Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

1.3: La méthode scientifique
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
The Scientific Method
 
TRANSCRIPTION

1.3: La méthode scientifique

Aperçu

La méthode scientifique est un processus détaillé et empirique pour résoudre des problèmes, dont les biologistes et les scientifiques d’autres disciplines tirent profit. Cette approche itérative consiste à formuler une question basée sur l’observation, à élaborer une explication potentielle vérifiable pour l’observation (appelée hypothèse), à faire et à vérifier des prévisions basées sur l’hypothèse ainsi qu’à utiliser les résultats pour créer de nouvelles hypothèses et prévisions.

En général, les prévisions sont vérifiées à l’aide d’expériences soigneusement conçues. Sur la base des résultats de ces expériences, l’explication d’origine pourrait avoir besoin d’être affinée, et de nouvelles hypothèses et questions peuvent être générées. Fait important, cela illustre que la méthode scientifique n’est pas une recette par étapes. Il s’agit plutôt de l’affinement et du test continus d’idées basées sur de nouvelles observations, ce qui est le cœur de la recherche scientifique.

La science est mutable et change continuellement à mesure que nous en apprenons davantage sur le monde qui nous entoure. Pour cette raison, les scientifiques évitent de prétendre ‘ prouver ’ une idée précise. Au lieu de cela, ils recueillent des preuves qui appuient ou réfutent une hypothèse donnée.

Faire des observations et formuler des hypothèses

Une hypothèse est précédée d’une première observation, au cours de laquelle l’information est recueillie par les sens (par exemple, la vision, l’audition) ou à l’aide d’outils et d’instruments scientifiques. Cette observation conduit à une question qui incite à la formation d’une hypothèse initiale, une réponse possible (vérifiable) à la question. Par exemple, l’observation selon laquelle les limaces mangent certains plants de choux, mais pas des plants de choux situés près de l’ail, peut susciter la question suivante : pourquoi les limaces ignorent-elles de façon sélective les plants de choux près de l’ail ? Une hypothèse possible, ou réponse à cette question, est que les limaces ont une aversion pour l’ail. Sur la base de cette hypothèse, on pourrait prévoir que les limaces ne mangeront pas les plants de choux qui sont entourés d’un anneau de poudre d’ail.

Une hypothèse devrait être falsifiable, ce qui signifie qu’il existe des moyens de la réfuter si elle est fausse. En d’autres termes, une hypothèse devrait être testable. Les scientifiques formulent souvent et testent explicitement le contraire de l’hypothèse, qui est appelée l’hypothèse nulle. Dans ce cas, l'hypothèse nulle est que les limaces n'ont pas une aversion pour l'ail. L’hypothèse nulle serait étayée si, contrairement à la prévision, les limaces mangent des plants de choux qui sont entourés de poudre d’ail.

Tester une hypothèse

Dans la mesure du possible, les scientifiques testent des hypothèses à l’aide d’expériences contrôlées qui incluent des variables indépendantes et dépendantes, ainsi que des groupes témoins et expérimentaux.

Une variable indépendante est un élément qui devrait avoir un effet (p. ex., la poudre d’ail utilisée dans l’expérience sur la limace et le chou, ou le traitement administré dans le cas d’un essai clinique). Les variables dépendantes sont les mesures utilisées pour déterminer le résultat d’une expérience. Dans l’expérience avec les limaces, les choux et l’ail, le nombre de limaces mangeant des choux est la variable dépendante car ce nombre devrait dépendre de la présence ou de l’absence d’anneaux de poudre d’ail autour des plants de choux.

Les expériences nécessitent des groupes expérimentaux et témoins. Un groupe expérimental est traité avec ou exposé à la variable indépendante (c.-à-d. la manipulation ou le traitement). Par exemple, dans l’expérience de l’aversion pour l’ail avec les limaces, le groupe expérimental est un groupe de plants de choux qui sont entourés d’un anneau de poudre d’ail. Un groupe témoin est soumis aux mêmes conditions que le groupe expérimental, à l’exception de la variable indépendante. Les groupes témoins de cette expérience pourraient inclure un groupe de plants de choux dans la même zone qui est entouré d’un anneau de poudre non-ail (pour contrôler l’aversion pour la poudre) et un groupe qui n’est pas entouré d’une substance particulière (pour contrôler l’aversion pour le chou). Il est essentiel d’inclure un groupe témoin parce que, si tel n’est pas le cas, il n’est pas clair si le résultat est le résultat du traitement ou de la manipulation.

Affiner une hypothèse

Si les résultats d’une expérience étayent l’hypothèse, d’autres expériences peuvent être conçues et menées pour étayer l’hypothèse. L’hypothèse peut également être affinée et on peut la rendre plus spécifique. Par exemple, d’autres expériences pourraient déterminer si les limaces ont également une aversion pour d’autres plantes du genre Allium, comme les oignons.

Si les résultats n’étayent pas l’hypothèse, l’hypothèse pourrait avoir besoin d’être affinée en fonction des nouvelles observations. Les problèmes de conception expérimentale devraient être écartés aussi. Par exemple, si les limaces démontrent une aversion pour les deux types de substance en poudre, l’expérience peut être réalisée à nouveau en utilisant de l’ail frais au lieu de l’ail en poudre. Si les limaces ne présentent toujours aucune aversion pour l’ail, l’hypothèse peut être ajustée. Dans cet exemple, la nouvelle hypothèse peut être que les limaces ont une aversion pour la poudre.

Les résultats des expériences devraient être communiqués à d’autres scientifiques et au public, que les données appuient ou non l’hypothèse initiale. Cette information peut guider l’élaboration de nouvelles hypothèses et de questions expérimentales.


Lecture suggérée
Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

1.3: The Scientific Method
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

1.3: The Scientific Method

Overview

The scientific method is a detailed, empirical, problem-solving process leveraged by biologists and scientists of other disciplines. This iterative approach involves formulating a question based on observation, developing a testable potential explanation for the observation (called a hypothesis), making and testing predictions based on the hypothesis, and using the findings to create new hypotheses and predictions.

Generally, predictions are tested using carefully-designed experiments. Based on the outcome of these experiments, the original explanation may need to be refined, and new hypotheses and questions can be generated. Importantly, this illustrates that the scientific method is not a stepwise recipe. Instead, it is a continuous refinement and testing of ideas based on new observations, which is the crux of scientific inquiry.

Science is mutable and continuously changes as we learn more about the world around us. For this reason, scientists avoid claiming to ‘prove’ a specific idea. Instead, they gather evidence that either supports or refutes a given hypothesis.

Making Observations and Formulating Hypotheses

A hypothesis is preceded by an initial observation, during which information is gathered by the senses (e.g., vision, hearing) or using scientific tools and instruments. This observation leads to a question that prompts the formation of an initial hypothesis, a (testable) possible answer to the question. For example, the observation that slugs eat some cabbage plants, but not cabbage plants located near garlic, may prompt the question: why do slugs selectively spare cabbage plants near garlic? One possible hypothesis, or answer to this question, is that slugs have an aversion to garlic. Based on this hypothesis, one might predict that slugs will not eat cabbage plants that are surrounded by a ring of garlic powder.

A hypothesis should be falsifiable, meaning that there are ways to disprove it if it is untrue. In other words, a hypothesis should be testable. Scientists often articulate and explicitly test for the opposite of the hypothesis, which is called the null hypothesis. In this case, the null hypothesis is that slugs do not have an aversion to garlic. The null hypothesis would be supported if, contrary to the prediction, slugs eat cabbage plants that are surrounded by garlic powder.

Testing a Hypothesis

When possible, scientists test hypotheses using controlled experiments that include independent and dependent variables, as well as control and experimental groups.

An independent variable is an item expected to have an effect (e.g., the garlic powder used in the slug and cabbage experiment, or treatment given in a clinical trial). Dependent variables are the measurements used to determine the outcome of an experiment. In the experiment with slugs, cabbages, and garlic, the number of slugs eating cabbages is the dependent variable, as this number is expected to depend on the presence or absence of garlic powder rings around the cabbage plants.

Experiments require experimental and control groups. An experimental group is treated with or exposed to the independent variable (i.e., the manipulation or treatment). For example, in the garlic aversion experiment with slugs, the experimental group is a group of cabbage plants that are surrounded by a garlic powder ring. A control group is subject to the same conditions as the experimental group, with the exception of the independent variable. Control groups in this experiment might include a group of cabbage plants in the same area that is surrounded by a non-garlic powder ring (to control for powder aversion) and a group that is not surrounded by any particular substance (to control for cabbage aversion). It is essential to include a control group because without one it is unclear whether the outcome is the result of the treatment or manipulation.

Refining a Hypothesis

If the results of an experiment support the hypothesis, further experiments may be designed and carried out to provide support for the hypothesis. The hypothesis may also be refined and made more specific. For example, additional experiments could determine whether slugs also have an aversion to other plants of the Allium genus, like onions.

If the results do not support the hypothesis, the hypothesis may need to be adjusted based on the new observations. Problems with the experimental design should also be ruled out. For example, if slugs demonstrate an aversion to both types of powdered substance, the experiment can be carried out again using fresh garlic instead of powdered garlic. If the slugs still exhibit no aversion to garlic, the hypothesis may be adjusted. In this example, the new hypothesis may be that slugs have an aversion to powder.

The results of the experiments should be communicated to other scientists and the public, regardless of whether the data support the original hypothesis. This information can guide the development of new hypotheses and experimental questions.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter