Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

22.2: Respiration
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Respiration
 
TRANSCRIPTION

22.2: Respiration

Le processus de respiration, d’inspiration et d’expiration, implique le mouvement coordonné de la paroi thoracique, des poumons et des muscles qui les déplacent. Deux groupes de muscles ayant des rôles importants dans la respiration sont le diaphragme, situé directement sous les poumons, et les muscles intercostaux, qui se trouvent entre les côtes. Lorsque le diaphragme se contracte, il se déplace vers le bas, augmentant le volume de la cavité thoracique et créant plus d'espace pour l'expansion des poumons. Lorsque les muscles intercostaux se contractent, les côtes se déplacent vers le haut et la cage thoracique s’élargit, en élargissant de la même façon la cavité thoracique.

Chaque poumon est entouré de deux membranes appelées plèvres, qui sont séparées par du liquide. Ce fluide crée une force adhésive qui fait que les poumons s’étirent quand la cavité thoracique s’élargit. L’augmentation du volume dans les poumons réduit la pression. Lorsque la pression descend en dessous de la pression atmosphérique, cela produit un gradient de pression qui déplace l’air de l’atmosphère à une pression plus haute vers les poumons à une pression plus basse.

Lorsque le diaphragme et les muscles intercostaux se détendent, le volume des poumons diminue, augmentant la pression dans les poumons. À mesure que la pression augmente au-delà de la pression atmosphérique, le gradient de pression qui en résulte pousse l’air hors du corps. De cette façon, le cycle de l’inspiration et de l’expiration est maintenu.

La relation pression-volume

La loi de Boyle-Mariotte stipule qu’à une température donnée dans un espace fermé, la pression d’un gaz augmente à mesure que le volume de son récipient diminue. Autrement dit, la pression est inversement proportionnelle au volume. Cette loi, combinée au mouvement du gaz à partir des zones de pression plus élevée vers les zones à une pression plus basse, explique pourquoi l’air est introduit dans les poumons lorsque le diaphragme se contracte.

Comment les poumons augmentent-ils de volume ?

Le diaphragme se contracte en se déplaçant vers le bas et en augmentant le volume thoracique, mais comment cela augmente-t-il le volume des poumons ? Alors que les bronches et les bronchioles sont rigides et ne s’élargissent pas (bien qu’elles puissent être bloquées ou enflammées), les alvéoles, de minuscules sacs d’air dans les poumons, permettent aux poumons d’augmenter de volume.

Les maladies restrictives par rapport aux maladies obstructives

Les maladies pulmonaires diminuent le flux de gaz vers et depuis les poumons, et elles peuvent être divisées en deux catégories : restrictives et obstructives. Les maladies restrictives, comme la fibrose pulmonaire (cicatrisation du poumon), limitent l’expansion des poumons. Les maladies obstructives, comme l’asthme, l’emphysème et la bronchite chronique, obstruent les voies respiratoires, limitant l’échange de gaz.

Le surfactant

Les surfaces intérieures des alvéoles sont bordées de liquide contenant du surfactant, un mélange de phospholipides et de lipoprotéines. Le surfactant réduit la tension superficielle du liquide alvéolaire, empêchant les alvéoles de s’effondrer et facilitant le gonflement des alvéoles avec l’air.

Les bébés prématurés ne produisent parfois pas assez de surfactant dans leurs poumons, provoquant le syndrome de détresse respiratoire (SDR). Sans assez de surfactant, il faut beaucoup d’énergie pour maintenir les alvéoles ouvertes et les remplir d’air à plusieurs reprises, ce qui rend la respiration des bébés atteints du SDR difficile.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

22.2: Breathing
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

22.2: Breathing

The process of breathing, inhaling and exhaling, involves the coordinated movement of the chest wall, the lungs, and the muscles that move them. Two muscle groups with important roles in breathing are the diaphragm, located directly below the lungs, and the intercostal muscles, which lie between the ribs. When the diaphragm contracts, it moves downward, increasing the volume of the thoracic cavity and creating more room for the lungs to expand. When the intercostal muscles contract, the ribs move upward and the rib cage expands, similarly expanding the thoracic cavity.

Each lung is surrounded by two membranes called plurae, which are separated by fluid. This fluid creates an adhesive force that causes the lungs to stretch as the thoracic cavity expands. The increased volume in the lungs reduces the pressure. When the pressure drops below atmospheric pressure, this produces a pressure gradient that moves air from the higher-pressure atmosphere into the lower-pressure lungs.

When the diaphragm and intercostal muscles relax, the volume of the lungs decreases, increasing the pressure in the lungs. As pressure increases beyond atmospheric pressure, the resulting pressure gradient pushes air out of the body. In this way, the cycle of inhaling and exhaling is maintained.

Pressure-Volume Relationship

Boyle’s law states that, at a given temperature in a closed space, the pressure of a gas increases as the volume of its container decreases. Stated differently, pressure is inversely proportional to the volume. This law, combined with the movement of gas from higher-pressure to lower-pressure areas, explains why air is brought into the lungs when the diaphragm contracts.

How Do Lungs Increase in Volume?

The diaphragm contracts, moving downward and increasing the thoracic volume, but how does this increase the volume of the lungs? While bronchi and bronchioles are stiff and do not expand (although they can become blocked or inflamed), alveoli, tiny air sacs in the lungs, allow the lungs to increase in volume.

Restrictive vs. Obstructive Diseases

Pulmonary diseases decrease the flow of gas to and from the lungs and can be divided into two categories: restrictive and obstructive. Restrictive diseases, such as pulmonary fibrosis (scarring of the lung), restrict the expansion of the lungs. Obstructive diseases, like asthma, emphysema, and chronic bronchitis, obstruct the airway, limiting gas exchange.

Surfactant

The inner surfaces of alveoli are lined with fluid that contains surfactant, a mixture of phospholipids and lipoproteins. Surfactant reduces the surface tension of the alveolar fluid, preventing alveoli from collapsing and making it easier for alveoli to inflate with air.

Premature babies sometimes do not produce enough surfactant in their lungs, causing respiratory distress syndrome (RDS). Without sufficient surfactant, it takes a lot of energy to keep the alveoli open and filling repeatedly with air, making it difficult for babies with RDS to breath.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter