Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

19.12: Thermosensation
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Thermosensation
 
Cette voix off est générée par ordinateur
TRANSCRIPTION
* La traduction du texte est générée par ordinateur

19.12: Thermosensation

La thermosensibilité périphérique est la perception de la température extérieure. Un changement de température (à la surface de la peau et d’autres tissus) est détecté par une famille de canaux ioniques sensibles à la température appelés récepteurs transitoires potentiels, ou TRP, récepteurs. Ces récepteurs sont situés sur des terminaisons nerveuses libres. Ceux qui détectent les températures froides sont plus proches de la surface de la peau que les terminaisons nerveuses détectant la chaleur. Ces canaux thermoTRP, bien que sélectifs en température, ont une perméabilité de cation relativement non sélective.

Récepteurs froids

Il existe au moins trois types de récepteurs qui sont activés par le froid, dont TRPM8 et TRPA1 sont particulièrement sensibles. TRPM8 a une plage sensible à la température d’environ 10-26 oC (50-79 oF), et est largement associée à la perception de non-douloureux, ou inoffensif, froid. Le menthol, un composé présent dans les feuilles de menthe, peut également activer ce récepteur, ce qui aide à expliquer pourquoi cette saveur est souvent perçue comme fraîche. Lorsque les températures sont suffisamment basses pour être douloureuses (c.-à-d. un froid nocif), les récepteurs TRPA1 sont activés. Les récepteurs TRPA1 réagissent à toute température inférieure à 17 oC (~63 oF).

Récepteurs chauds

Il y a au moins sept récepteurs qui réagissent à la chaleur. De ce nombre, cinq répondent aux températures de la gamme de chaleur anodine : TRPM2 (23-38 oC, ou ~73-100oF), TRPC5 (26-38 oC, ou ~79-100oF, TRPV4 (27-34 oC, ou ~81-93 oF), TRPV3 (33-40 oC, ou ~91-104 oF), et TRPM3 (> 40 oC, ou 104 oF). La chaleur douloureuse (c.-à-d. nocive) est détectée par les récepteurs TRPV1, qui réagissent à des températures supérieures à 42 oC (~108 oF). Le récepteur TRPV1 a d’abord été découvert parce qu’il répond bien à la capsaïcine, un composé présent dans les piments. Comme le menthol et le froid, la capsaïcine donne la perception de la chaleur sans changer la température. Les récepteurs TRPV2 réagissent à des températures très chaudes et douloureuses (c.-à-d. une chaleur nocive extrême), celles de plus de 52 oC (~126 oF).

Chemins de transduction et de signalisation

L’information sur la température est transduite en signaux électriques dans les terminaisons nerveuses. Lorsque les nerfs portent des informations sur la température, l’information inoffensive sur le chaud et le froid est séparée jusqu’à ce qu’elle atteigne le cerveau. Les signaux froids sont transportés par des fibres Aδ myélinées dédiées qui perpétuent rapidement les signaux, ainsi que des fibres C plus lentes et non myélinées. Les signaux de chaleur sont portés par leurs propres fibres C non myélinées. Comme l’information tactile, l’information sur la température du côté gauche du corps est traitée dans l’hémisphère droit du cerveau. Le signal se décasse dans la moelle épinière avant d’être relayé à l’hypothalamus. Là, l’information est utilisée pour réguler ou ajuster les fonctions corporelles, comme frissonner ou transpirer. Des signaux chauds et froids inoffensifs sont finalement relayés à plusieurs zones corticales, notamment le cortex orbitofrontal.

L’information douloureuse sur la température prend un chemin séparé, en utilisant des fibres C et Aδ qui ne sont pas spécifiques à la température et peuvent transporter des signaux chauds et froids. Comme les signaux de température inoffensifs, ils se décussent dans la moelle épinière et sont envoyés à l’hypothalamus. De l’hypothalamus, l’information est envoyée au cortex cingulaire antérieur, qui génère la perception du froid douloureux ou chaud.

Les études suggèrent que les individus détectent d’abord consciemment un sentiment de froideur et de chaleur à environ 31 oC et 34 oC, respectivement. La plage entre 31o et 34o est similaire à la température de surface de la peau et peut ne pas être perceptible. La douleur causée par la froideur et la chaleur est perçue à des températures d’environ <12 oC et >45 oC, respectivement.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

19.12: Thermosensation
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

19.12: Thermosensation

Peripheral thermosensation is the perception of external temperature. A change in temperature (on the surface of the skin and other tissues) is detected by a family of temperature-sensitive ion channels called Transient Receptor Potential, or TRP, receptors. These receptors are located on free nerve endings. Those detecting cold temperatures are closer to the surface of the skin than the nerve endings detecting warmth. These thermoTRP channels, while temperature selective, have relatively non-selective cation permeability.

Cold Receptors

There are at least three types of receptors that are activated by cold, of which TRPM8 and TRPA1 are particularly sensitive. TRPM8 has a temperature sensitive range of about 10-26 oC (50-79 oF), and is largely associated with the perception of non-painful, or innocuous, cold. Menthol, a compound found in mint leaves, can also activate this receptor, which helps explain why this flavor is often perceived as cool. When temperatures are low enough to feel painful (i.e., noxious cold), TRPA1 receptors are activated. TRPA1 receptors respond to any temperature lower than 17 oC (~63 oF).

Hot Receptors

There are at least seven receptors that respond to heat. Of these, five respond to temperatures in the innocuous warmth range: TRPM2 (23-38 oC, or ~73-100oF), TRPC5 (26-38 oC, or ~79-100oF, TRPV4 (27-34 oC, or ~81-93 oF), TRPV3 (33-40 oC, or ~91-104 oF), and TRPM3 (> 40 oC, or 104 oF). Painful (i.e., noxious) heat is detected by TRPV1 receptors, which respond to temperatures greater than 42 oC (~108 oF). The TRPV1 receptor was first discovered because it responds well to capsaicin, a compound found in chili peppers. Like menthol and cold, capsaicin provides the perception of heat without changing the temperature. TRPV2 receptors respond to very hot and painful temperatures (i.e., extreme noxious heat), those greater than 52 oC (~126 oF).

Transduction and Signaling Paths

Temperature information is transduced into electrical signals in the nerve endings. When nerves carry temperature information, the innocuous warm and cold information is kept separate until it reaches the brain. Cold signals are carried by dedicated myelinated Aδ fibers that perpetuate signals quickly, as well as slower, unmyelinated C-fibers. Warmth signals are carried by their own unmyelinated C-fibers. Like touch information, temperature information from the left side of the body is processed in the right brain hemisphere. The signal decussates in the spinal cord before being relayed to the hypothalamus. There, the information is used to regulate or adjust bodily functions, like shivering or sweating. Innocuous warm and cold signals are finally relayed to several cortical areas—notably the orbitofrontal cortex.

Painful temperature information takes a separate path, using C and Aδ fibers that are not temperature specific and can carry both hot and cold signals. Like innocuous temperature signals, they decussate in the spinal cord and are sent to the hypothalamus. From the hypothalamus, the information is sent to the anterior cingulate cortex, which generates the perception of painful cold or hot.

Studies suggest that individuals first consciously detect a feeling of coldness and warmness at about 31 oC and 34 oC, respectively. The range between 31o and 34o is similar to the surface temperature of the skin and may not be noticeable. Pain from coldness and heat is perceived at temperatures of about <12 oC and >45 oC, respectively.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter