Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

10.4: Genomische DNA in Eukaryoten
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Genomic DNA in Eukaryotes
 
PROTOKOLLE

10.4: Genomische DNA in Eukaryoten

Eukaryoten besitzen im Vergleich zu Prokaryoten große Genome. Damit ihr Genom in eine Zelle passt, ist die eukaryotische DNA außergewöhnlich dicht im Zellkern verpackt. Dafür wird die DNA eng um Proteine, die Histone, gewickelt. Sie sind in Nukleosomen verpackt, welche durch Linker-DNA verbunden sind und sich zu Chromatinfasern winden. Weitere Proteine verdichten das Chromatin noch mehr, so dass es in bestimmten Phasen der Zellteilung als Chromosomen erkennbar ist.

Das menschliche Genom gemessen in Metern

Die meisten Zellen im menschlichen Körper enthalten etwa 6 Milliarden Basenpaare an DNA, die in 23 Chromosomenpaare verpackt sind. Es ist daher schwer vorstellbar, wie viel DNA diese Zahl genau darstellt. Man kann sich daher ebenfalls nur schwierig vorstellen, wie dicht gepackt die DNA sein muss, um in eine Zelle zu passen. Wir können einen gewissen Einblick gewinnen, wenn wir das Genom in seiner Länge darstellen. Würden wir die DNA einer einzelnen diploiden Zelle zu einer geraden Linie anordnen, wäre sie etwa zwei Meter lang!

Der Mensch hat jedoch kein ungewöhnlich großes Genom. Viele Fische, Amphibien und blühende Pflanzen haben viel größere Genome als der Mensch. Zum Beispiel enthält das haploide Genom der japanischen Blütenpflanze Paris japonica etwa 50-mal mehr DNA als das menschliche haploide Genom. Diese Zahlen unterstreichen die erstaunliche Arbeit, die Histone und andere chromatinumformende Proteine leisten müssen, um die DNA zu verpacken.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

10.4: Genomic DNA in Eukaryotes
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

10.4: Genomic DNA in Eukaryotes

Eukaryotes have large genomes compared to prokaryotes. To fit their genomes into a cell, eukaryotic DNA is packaged extraordinarily tightly inside the nucleus. To achieve this, DNA is tightly wound around proteins called histones, which are packaged into nucleosomes that are joined by linker DNA and coil into chromatin fibers. Additional fibrous proteins further compact the chromatin, which is recognizable as chromosomes during certain phases of cell division.

The Human Genome Measured in Meters

Most cells in the human body contain about 6 billion base pairs of DNA packaged into 23 pairs of chromosomes. It is hard to imagine exactly how much DNA these numbers represent, and therefore it is difficult to grasp how densely packed DNA must be to fit into a cell. We can gain some insight by expressing the genome in terms of length. If we were to arrange the DNA of a single diploid cell into a straight line, it would be about two meters long!

Note that humans do not have unusually large genomes. Many fish, amphibians, and flowering plants have much larger genomes than humans. For example, the haploid genome of the Japanese flowering plant Paris japonica contains about 50 times more DNA than the human haploid genome. These figures emphasize the astonishing work that histones and other chromatin remodeling proteins must do to package DNA.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter