Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

5.6: Osmose
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

This content is Free Access.

Education
Osmose
 
TRANSCRIPTION

5.6: Osmose

Environ 60 % à 95 % du poids des organismes vivants est attribué à l’eau. Par conséquent, maintenir un équilibre en eau approprié dans les cellules est d’une importance cruciale. L’osmose est le mouvement de l’eau à travers une membrane semi-perméable, comme la membrane plasmique d’une cellule. Dans les organismes vivants, l’eau joue un rôle crucial en tant que solvant — une molécule qui dissout d’autres molécules.

La diffusion par rapport à l’osmose

La diffusion et l’osmose sont des sortes de transport passif — transport cellulaire qui ne nécessite pas d’énergie supplémentaire. La diffusion est le transport d’une substance (soluté) dissoute dans un liquide (solvant) à partir d’une zone de forte concentration vers une zone de faible concentration. La diffusion peut également se produire à travers une membrane si la membrane est perméable à ce soluté. Une membrane qui empêche le passage d’un soluté précis est une membrane semi-perméable. Alors que la membrane semi-perméable arrête le flux du soluté, le solvant se déplace librement, un processus appelé osmose.

Mécanisme

L’osmose se produit lorsqu’il y a plus de soluté d’un côté de la membrane semi-perméable que de l’autre. Le rapport eau/soluté est appelé osmolarité. Pendant l’osmose, l’eau circule du côté qui a une osmolarité faible (plus d’eau par rapport au soluté) vers le côté qui a une osmolarité élevée (moins d’eau par rapport au soluté) jusqu’à ce que l’osmolarité des deux côtés soit à peu près égale. Par exemple, il y a de l’eau qui rentre dans une cellule entourée d’une membrane semi-perméable s’il y a une plus grande concentration de soluté à l’intérieur de la cellule par rapport à l’extérieur.

Déséquilibre osmotique dans les cellules

Chaque fois que l’équilibre osmotique est perturbé, les cellules peuvent augmenter de volume ou rétrécir. Les mécanismes sous-jacents au déséquilibre osmotique et la prévention de conséquences dangereuses sont traités de façon approfondie dans les sections suivantes.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

5.4: Osmosis
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

5.4: Osmosis

Approximately 60% to 95% of the weight of living organisms is attributed to water. Therefore, maintaining appropriate water balance within cells is of paramount importance. Osmosis is the movement of water across a semipermeable membrane, such as a cell’s plasma membrane. In living organisms, water plays a crucial role as a solvent—a molecule that dissolves other molecules.

Diffusion Versus Osmosis

Both diffusion and osmosis are types of passive transport—cellular transport that does not require additional energy. Diffusion is the transport of a substance (solute) dissolved in a liquid (solvent) from an area of high concentration to an area of low concentration. Diffusion may also occur across a membrane if the membrane is permeable for that solute. A membrane that hinders the passage of a specific solute is a semipermeable membrane. While the semipermeable membrane stops the flow of the solute, the solvent moves freely—a process called osmosis.

Mechanism

Osmosis occurs when there is more solute on one side of the semipermeable membrane than on the other. The ratio of water to solute is called osmolarity. During osmosis, water flows from the side with low osmolarity (more water relative to solute) to the side with high osmolarity (less water relative to solute) until the osmolarity on both sides is approximately equal. For instance, a cell surrounded by a semipermeable membrane has water flowing in, if there is a higher concentration of solute inside the cell compared to the outside.

Osmotic Imbalance in Cells

Whenever osmotic balance is disrupted, cells may expand or shrink. The underlying mechanisms of osmotic imbalance and prevention of dangerous outcomes are further discussed in subsequent sections.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter