Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

21.2: Types d'hormones
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Types of Hormones
 
TRANSCRIPTION

21.2: Types d'hormones

Les hormones peuvent être classées en trois types principaux en fonction de leurs structures chimiques: les stéroïdes, les peptides et les amines. Leurs actions sont arbitrées par les récepteurs spécifiques auxquels elles se lient sur les cellules cibles.

Les hormones stéroïdes sont dérivées du cholestérol et sont de nature lipophile. Cela leur permet de traverser facilement la membrane cellulaire riche en lipides pour se lier à leurs récepteurs intracellulaires dans le cytoplasme ou le noyau. Une fois lié, le complexe cytoplasmique hormone-récepteur migre vers le noyau. Là, il se lie à des séquences régulatoires sur l’ADN pour modifier l’expression des gènes.

Les hormones peptidiques sont composées de chaînes d’acides aminés et sont hydrophiles. Par conséquent, elles sont incapables de se diffuser à travers la membrane cellulaire. Au lieu de cela, elles se lient aux récepteurs extracellulaires présents à la surface des cellules cibles. Une telle liaison déclenche une série de réactions de signalisation dans la cellule pour finalement effectuer les fonctions spécifiques de l’hormone.

Les hormones amines sont dérivées d’un seul acide aminé, soit la tyrosine soit le tryptophane. Cette classe d’hormones est unique parce qu’elles partagent leur mécanisme d’action avec les stéroïdes ainsi que les hormones peptidiques. Par exemple, bien que l’adrénaline et la thyroxine soient toutes deux dérivées de l’acide aminé tyrosine, elles interviennent par le biais de divers mécanismes. L’adrénaline se lie aux récepteurs couplés à la protéine G présents à la surface de la membrane plasmique, ce qui déclenche une cascade de signalisation qui active les seconds messagers dans le cytoplasme pour produire une réponse spécifique à la cellule.

En revanche, l’hormone thyroïdienne thyroxine (T4) est convertie en sa forme active triiodothyronine (T3) et transportée de l’autre côté de la membrane plasmique. Dans la cellule, les récepteurs d’hormone thyroïdienne sont présents dans un complexe avec l’ADN nucléaire. L’hormone thyroïdienne se lie à ce complexe d’hormone-ADN pour modifier l’expression des gènes.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

21.2: Types of Hormones
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

JoVE Core
Biology
Education
Types of Hormones
 

TRANSCRIPT

21.2: Types of Hormones

Hormones can be classified into three main types based on their chemical structures: steroids, peptides, and amines. Their actions are mediated by the specific receptors they bind to on target cells.

Steroid hormones are derived from cholesterol and are lipophilic in nature. This allows them to readily traverse the lipid-rich cell membrane to bind to their intracellular receptors in the cytoplasm or nucleus. Once bound, the cytoplasmic hormone-receptor complex translocates to the nucleus. Here, it binds to regulatory sequences on the DNA to alter gene expression.

Peptide hormones are made up of chains of amino acids and are hydrophilic. Hence, they are unable to diffuse across the cell membrane. Instead, they bind to extracellular receptors present on the surface of target cells. Such binding triggers a series of signaling reactions within the cell to ultimately carry out the specific functions of the hormone.

Amine hormones are derived from a single amino acid, either tyrosine or tryptophan. This class of hormones is unique because they share their mechanism of action with both steroid as well as peptide hormones. For example, although epinephrine and thyroxine are both derived from the amino acid tyrosine, they mediate their effects through diverse mechanisms. Epinephrine binds to G-protein coupled receptors present on the surface of the plasma membrane, which initiates a signaling cascade that activates second messengers in the cytoplasm to produce a cell-specific response.

In contrast, the thyroid hormone thyroxine (T4) is converted to its active form triiodothyronine (T3) and transported across the plasma membrane. Within the cell, thyroid hormone receptors are present in a complex with nuclear DNA. The thyroid hormone binds to this hormone-DNA complex to alter gene expression.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter