Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

29.6: Erhaltung kleiner Populationen
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Erhaltung kleiner Populationen
 
PROTOKOLLE

29.6: Erhaltung kleiner Populationen

Kleine Populationsgrößen setzen eine Art aufgrund der mangelnden Variation und der daraus resultierenden geringeren Anpassungsfähigkeit einem extremen Risiko des Aussterbens aus. Dies schwächt die Überlebenschancen bei Belastungen wie dem Klimawandel, der Konkurrenz durch andere Arten oder neuen Krankheiten. Große Populationen überleben solche Belastungen eher, da es wahrscheinlicher ist, dass sich in ihr Individuen befinden, die genetische Variationen aufweisen, um sich den neuen Belastungen anzupassen. Bei kleinen Populationen ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit einer solchen Variation viel geringer.

Moderne genetische Techniken können Homozygotie von schädlichen Genen identifizieren, die durch Inzucht verursacht wird. Dies geschieht, wenn verwandte Organismen Nachkommen produzieren. Diese Nachkommen haben eine höhere Chance, zwei identische schädliche Allele zu erhalten. Zum Beispiel erlebten die Wölfe im Nationalpark Isle Royale in den USA einen extremen Populationsrückgang, der durch einen Krankheitsausbruch verursacht wurde und zu vermehrter Inzucht führte. Die Wolfspopulation ging weiter zurück, wodurch der Nationalpark an einem Punkt nur noch zwei Wölfe hatte.

Die Sequenzierung des gesamten Genoms ermöglichte den Forschern, die Abstammungslinie der übrigen Wölfe auf der Isle Royale zu identifizieren, wobei Paarungen zwischen Geschwistern sowie Paarungen zwischen Eltern und Nachkommen in der kleinen Population anhand von Mustern der chromosomalen Vererbung entdeckt wurden. Die Analyse der Gensequenzen zeigte schädliche Einzelnukleotid-Polymorphismen (Englisch: single-nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs)) innerhalb funktioneller Gene, die die Fitness dieser Wölfe reduzierten. Diese Mutationen erklären die physischen Merkmale, die bei den Isle Royale Wölfen zu beobachten sind, wie zum Beispiel Missbildungen in ihren Wirbeln und Brustkörben.

Förster führten andere Wölfe von außerhalb des Parks ein, um eine gesunde genetische Vielfalt auf der Isle Royale zu etablieren. Mit dieser gesünderen, größeren Population müssten die Wölfe auf der Isle Royale gedeihen. Die Förster verfolgen die Wölfe auf der Insel auch mit GPS-Halsbändern, um festzustellen, ob ihre Erhaltungsmethoden wirksam sind.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

29.6: Conservation of Small Populations
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

29.6: Conservation of Small Populations

Small population sizes put a species at extreme risk of extinction due to a lack of variation, and a consequent decrease in adaptability. This weakens the chances of survival under pressures such as climate change, competition from other species, or new diseases. Large populations are more likely to survive pressures such as these, as such populations are more likely to harbor individuals that have genetic variants that are adaptive under new stresses. Small populations are much less likely to have such variation.

Modern genomic techniques can identify homozygosity in deleterious genes that is caused by inbreeding. This happens when closely-related organisms produce offspring; the offspring have a higher chance of receiving two identical deleterious alleles. For example, the wolves in Isle Royale National Park went through an extreme population reduction caused by a disease outbreak, which led to increased inbreeding. The wolf population has continued to decline, at one point containing only two wolves.

Whole-genome sequencing allowed researchers to identify the lineage of the remaining wolves on Isle Royale, which showed sibling-sibling and parent-offspring matings in the small population based on patterns of chromosomal inheritance. Analysis of gene sequences showed deleterious single-nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) within functional genes that reduce the fitness of these wolves. These mutations explain physical characteristics that can be seen in Isle Royale wolves, such as malformations in their spines and rib cages.

Park rangers are bringing in wolves from outside the park to establish healthy genetic diversity on Isle Royale. Given a healthier, larger population, the wolves should be able to thrive on Isle Royale. Rangers also track the wolves on the island with GPS collars to determine if their conservation methods are effective.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter