Types of Hormones
 
PROTOKOLLE

21.2: Arten von Hormonen

Hormone können aufgrund ihrer chemischen Struktur in drei Haupttypen eingeteilt werden. Dabei handelt es sich um Steroide, Peptide und Aminosäurederivate. Ihre Wirkung wird durch spezifische Rezeptoren der Zielzellen, an die sie binden, gesteuert.

Steroidhormone werden von Cholesterin abgeleitet und sind lipophiler Natur. Dadurch können sie die lipidreiche Zellmembran leicht durchqueren, um ihre intrazellulären Rezeptoren im Zytoplasma oder Nukleus zu binden. Einmal gebunden, wird der zytoplasmische Hormon-Rezeptor-Komplex in den Nukleus translokiert, wo regulatorische Sequenzen der DNA bindet, um die Genexpression zu verändern.

Peptidhormone bestehen aus Ketten von Aminosäuren und sind daher hydrophil. Sie können deshalb nicht durch die Zellmembran diffundieren. Stattdessen binden sie an extrazelluläre Rezeptoren, die an der Oberfläche der Zielzellen vorhanden sind. Diese Bindung löst eine Reihe von Signalübertragungen innerhalb der Zelle aus, um letztendlich die spezifischen Funktionen des Hormons auszuführen.

Die Aminosäurederivate werden von einer einzigen Aminosäure, entweder Tyrosin oder Tryptophan, abgeleitet. Diese Klasse von Hormonen ist einzigartig, da ihr Wirkungsmechanismus dem der Steroidhormone sowie der Peptidhormonen entspricht. Obwohl beispielsweise Adrenalin (Epinephrin) und Thyroxin beide von der Aminosäure Tyrosin stammen, vermitteln sie ihre Wirkung durch verschiedene Mechanismen. Epinephrin bindet G-Protein-gekoppelte Rezeptoren an der Oberfläche der Plasmamembran, was eine Signalkaskade in Gang setzt, die im Zytoplasma Botenstoffe aktiviert, die eine zellspezifische Reaktion hervorrufen.

Im Gegensatz dazu wird das Schilddrüsenhormon Thyroxin (T4) in seine aktive Form Trijodthyronin (T3) umgewandelt und durch die Plasmamembran transportiert. Innerhalb der Zelle liegen die Schilddrüsenhormonrezeptoren in einem Komplex mit der Zellkern-DNA vor. Das Schilddrüsenhormon bindet dann diesen Hormon-DNA-Komplex, um die Genexpression zu verändern.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

21.2: Types of Hormones
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

JoVE Core
Biology
Education
Types of Hormones
 

TRANSCRIPT

21.2: Types of Hormones

Hormones can be classified into three main types based on their chemical structures: steroids, peptides, and amines. Their actions are mediated by the specific receptors they bind to on target cells.

Steroid hormones are derived from cholesterol and are lipophilic in nature. This allows them to readily traverse the lipid-rich cell membrane to bind to their intracellular receptors in the cytoplasm or nucleus. Once bound, the cytoplasmic hormone-receptor complex translocates to the nucleus. Here, it binds to regulatory sequences on the DNA to alter gene expression.

Peptide hormones are made up of chains of amino acids and are hydrophilic. Hence, they are unable to diffuse across the cell membrane. Instead, they bind to extracellular receptors present on the surface of target cells. Such binding triggers a series of signaling reactions within the cell to ultimately carry out the specific functions of the hormone.

Amine hormones are derived from a single amino acid, either tyrosine or tryptophan. This class of hormones is unique because they share their mechanism of action with both steroid as well as peptide hormones. For example, although epinephrine and thyroxine are both derived from the amino acid tyrosine, they mediate their effects through diverse mechanisms. Epinephrine binds to G-protein coupled receptors present on the surface of the plasma membrane, which initiates a signaling cascade that activates second messengers in the cytoplasm to produce a cell-specific response.

In contrast, the thyroid hormone thyroxine (T4) is converted to its active form triiodothyronine (T3) and transported across the plasma membrane. Within the cell, thyroid hormone receptors are present in a complex with nuclear DNA. The thyroid hormone binds to this hormone-DNA complex to alter gene expression.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter