SCIENCE EDUCATION > Basic Biology

常用的实验室技术

本系列展示了如何在许多实验中使用标准的实验室设备。

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    07:51
    离心机的介绍

    离心机是一种在全球几乎所有研究实验室都使用的仪器。离心是指使用离心机来分离复杂混合物组分的过程。在很高速度下离心实验样品,混合物中的组分会受到离心力的影响,使得较高密度的颗粒离开轴心方向移动,而密度小的颗粒则朝向轴心方向移动。这些颗粒会沉积在管底,形成所谓的沉淀物,分离得到的剩余上清,可用作进一步处理或者分析。

    本短片将给学生介绍一些离心的基本原理以及仪器的基本操作。例如,用于衡量离心级数的离心速度RPM,即每分钟的旋转次数,相对离心力RCF不同,后者与转头大小无关。除了概念和基本应用,这里还将讨论与离心有关的安全防护,以及现有的离心种类和离心转头。

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    08:06
    实验室中的温度控制:冷却保存样品

    低温保存实验室样品,样本和试剂在生物医学研究实验室中会经常用到。本短片将讨论让实验室样品保持冷却的一些方法,还将阐明针对每个实验要求选择使用正确的冷却方法。例如,冰和干冰这一类冷却试剂,通常用来在实验过程中保持样品冷却。本视频讨论了最常用的冷却试剂的物理属性,以及操作使用它们时要注意的安全事项。若要在不同实验之间保存样品冷却,则需用到制冷仪器,包括实验室级别的冰箱和冻箱来对样品做长时间的保存。本视频还讨论了可用目前常用实验室制冷仪器存储的样品和试剂的类型。最后还介绍了超低温保存的概念,它是将组织,细胞和生物分子冷却到0度以下的过程,可有效终止所有降解样品的生物学反应。这里讨论了几种可以尽量减小或避免形成能造成损伤的冰晶的超低温保存方法。

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    08:34
    光学显微镜的介绍

    光学显微镜是一种被研究人员在许多领域使用,用来放大观察样品的仪器,可将样品放大到原来大小的1000倍。最简单的光学显微镜包含一个用来放大样品的干净镜头和一个照射样品的光源。但大多数光学显微镜都要更复杂,在显微镜内部和其物镜目镜里,还包含了很多严格控制了尺寸大小的高精度镜头。本短片将描述光学显微镜的主要组件,并详细讲解它们的应用和功能。还会介绍放大、聚焦以及分辨率这些基本原理。基本的光学显微镜操作,要先将光源照射在样品上,并保证光源的强度、方向及形状合适,这样才能产生最佳质量的图像。然后需要将样品合适地放大并聚焦,来观察感兴趣的区域。光学显微镜有很多实际的应用,包括观察染色或者未染色的细胞或组织,仔细研究样品的微小细节,甚至可以在手术过程中放大感兴趣的区域以帮助在微米级别上的复杂操作。

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    09:21
    荧光显微镜技术的介绍

    荧光显微镜技术是一个强大的分析工具,它结合了光学显微镜的放大属性和荧光的可见属性。荧光现象中被称为荧光集团的荧光分子吸收或者释放小范围内的光波。荧光显微镜是在基本光学显微镜的基础上,加入了强力光源、特殊的滤光片、以及使用了荧光标记的样品。本短片讲述了荧光显微镜的基本原理,包括荧光形成的机制:斯托克丝位移和光漂白。视频还给出了多种荧光标记的方法,例如使用荧光标记的抗体或者蛋白质、核酸荧光染料、以及向样品中加入可以自然发出荧光的蛋白质;荧光显微镜中的主要组件包括氙光灯源或者水银灯源、滤光灯片、分色镜、以及使用光栅来照射样品,都将被描述。最后还演示了荧光显微镜的许多应用中的一些例子。

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    09:26
    制备组织学样品用于光学显微镜技术

    组织学是指对细胞和组织的研究,它通常需要借助于光学显微镜。根据样品本身属性如大小,硬度以及处理后使用的染色技术和下游应用的不同,制备组织学样品的过程也会有很大不同。如本视频中介绍的,样品的制备通常是从固定步骤开始,用以防止濒临死亡细胞所释放出的酶对样品的降解。固定后,样品会被置于包埋试剂来使样品完全被支撑起来。最常用的是石蜡,但是其他的一些试剂,例如含甘油的冷冻试剂和琼脂也可以在切片的时候用于包埋样品。然后在切片机或其他切片仪器中将样品切割成厚度为几微米到几毫米的薄片。切片之后,薄片会被固定在载玻片上,根据需要进行染色以获得特定的标记,而后在显微镜下成像。

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    07:37
    分光光度计的介绍

    分光光度计是一种在科学研究中经常会用到的仪器。它用来定量测量分光光度计中穿过样品的光线有多少被化学物质吸收。本短片将回顾分光光度计的基本概念,包括透射率,吸光度和比尔-朗伯定律,还将讲述分光光度计的组成部分。这些概念是利用溶液对紫外或可见光的吸收来确定溶质在溶液中的浓度的基础。然后演示了操作分光光度计的一个过程,包括如何在特定的波长条件下对样品的吸收度进行调零和测量。本视频还讲述了如何制作标准曲线来测定分析物的浓度。还讨论了分光光度计在生物学研究中的一些应用。最后介绍了微量分光光度计及它在测量蛋白和核酸样品浓度和纯度中的优势。

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    07:59
    实验室中的称重操作

    分析天平是科研实验室中一种常见的设备。这些高度精确的仪器能够测量到万分之一克甚至十万分之一克。三梁式天平使用三梁上的平衡物来平衡托盘中的样品。而现代的分析天平使用复杂的电子传感器系统来准确地称量物质的重量。分析天平非常敏感,所以通常会有一个防风罩来防止气流对称量的干扰。称量时会使用称量船皿或者称量纸来盛装物质并保护称量盘。在称量物质之前,将称量船皿或称量纸放到托盘中然后重新调零。调零是指将天平指针调回读零的状态,这样就可准确称量物质。除了化学物质之外,分析天平还可以称量动物和昆虫,以及在超离心实验中的离心管。

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    07:06
    超净工作台的介绍

    超净工作台是一类常用设备,为多种不同实验室实验提供保护性的封闭空间。它们能够将样品同环境隔离开来,或者保护工作人员不受到有毒害或传染性样品的伤害。超净工作台这一术语包括层流工作台、通风橱、以及组织培养工作台或者生物安全柜。所有的超净工作台都用到了层流的原理并具有相同的基本组件,包括一个窗户框和玻璃保护隔层,一个无孔的工作台面,和一个进气排气装置。一般根据实验工作的类型来选择超净工作台的种类。例如,通风橱通常用来保护使用者,而非实验环境。与此相反,层流洁净工作台是用来保护实验本身,而非使用者,所以在实验样品无危害时,能够用它来保持实验样品无菌。如果使用者和实验样品需要同时被保护,那么就需要使用组织培养工作台或者生物安全柜。组织培养工作台能够保证细胞系的无菌操作,而生物安全柜则在使用侵染性试剂的时候提供全程性保护。一旦为实验选择了合适的工作台,使用者应当佩戴合适的保护性装备,并且遵循所有必须的安全流程。本短片将讨论层流原理、如何使用超净工作台、以及在不同类型的超净工作台应该采用何种操作

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    07:03
    本生喷灯的介绍

    本生喷灯,是由罗伯特本生于1854年设计发明并以之命名,它是一种常用的实验室仪器,能够产生一种炽热,无烟、不发光的火焰。本生喷灯允许在燃烧之前精确地调节天然气和氧气在中心管内的配比,以供给燃烧需要。通过调节本生喷灯,可以控制火焰的大小和温度。在本生喷灯的几种用途中,它的火焰产生的热量可以产生一种对流循环气流,即在火焰上方产生的热气流会带走下方冷空气中的微粒子,从而保持工作环境是无菌的。使用开放式的火焰要格外小心,在点燃本生喷灯之前一定要记住保护好松散的头发、衣服或者附属物,并有合适的安全设备在附近,例如一个灭火器或者一个消防毯。想要安全和有把握地使用本生喷灯,就要花些时间来理解如何使用它以及要配备什么样的安全设施。

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    06:34
    移液吸管和移液器的介绍

    移液吸管在实验室常被用来转移毫升体积量的液体,从最少1毫升到最多50毫升。吸管可以是无菌塑料的一次性使用,也可是能高压灭菌玻璃的重复使用。这两种吸管都要用到移液器来吸取和排出液体。同一个移液器在不同的实验中会用到不同大小的吸管。例如,移液吸管对于混合化学溶液或细胞悬浮液,在不同容器中转移液体,或对试剂做不同密度的铺板等都非常重要。只要仔细地留意吸取和排出液体的体积,移液吸管就会成为实验室用来准确转移毫升量体积的液体的有用工具。

    本视频讨论了在移液吸管上读取体积的方法,如何操作吸管辅助器,和使用移液吸管的一些不同应用。

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    09:14
    微量移液器的介绍

    微量移液器是一种用来转移微量液体溶液的常用实验室仪器。微量移液器有一个使用范围,需要使用三种不同大小的一次性枪头中的一种,来准确转移0.5微升到5000微升的体积。微量移液器的工作原理是排除移液器腔里面的空气,用产生的真空来吸取一定量体积的溶液。它们可用于转移细胞重悬液来做不同的细胞实验,在不同的分析检测中上样样品,以及机械破碎组织来产生单细胞悬浮液。微量移液器是极为有用的实验室工具,并且使用方便,只需简单的指导和训练。

    本短片中,JoVE为初学者介绍在实验室中使用微量移液器所有的技巧,窍门和细节

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    07:26
    在实验室制备溶液

    成功制备溶液是几乎所有生物和化学实验都要用到的一种基本实验室技能。溶液是将溶质溶解于称为溶质的大量液体中形成的一种均一混合物。溶液可以使用溶质的浓度来描述,即在单位体积溶液内含有多少的溶质。

    本短片将讲解为生物学实验制备一种水溶液或含水的溶液的逐步过程。视频中还将讨论如何计算和测量一定体积溶液中所需要的溶质的量。还将演示将溶质溶于纯净水和调整溶液pH值的方法。也将阐述如何进行足量溶解达到所需的体积,期间要注意液面的半月形问题;之后还要讨论溶液的灭菌问题。制备溶液的应用通过演示几种生物学常用的溶液的配制。例如磷酸盐缓冲液以及他们在生物学研究当中的应用。这些溶液实际上是缓冲液,能够模仿生理pH和细胞间液中的渗透压。

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    08:50
    了解浓度和测量体积

    几乎所有的生物研究应用都会不同程度地用到溶液。因此,了解如何测量和操作它们对任何实验都极为重要。本短片将介绍制备溶液的一些概念。溶液是溶质溶解于溶剂之后,形成的一种均一的分子物质混合物。溶液通常以它们的成分和相应的浓度命名。高浓度的溶液可以通过不同方法来稀释,如连续稀释。本短片还为精确制备溶液打下基础。比如,视频将介绍如何使用合适的测量体积的容器来精确测量体积以及当遇到半月形液面时如何读取体积的数值,然后演示一些测量体积的应用。凝胶电泳是一种常用的实验室操作,其中需要配制重量体积比的溶液以及平行稀释高浓度的母液。短片还将阐述使用连续稀释的方法来准备标准品来获得蛋白定量的标准曲线。

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    07:50
    酶标仪的介绍

    酶标仪是一种可用于同时进行和测量多种实验的多模式仪器。酶标仪可以测量光吸收、物理荧光和化学荧光。多孔板和酶标仪的配合使用可使得一次同时完成多个实验。无论进行哪种类型的分析,使用酶标仪的实验都是通过一个标准曲线来得出实验数据。这个曲线是根据一系列已知浓度的样品来建立一个最佳的吻合线或标准曲线。然后根据标准曲线来推断实验数据或者根据线性回归得到的公式来计算数据。在多孔板上除了标准样品和实验样品,还有空白对照、正对照和负对照。它们是用来保证分析过程的正确。酶标仪可用来定量蛋白质、基因表达以及不同的代谢过程,例如活性氧类和钙流动。

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    08:28
    在实验室控制温度:加热

    尽管很多实验分析都是在常温下进行的,但是对于某些实验或者实验的一部分经常需要进行温度的调控也是比较常见的。本短片讨论了不同的原因以及研究人员希望保持物品温暖所需要的温度。例如,有些时候,细胞需要在环境温度接近于体温的时候进行培养(37度);蛋白质结构需要被修饰(高于56度)或者试剂和溶液需要被加热(约100度)。还将讨论如何采用合适的方式去操作温度计来测量搅动溶液的温度。因为在实验室中如何调节温度并非总是很清楚,本视频将会阐述在每种条件下会选择哪一种仪器装备。

JoVE IN THE CLASSROOM

PROVIDE STUDENTS WITH THE TOOLS TO HELP THEM LEARN.

JoVE IN THE CLASSROOM

SCIENCE EDUCATION > Basic Biology

General Laboratory Techniques

This collection exhibits how to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment essential in many experiments.

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    07:51
    An Introduction to the Centrifuge

    The centrifuge is an instrument used in nearly every research lab across the globe. Centrifugation is the process by which a centrifuge is used to separate components of a complex mixture. By spinning laboratory samples at very high speeds, the components of a given mixture are subjected to centrifugal force, which causes more dense particles to migrate away from the axis of rotation and lighter ones to move toward it. These particles can sediment at the bottom of the tube into what’s known as a pellet, and this isolated specimen, or the remaining solution, the supernatant, can be further processed or analyzed. This video is meant to introduce a student to some of the basic principles of centrifugation, as well as the instrument’s basic operation. For example the speed of centrifugation in rotations per minute, or RPM, is contrasted with relative centrifugal force, or RCF, as a measurement of the magnitude of centrifugation, which is independent of rotor size. In addition to concepts and basic use, safety precautions relating to centrifugation are discussed, as well as the types of centrifuges and centrifuge rotors that exist.

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    08:06
    Regulating Temperature in the Lab: Preserving Samples Using Cold

    Preservation of laboratory samples, specimens, and reagents using extreme cold is routinely performed in biomedical research labs. This video will discuss some of the methods for keeping laboratory samples cold and will explain the correct cooling method to use for each experimental requirement.

    For example, cooling agents, such as ice and dry ice, are typically used when keeping samples cold during experiments. This video discusses the physical properties of the most commonly used cooling agents, as well as safety precautions for working with them. When it comes to keeping samples cold in between experiments, cooling equipment, including laboratory grade refrigerators and freezers can be used to preserve samples for extended period of time. Also discussed in this video are types of samples and reagents that can be stored in the commonly-available laboratory cooling equipment. Finally, the concept of cryopreservation is introduced as a process through which tissues, cells, and biomolecules are cooled to sub-zero temperatures, thereby effectively stopping all sample-degrading biological activity. Several methods of cryopreservation are discussed that minimize or eliminate the formation of damaging ice crystals.

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    08:34
    Introduction to Light Microscopy

    The light microscope is an instrument used by researchers in many different fields to magnify specimens to as much as a thousand times their original size. In its simplest form, it is composed of a clear lens that magnifies the sample and a light source to illuminate it. However, most light microscopes are much more complex and house numerous fine-tuned lenses with tightly controlled dimensions all within the body of the microscope itself and in components such as the objectives and eyepieces. In this video, the major components of the light microscope are described and their uses and functions are explained in detail. The basic principles of magnification, focus, and resolution are also introduced. Basic light microscope operation begins with bringing light to the sample and ensuring that the light source is of the correct intensity, directionality, and shape in order to produce the best quality image. Next, the sample must be magnified properly and brought into focus to view the region of interest. There are many practical applications for light microscopy including the viewing of stained or unstained cells and tissues, resolving small details of specimens, and even magnifying a region of interest during surgery to assist with complex procedures on the micron scale.

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    09:21
    Introduction to Fluorescence Microscopy

    Fluorescence microscopy is a very powerful analytical tool that combines the magnifying properties of light microscopy with visualization of fluorescence. Fluorescence is a phenomenon that involves absorbance and emission of a small range of light wavelengths by a fluorescent molecule known as a fluorophore. Fluorescence microscopy is accomplished in conjunction with the basic light microscope by the addition of a powerful light source, specialized filters, and a means of fluorescently labeling a sample. This video describes the basic principles behind fluorescence microscopy including the mechanism of fluorescence, the Stoke’s shift, and photobleaching. It also gives examples of the numerous ways to fluorescently label a sample including the use of fluorescently tagged antibodies and proteins, nucleic acid fluorescent dyes with, and the addition of naturally fluorescent proteins to a specimen. The major components of the fluorescence microscope including a xenon or mercury light source, light filters, the dichroic mirror, and use of the shutter to illuminate the sample are all described. Finally, examples of some of the many applications for fluorescence microscopy are shown.

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    09:26
    Histological Sample Preparation for Light Microscopy

    Histology is the study of cells and tissues, which is typically aided by the use of a light microscope. The preparation of histological samples can vary greatly based on the inherent properties of the samples such as size and hardness as well as expected post-processing which includes planned staining techniques or other down-stream applications. As described in this video, specimen preparation typically begins with a fixation procedure to prevent degradation of the sample by naturally occurring enzymes that are released by the cells upon death. Once fixed, samples are placed into an embedding medium that is able to sufficiently support the sample. Most commonly this is paraffin wax, but other materials such as a glycerin based freezing medium and agars are also used to surround the sample during sectioning. Sectioning then takes place on a microtome or other cutting device that allows the user to shave the sample into thin slices ranging from a few microns to a few millimeters in thickness. Once cut, sections are mounted on a glass slide and stained to bring out specific features of the sample before being imaged on a microscope.

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    07:37
    Introduction to the Spectrophotometer

    The spectrophotometer is a routinely used instrument in scientific research. Spectrophotometry is the quantitative measurement of how much a chemical substance absorbs light by passing a beam of light through the sample using a spectrophotometer. In this video, basic concepts in spectrophotometry, including transmittance, absorbance and the Beer-Lambert Law are reviewed in addition to the components of the spectrophotometer. These concepts provide a foundation for how to determine the concentration of a solute in solution that is capable of absorbing light in the ultraviolet and visible range. Furthermore, a procedure for how to operate the spectrophotometer is demonstrated, including instructions on how to blank and measure the absorbance of a sample at the desired wavelength. The video also covers how to make a standard curve for determination of analyte concentration. Several applications of the spectrophotometer in biological research are discussed, such as measurement of cell density and determination of chemical reaction rates. Finally, the microvolume spectrophotometer is introduced, as well as its advantage in measuring the quality and quantity of protein and nucleic acids.

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    07:59
    Measuring Mass in the Laboratory

    The analytical balance is the common piece of equipment in the scientific laboratory. These highly precise instruments can measure down to ten thousandths or even hundred thousandths of a gram. The triple beam balance is a type of scale that uses counterweights on a three rider beams to counterbalance the sample in the pan. On the other hand, modern analytical balances use a complex system of electronic sensors to accurately mass a substance. The analytical balance is so sensitive that it often has a draft shield to prevent air currents from interfering with the measurement. When weighing, a weigh boat or weigh paper is used to hold the substance being weighed and protect the weighing pan. Before weighing a substance, analytical balances are tarred to subtract the weigh boat or weigh paper and re-zero the scale. Tarring refers to setting the scale back to read zero and allows for a substance to be accurately weighed. Aside from weighing chemical substances, analytical balances are used to animals or insects, and centrifuge tubes in ultracentrifugation experiments.

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    07:06
    An Introduction to Working in the Hood

    Hoods are a common class of instrument, which act as a protective enclosure for various types of laboratory experiments. They serve to shield experimental samples from the environment, as well as to protect the researcher from hazardous or infectious samples. “The Hood” is a term that can include laminar flow benches, fume hoods, as well as tissue culture hoods or biosafety cabinets. All hoods operate based on the principle of laminar flow and have the same basic components, including a window sash and protective glass barrier, a non-porous work surface, and an air intake and exhaust. The type of hood used should be chosen based on the experiment. For example, fume hoods typically protect the user, and not the experimental environment. In contrast, laminar flow benches protect the experiment, but not the user, and therefore can but used to keep experimental samples sterile, when they pose no threat. If both the user and the experiment must be protected, a tissue culture hood or biosafety cabinet can be used. Tissue culture hoods maintain sterility of cell lines, while biosafety cabinets provide protection during procedures utilizing infectious agents Once the appropriate unit is chosen for an experiment, the user should wear appropriate protective equipment, and follow all necessary safety procedures. This video discusses the principle of laminar flow, how the hood is used, and discusses the different t

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    07:03
    Introduction to the Bunsen Burner

    The Bunsen burner, named after and co-designed by Robert Bunsen in 1854, is a common laboratory instrument that produces a hot, sootless, non-luminous flame. The Bunsen Burner allows for precise regulation of the mixing of gas and oxygen in its central barrel before combustion, which ignites the flame. By manipulating the Bunsen burner, both the size and temperature of the flame can be controlled. Among other uses, the heat of a Bunsen burner flame can be used to create a convection current, which heats the space above the flame and lifts any particulates in the air up and away from the cooler air underneath it, keeping this work area sterile. Working with an open flame requires extra caution. Always remember to secure any loose hair, clothing, or accessories before lighting a Bunsen burner and to always have the proper safety equipment, like a fire extinguisher and/or a fire blanket, on hand. Taking the time to understand how to use a Bunsen burner and what safety equipment to have on hand will allow you to operate this useful laboratory tool with safety and confidence.

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    06:34
    Introduction to Serological Pipettes and Pipettors

    The serological pipette is frequently used in the laboratory for transferring milliliter volumes of liquid, from less than 1 ml to up to 50 ml. The pipettes can be sterile, plastic, and disposable or sterilizable, glass and reusable. Both kinds of pipettes use a pipet-aid, for the aspiration and dispensation of liquids. Different sizes of pipettes can be used with the same pipet-aid for a variety of experimental assays. For example, serological pipettes are useful for mixing chemical solutions or cell suspensions, transferring liquids between receptacles, or carefully layering reagents of different densities. With careful attention to the level of liquid being aspirated and dispensed, serological pipettes can be useful tools for transferring accurate milliliter volumes of solutions in the lab. This video discusses the way that volume can be read on a serological pipette, how a pipet aid works, and many different applications for using a serological pipette.

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    09:14
    An Introduction to the Micropipettor

    The micropipettor is a common laboratory instrument used for transferring microvolumes of liquid solutions. Micropipettors come in a range of sizes for the accurate movement of volumes between 0.5 and 5000 μl and each instrument requires one of three different sized disposable tips. Micropipettors work by displacing air from the pipette shaft, allowing the liquid to be drawn into the resulting vacuum. Their uses include transferring cell suspensions for a variety of cell-based assays, loading samples for different analytical techniques, and mechanically disrupting tissues into single cell suspensions. Micropipettors are an extremely helpful laboratory tools that are easy to use with a little bit of instruction and practice. In this video, JoVE shows the first-time user all the tips, tricks, and ins and outs of using a micropipettor in the lab.

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    07:26
    Making Solutions in the Laboratory

    The ability to successfully make solutions is a basic laboratory skill performed in virtually all biological and chemical experiments. A solution is a homogenous mixture of solute dissolved in bulk liquid known as the solvent. Solutions can be described by their solute concentration, a measure of how much solute is present per unit of solution. In this video, a step-by-step procedure for how to make a water-based, or aqueous, solution for biological applications is presented. The video discusses how to calculate and measure the amount of solute needed for a given volume of solution. Methods for dissolving the solute in purified water and adjusting the pH of the solution are shown. Proper addition of the quantity sufficient (QS) to reach the desired volume is demonstrated with respect to the meniscus before discussing methods for sterilizing the solution. Applications of making solutions are presented through the discussion of several commonly used biological solutions, such as phosphate buffered saline (PBS), and their uses in biological research. These solutions are buffers that mimic physiological pH and osmolarity of cellular fluids.

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    08:50
    Understanding Concentration and Measuring Volumes

    Solutions are utilized to some degree in almost all biological research applications. Therefore understanding how to measure and manipulate them is imperative to any experiment. In this video, concepts in preparing solutions are introduced. Solutions consist of a solute dissolved in solvent to yield a homogeneous mixture of molecular substances. Solutions are generally identified by their components and corresponding concentrations. Concentrated solutions are diluted through various methods, such as serial dilution. This video also lays a foundation for the accurate preparation of solutions. For example, the video reviews how to measure volumes with precision through use of the appropriate volumetric container as well as how to read the volume when a meniscus is present. Some applications for measuring volumes are then presented. Gel electrophoresis is a commonly used laboratory procedure which requires preparation of a percent weight volume solution as well as parallel dilution of a concentrated stock solution. Use of a serial dilution to prepare standards for generating a standard curve in protein quantitation is also demonstrated.

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    07:50
    Introduction to the Microplate Reader

    The microplate reader is a multimodal instrument that allows for a variety of experiments to be performed and measured simultaneously. Microplate readers can make absorbance, fluorescence and luminescence measurements. Multiwell plates are integral to the microplate reader and allow for many experiments to be performed at once. Regardless of the assay type, experiments on the plate reader utilize a standard curve to determine the experimental values. This curve uses samples of known concentration to generate a line of best fit or standard curve. Experimental values are then extrapolated to the curve or are calculated using the equation from the linear regression. Besides standards and samples being run on the multiwall plate, the blank along with positive and negative controls are also used in the assay to ensure it is working correctly. Multiplate readers are used to quantify protein, gene expression and various metabolic processes such as reactive oxygen species and calcium flux.

  • General Laboratory Techniques

    08:28
    Regulating Temperature in the Lab: Applying Heat

    Although many experimental assays are performed at room temperature (RT; ~20-25°C), it is not uncommon for experiments, or parts of experiments, to require some type of temperature regulation. This video discusses the different reasons for and temperatures at which a scientist may want to “keep things warm”. For example, sometime, cells need to be cultured in an environment close to body temperature (~37°C), protein structure needs to be modified (>56°C), or reagents and solutions need to be heated (~100°C). Also discussed, is the proper way to handle a thermometer and measure the temperature in stirring liquids. Since it is not always obvious how to regulate temperatures in the laboratory, this video will also talk about what types of equipment one might choose in each situation.

JoVE IN THE CLASSROOM

PROVIDE STUDENTS WITH THE TOOLS TO HELP THEM LEARN.

JoVE IN THE CLASSROOM