Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

2.2: Structure atomique
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Structure atomique
 
TRANSCRIPTION

2.2: Structure atomique

Aperçu

Toute la matière est composée d’atomes, les plus petites unités individuelles d’éléments. Chaque atome est composé de trois particules subatomiques : les protons, les neutrons et les électrons. Ensemble, ces trois particules représentent la masse et la charge d’un atome.

L’histoire de la théorie atomique

La première personne à avoir proposé que tout sur Terre est composé de minuscules particules fut le philosophe grec Démocrite, vers 450 av. J.-C. Il a utilisé le terme atomos, du grec pour “ indivisible ”, à partir duquel le terme moderne “ atome ” est dérivé. Son idée n’a cependant pas été prise au sérieux à l’époque et il a fallu plusieurs siècles avant que le concept de l’atome soit relancé. Au XIXe siècle, John Dalton proposa la théorie atomique qui est encore largement correcte aujourd’hui. Il a fait valoir cinq postulats pour expliquer comment les atomes constituaient le monde autour de nous : (1) toute matière est composée de particules infiniment petites, ou d’atomes ; (2) tous les atomes d’un élément donné sont identiques les uns aux autres et (3) sont différents des atomes de tous les autres éléments ; (4) deux éléments ou plus peuvent se combiner dans un rapport fixe pour former un composé ; et (5) les atomes ne peuvent pas être créés ou détruits dans une réaction chimique, mais ils peuvent être réarrangés pour former de nouvelles substances.

La découverte des particules subatomiques qui composent l’atome

Dalton n’avait que partiellement raison à propos des particules qui composent la matière. Bien que les atomes ne puissent pas être décomposés davantage par des processus chimiques ou physiques ordinaires, ils sont constitués de trois particules subatomiques plus petites. Le premier indice sur la structure subatomique est apparu à la fin du XIXe siècle quand J.J. Thomson a découvert l’électron. Les scientifiques savaient que la charge globale d’un atome était neutre, mais le “ modèle du plum pudding ” de l’atome de Thomson a tenté de concilier cette nouvelle information concernant l’existence d’une particule chargée négativement, suggérant que des électrons se trouvaient parsemés dans une zone de charge positive. Quelques années plus tard, Ernest Rutherford a effectué une expérience montrant que la majeure partie de la masse d’un atome est concentrée dans le noyau, où les protons représentent la charge positive d’un atome et les minuscules électrons chargés négativement constituent la majeure partie de l’espace à l’extérieur du noyau. Cela a réfuté le modèle du plum pudding de Thomson et a rapproché les scientifiques du modèle familier de l’atome que nous connaissons aujourd’hui. Le neutron a été découvert plus tard, en 1932, par James Chadwick. Cette dernière pièce du puzzle signifiait que les scientifiques avaient maintenant représenté toute la masse présente dans un atome avec des protons et des neutrons, ainsi que toute sa charge avec des protons et des électrons.

La structure d’un atome

Les protons se trouvent dans le noyau d’un atome, ils ont une charge positive et une masse d’une unité de masse atomique (UMA) chacun. Le nombre de protons est égal au numéro atomique du tableau périodique et détermine l’identité de l’élément. Les neutrons se trouvent également dans le noyau. Ils n’ont aucune charge, mais ils ont la même masse que les protons et contribuent ainsi à la masse atomique d’un atome. Les électrons orbitent autour du noyau dans des nuages. Ils ont une charge négative et une masse négligeable, de sorte qu’ils contribuent à la charge globale d’un atome mais pas à sa masse.

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

2.2: Atomic Structure
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

2.2: Atomic Structure

Overview

All matter is composed of atoms, the smallest individual units of elements. Each atom is made up of three subatomic particles: protons, neutrons, and electrons. Together, these three particles account for the mass and the charge of an atom.

The History of Atomic Theory

The first person to propose that everything on Earth is made up of tiny particles was the Greek philosopher Democritus, around 450 B.C. He used the term atomos, Greek for “indivisible,” from which the modern term “atom” is derived. His idea was not taken seriously at the time, however, and it was many centuries before the concept of the atom would be revived. In the 19th century, John Dalton proposed the atomic theory that is still largely correct today. He put forth five postulates to explain how atoms made up the world around us: (1) all matter is composed of infinitely small particles, or atoms; (2) all atoms of a given element are identical to one another and (3) are different from the atoms of all other elements; (4) two or more elements can combine in a fixed ratio to form a compound; and (5) atoms cannot be created or destroyed in a chemical reaction, but they can be rearranged to form new substances.

Discovering the Subatomic Particles that Make up the Atom

Dalton was only partially correct about the particles that make up matter. While atoms cannot be broken down further by ordinary chemical or physical processes, they are composed of three smaller subatomic particles. The first clue about the subatomic structure came at the end of the 19th century when J.J. Thomson discovered the electron. Scientists knew that the overall charge of an atom was neutral, but Thomson’s “plum pudding model” of the atom attempted to reconcile this new information regarding the existence of a negatively-charged particle, suggesting that electrons were found studded throughout an area of positive charge. Just a few years later, Ernest Rutherford performed an experiment showing that most of an atom’s mass is concentrated in the nucleus, where protons account for an atom’s positive charge, and the tiny negatively-charged electrons make up most of the space outside of the nucleus. This disproved Thomson’s plum pudding model and brought scientists one step closer to the familiar model of the atom we know today. The neutron was discovered later, in 1932, by James Chadwick. This final piece of the puzzle meant that scientists had now accounted for all the mass present in an atom with protons and neutrons, and all of its charge with protons and electrons.

The Structure of an Atom

Protons are found in the nucleus of an atom, have a positive charge, and a mass of one atomic mass unit (AMU) each. The number of protons is equal to the atomic number on the periodic table and determines the identity of the element. Neutrons are also found in the nucleus. They have no charge, but they have the same mass as protons and thus contribute to the atomic mass of an atom. Electrons orbit around the nucleus in clouds. They have a negative charge and negligible mass, so they contribute to the overall charge of an atom, but not to its mass.

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter