Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

29.6: Conservation des petites populations
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Conservation des petites populations
 
TRANSCRIPTION

29.6: Conservation des petites populations

Les petites tailles de population mettent une espèce en danger extrême d’extinction en raison d’un manque de variation, et d’une diminution conséquente de l’adaptabilité. Cela affaiblit les chances de survie sous des pressions telles que le changement climatique, la concurrence d’autres espèces ou de nouvelles maladies. Les grandes populations sont plus susceptibles de survivre à des pressions comme celles-ci car ces populations sont plus susceptibles d’abriter des individus ayant des variantes génétiques qui s’adaptent sous de nouvelles contraintes. Les petites populations sont beaucoup moins susceptibles d’avoir de telles variations.

Les techniques génomiques modernes peuvent identifier l’homozygositie dans les gènes délétères qui est causée par la consanguinité. Cela se produit lorsque des organismes étroitement apparentés produisent une descendance ; celle-ci a plus de chances de recevoir deux allèles délétères identiques. Par exemple, les loups du parc national de l’Isle Royale ont connu une réduction extrême de la population causée par l’émergence d’une maladie, ce qui a entraîné une augmentation de la consanguinité. La population de loups a continué de diminuer, ne contenant à un moment donné que deux loups.

Le séquençage de l'ensemble du génome a permis aux chercheurs d'identifier la lignée des loups restants sur l'île Royale, ce qui a révélé des accouplements entre frères et sœurs et entre parents et descendants dans la petite population, sur la base des modèles d'hérédité chromosomique. L’analyse des séquences génétiques a montré des polymorphismes délétères d’un seul nucléotide (SNP) dans les gènes fonctionnels qui réduisent l’aptitude de ces loups. Ces mutations expliquent les caractéristiques physiques que l’on peut voir chez les loups de l’île Royale, comme les malformations dans leurs colonnes vertébrales et leurs cages thoraciques.

Les gardes du parc font venir des loups de l’extérieur du parc pour établir une diversité génétique saine sur l’île Royale. Compte tenu d’une population plus saine et plus importante, les loups devraient être en mesure de prospérer sur l’île Royale. Les gardes suivent également les loups de l’île avec des colliers GPS pour déterminer si leurs méthodes de conservation sont efficaces.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

29.6: Conservation of Small Populations
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

29.6: Conservation of Small Populations

Small population sizes put a species at extreme risk of extinction due to a lack of variation, and a consequent decrease in adaptability. This weakens the chances of survival under pressures such as climate change, competition from other species, or new diseases. Large populations are more likely to survive pressures such as these, as such populations are more likely to harbor individuals that have genetic variants that are adaptive under new stresses. Small populations are much less likely to have such variation.

Modern genomic techniques can identify homozygosity in deleterious genes that is caused by inbreeding. This happens when closely-related organisms produce offspring; the offspring have a higher chance of receiving two identical deleterious alleles. For example, the wolves in Isle Royale National Park went through an extreme population reduction caused by a disease outbreak, which led to increased inbreeding. The wolf population has continued to decline, at one point containing only two wolves.

Whole-genome sequencing allowed researchers to identify the lineage of the remaining wolves on Isle Royale, which showed sibling-sibling and parent-offspring matings in the small population based on patterns of chromosomal inheritance. Analysis of gene sequences showed deleterious single-nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) within functional genes that reduce the fitness of these wolves. These mutations explain physical characteristics that can be seen in Isle Royale wolves, such as malformations in their spines and rib cages.

Park rangers are bringing in wolves from outside the park to establish healthy genetic diversity on Isle Royale. Given a healthier, larger population, the wolves should be able to thrive on Isle Royale. Rangers also track the wolves on the island with GPS collars to determine if their conservation methods are effective.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter