Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

2.20: Chaleur spécifique
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Chaleur spécifique
 
TRANSCRIPTION

2.20: Chaleur spécifique

La capacité thermique spécifique à une substance se rapporte à la quantité d’énergie nécessaire pour chauffer un gramme de la substance d’un degré. L’eau a une grande capacité thermique ; il faut donc beaucoup de chaleur pour augmenter sa température. De même, l’eau doit perdre beaucoup de chaleur pour que sa température diminue, de sorte qu’elle refroidit aussi lentement une fois chauffée. Les métaux, par comparaison, ont une faible capacité thermique : ils chauffent rapidement et se refroidissent rapidement.

La capacité thermique spécifique est définie comme la quantité d’énergie nécessaire pour augmenter la température d’un gramme d’une substance d’un degré Celsius (1 °C). Par exemple, augmenter la température d’un gramme d’eau de 1 °C nécessite une calorie d’énergie thermique. La capacité thermique spécifique est souvent représentée en grammes, degrés Celsius et calories, mais elle peut être exprimée également en kilogrammes, Kelvin (K) et joules (entre autres unités). La capacité thermique spécifique de l’eau est d’une calorie/gramme °C, ou 4186 joules/kilogramme K. L’or massif a une capacité thermique spécifique d’environ ~0,03 calories/gramme °C, ou 129 joules/kilogramme K. L’or a donc une capacité thermique spécifique inférieure à celle de l’eau.

Une nature pratique

La grande capacité thermique de l’eau aide à moduler les températures environnementales extrêmes. Les villes situées près de grandes étendues d’eau ont de plus petites variations de température, tant par jour que de façon saisonnière. Pendant la journée, l’eau à proximité absorbe l’énergie thermique, refroidissant les terres environnantes. La nuit, l’eau libère son énergie thermique, ce qui maintient la zone plus chaude. Les villes éloignées des grands plans d’eau peuvent connaître de grandes fluctuations de température quotidienne et saisonnière. Le sable et les roches ont des capacités thermique plus faibles, de sorte qu’ils chauffent rapidement pendant la journée et libèrent la chaleur rapidement la nuit.

Dans l’espace, l’eau bout puis gèle. Cela se produit en partie à cause de la forte capacité thermique de l’eau. Dans l’espace, l’eau bout d’abord à cause de la pression extrêmement basse. Dans cet état gazeux, les molécules de vapeur d’eau sont plus éloignées et peuvent perdre de la chaleur rapidement dans les températures très froides de l’espace. La vapeur d’eau gèle alors en cristaux, un processus appelé sublimation inverse.

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

2.20: Specific Heat
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

2.20: Specific Heat

A substance’s specific heat capacity refers to the amount of energy required to heat one gram of the substance by one degree. Water has a high heat capacity, so it takes a lot of heat to increase its temperature. Similarly, water must lose a lot of heat for its temperature to decrease, so it also cools slowly once heated. Metals, by comparison, have a low heat capacity—they heat up quickly and cool down quickly.

Specific heat capacity is defined as the amount of energy needed to raise the temperature of one gram of a substance by one degree Celsius (1 °C). For example, increasing the temperature of one gram of water by 1 °C requires one calorie of heat energy. Specific heat capacity is often represented in grams, degrees Celsius, and calories, but it can also be expressed in kilograms, Kelvin (K), and joules (among other units). The specific heat capacity of water is one calorie/gram °C, or 4186 joules/kilogram K. Solid gold has a specific heat capacity of ~0.03 calories/gram °C, or 129 joules/kilogram K. Gold, then, has a lower specific heat capacity than water.

Practical Nature

The high heat capacity of water helps modulate extreme environmental temperatures. Towns near large bodies of water have smaller changes in temperature both daily and seasonally. During the day, the nearby water absorbs heat energy, cooling the surrounding land. At night, the water releases its heat energy, keeping the area warmer. Towns far away from large bodies of water can experience large swings in daily and seasonal temperature. Sand and rocks have lower heat capacities, so they heat up quickly during the day and release heat quickly at night.

In space, water boils and then freezes. This happens in part because of water’s high heat capacity. In space, water first boils because of the extremely low pressure. In this gaseous state, the water vapor molecules are further apart and can lose heat quickly in the very cold temperatures of space. The water vapor then freezes into crystals—a process called desublimation.

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter