Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

35.7: Pflanzenzüchtung und Biotechnologie
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Pflanzenzüchtung und Biotechnologie
 
PROTOKOLLE

35.7: Pflanzenzüchtung und Biotechnologie

Der Anbau von Kulturpflanzen hat eine lange Geschichte in der menschlichen Zivilisation, wobei erste Aufzeichnungen den Anbau von Getreidepflanzen ab etwa 8000 v. Chr. dokumentieren. Diese frühe Pflanzenzüchtung wurde in erster Linie entwickelt, um eine stetige Versorgung mit Lebensmitteln zu gewährleisten.

Mit dem fortgeschrittenen Verständnis der Genetik des Menschen konnten verbesserte Pflanzensorten schneller erreicht werden. Die künstliche Selektion war gerichteter und Pflanzensorten mit geeigneteren Eigenschaften wurden schneller verbessert, um bessere, robustere oder schmackhaftere Pflanzen zu produzieren.

Herkömmliche Techniken für die Züchtung von Pflanzen sind jedoch langsam und produzieren nicht immer die gewünschten Pflanzensorten. Später erleichterten biotechnologische Werkzeuge die Entwicklung von gewünschten pflanzlichen Eigenschaften, die sonst mit traditionellen Methoden schwer zu züchten sind. Zum Beispiel ist die Verbesserung des Ernährungsmangels in Pflanzen schwierig durch künstliche Selektion, und besonders herausfordernd für Vitamin A und Eisen. Reis enthält zum Beispiel keine Gene für Beta-Carotin, ein Vitamin-A-Vorläufer. Es enthält jedoch Gene für die Verbindung Geranylgeranylpyrophosphat, welches sequenziell durch vier Enzyme in Beta-Carotin umgewandelt werden kann. Reis wurde gentechnisch mit Genen von Narzissen, die zwei Enzyme kodieren verändert, und die restlichen zwei Enzyme kamen von den Bakterien Erwinia uredovora. Die resultierende Erntepflanze wird als goldener Reis bezeichnet. Da Reis das Grundnahrungsmittel für mehr als die Hälfte der Welt ist, könnten biotechnologisch veränderte Pflanzen wie diese, potenziell die durch den Vitamin-A-Mangel verursachte Erblindung von Kindern verhindern oder die Gesundheit in Reis abhängigen Ländern verbessern.

Viele häufig angebaute Kulturpflanzen haben heute einen gewissen Grad an genetischer Veränderung, die mit Hilfe der Biotechnologie eingeführt wurde. Beispielsweise wurden Mais, Papaya und viele Kartoffelsorten gegen Herbizide, Krankheiten oder Schädlingsresistenz verändert. Genetische Veränderungen können sogar durchgeführt werden, um die Allergenproduktion zu reduzieren, wie zum Beispiel bei den Sojabohnen.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

35.7: Plant Breeding and Biotechnology
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's JoVE Core collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

 
Start Free Trial
TRANSCRIPT

35.7: Plant Breeding and Biotechnology

Crop cultivation has a long history in human civilization, with records showing the cultivation of cereal plants beginning at around 8000 BC. This early plant breeding was developed primarily to provide a steady supply of food.

As humans' understanding of genetics advanced, improved crop varieties could be achieved more quickly. Artificial selection could be more directed, and crop varieties enhanced for favorable traits more quickly to produce better, more robust, or more palatable plants.

However, traditional techniques for breeding plants are slow and do not always produce the desired crop varieties. Later, biotechnological tools made it easier to engineer desired traits into plants that are otherwise difficult to breed using traditional methods. For example, improving nutritional deficiency in plants is difficult via artificial selection, and particularly challenging for vitamin A and iron. Rice, for example, does not contain genes for beta carotene, which is a vitamin A precursor. However, it does contain genes for the compound geranylgeranyl pyrophosphate, which can be sequentially converted to beta carotene using four enzymes. Rice was engineered using genes for two enzymes derived from daffodils, and the remaining two enzymes from the bacteria Erwinia uredovora. The resulting crop is known as golden rice. Because rice is the staple food of more than half of the world, bioengineered crops such as these could potentially play a role in preventing blindness among children caused by vitamin A deficiency, or improving the health of rice-reliant countries.

Many commonly grown crop plants now have some degree of genetic modification introduced using biotechnology. For example, maize, papaya, and many potato varieties have been modified for herbicide, disease, or pest resistance. Genetic modification can even be carried out to reduce allergen production, which is the case in soybeans.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter