Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

35.7: Sélection des plantes et biotechnologie
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Sélection des plantes et biotechnologie
 
TRANSCRIPTION

35.7: Sélection des plantes et biotechnologie

L’agriculture a une longue histoire dans la civilisation humaine, avec des archives indiquant la culture des plantes céréalières à partir d’environ 8000 av. J.-C. Cette première sélection des végétaux a été élaborée principalement pour fournir un approvisionnement régulier en nourriture.

À mesure que la compréhension humaine en génétique progressait, des variétés améliorées de cultures allaient pouvoir être réalisées plus rapidement. La sélection artificielle a pu être plus dirigée et les variétés de cultures ont pu être améliorées pour des traits favorables plus rapidement afin de produire de meilleures plantes plus robustes ou plus appétissantes.

Cependant, les techniques traditionnelles de sélection des plantes sont lentes et ne produisent pas toujours les variétés de cultures souhaitées. Plus tard, les outils biotechnologiques ont facilité l’ingénierie des traits désirés chez les plantes qui sont autrement difficiles à reproduire en utilisant des méthodes traditionnelles. Par exemple, l’amélioration de la carence nutritionnelle chez les plantes est difficile par la sélection artificielle, et particulièrement difficile pour la vitamine A et le fer. Le riz, par exemple, ne contient pas de gènes pour le bêta-carotène, qui est un précurseur de la vitamine A. Cependant, il contient des gènes pour le composé de géranylgéranyl pyrophosphate, qui peut être converti séquentiellement en bêta-carotène en utilisant quatre enzymes. Du riz a été conçu à l’aide de gènes pour deux enzymes dérivées de jonquilles, et les deux autres enzymes de la bactérie Erwinia uredovora. La culture qui en résulte est connue sous le nom de riz doré. Étant donné que le riz est l’aliment de base de plus de la moitié du monde, les cultures conçues par bioingénierie comme celles-ci pourraient potentiellement jouer un rôle dans la prévention de la cécité chez les enfants causée par une carence en vitamine A ou dans l’amélioration de la santé des pays dépendants du riz.

De nombreuses plantes cultivées couramment ont maintenant un certain degré de modification génétique introduite à l’aide de la biotechnologie. Par exemple, le maïs, la papaye et de nombreuses variétés de pommes de terre ont été modifiés pour la résistance aux herbicides, aux maladies ou aux ravageurs. Des modifications génétiques peuvent même être effectuées pour réduire la production d’allergènes, ce qui est le cas chez le soja.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

35.7: Plant Breeding and Biotechnology
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's JoVE Core collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

 
Start Free Trial
TRANSCRIPT

35.7: Plant Breeding and Biotechnology

Crop cultivation has a long history in human civilization, with records showing the cultivation of cereal plants beginning at around 8000 BC. This early plant breeding was developed primarily to provide a steady supply of food.

As humans' understanding of genetics advanced, improved crop varieties could be achieved more quickly. Artificial selection could be more directed, and crop varieties enhanced for favorable traits more quickly to produce better, more robust, or more palatable plants.

However, traditional techniques for breeding plants are slow and do not always produce the desired crop varieties. Later, biotechnological tools made it easier to engineer desired traits into plants that are otherwise difficult to breed using traditional methods. For example, improving nutritional deficiency in plants is difficult via artificial selection, and particularly challenging for vitamin A and iron. Rice, for example, does not contain genes for beta carotene, which is a vitamin A precursor. However, it does contain genes for the compound geranylgeranyl pyrophosphate, which can be sequentially converted to beta carotene using four enzymes. Rice was engineered using genes for two enzymes derived from daffodils, and the remaining two enzymes from the bacteria Erwinia uredovora. The resulting crop is known as golden rice. Because rice is the staple food of more than half of the world, bioengineered crops such as these could potentially play a role in preventing blindness among children caused by vitamin A deficiency, or improving the health of rice-reliant countries.

Many commonly grown crop plants now have some degree of genetic modification introduced using biotechnology. For example, maize, papaya, and many potato varieties have been modified for herbicide, disease, or pest resistance. Genetic modification can even be carried out to reduce allergen production, which is the case in soybeans.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter