Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

34.19: Les rôles des bactéries et des champignons dans la nutrition végétale
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Les rôles des bactéries et des champignons dans la nutrition végétale
 
TRANSCRIPTION

34.19: Les rôles des bactéries et des champignons dans la nutrition végétale

Les plantes ont la capacité impressionnante de créer leur propre nourriture grâce à la photosynthèse. Cependant, les plantes ont souvent besoin de l’aide d’organismes dans le sol afin d’acquérir les nutriments dont elles ont besoin pour fonctionner correctement. Les bactéries et les champignons ont développé des relations symbiotiques avec les plantes qui aident l’espèce à prospérer dans une grande variété d’environnements.

Les bactéries collectives résidant dans et autour des racines des plantes sont appelées la rhizosphère. Ces espèces bactériennes vivant dans le sol sont incroyablement diverses. Bien que certaines puissent être pathogènes, la plupart ont des rôles qui soutiennent la santé des plantes. En échange, les bactéries reçoivent une alimentation de la part des plantes sous forme de glucides, d’acides aminés et d’acides nucléiques.

Les bactéries appelées rhizobactéries peuvent protéger les plantes en produisant des antibiotiques ou en absorbant les métaux toxiques dans le sol. En outre, les bactéries aident les plantes en accédant à des réserves autrement inutilisables de nutriments dans le sol. Par exemple, les plantes n’ont pas les machineries moléculaires pour utiliser directement l’azote de l’atmosphère. Au lieu de cela, elles prennent de l’azote sous forme d’ammonium (NH4+) et de nitrate (NO3-), qui est généré par des bactéries résidant dans le sol.

Au cours d’un processus appelé fixation de l’azote, les bactéries vivant dans le sol transforment l’azote atmosphérique en ammoniac. La fixation de l’azote nécessite de grandes quantités d’ATP que les bactéries dérivent des glucides fournis par les plantes. D’autres groupes de bactéries transforment l’ammoniac en nitrate au cours d’un processus en deux étapes appelé nitrification. Ces processus fournissent aux plantes des formes d’azote qu’elles peuvent utiliser pour synthétiser les protéines et les acides nucléiques.

Les champignons participent également à des relations symbiotiques avec les plantes. Les scientifiques pensent que la relation mutualiste entre les plantes et les champignons mycorhizes a été une adaptation clé dans la colonisation réussie des terres, aidant les premières plantes à acquérir des éléments essentiels du sol. Les mycorhizes modernes servent à l’acquisition d’eau, à la signalisation de facteur de croissance et à la protection des plantes. Les ectomycorhizes couvrent les racines et aident à absorber l’eau et les minéraux. Dans le même temps, les mycorhizes arbusculaires sont incorporées dans le tissu racinaire, augmentant le contact entre les cellules végétales et les filaments ramifiés du champignon, appelés des hyphes.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

34.19: The Roles of Bacteria and Fungi in Plant Nutrition
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's JoVE Core collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

 
Start Free Trial
TRANSCRIPT

34.19: The Roles of Bacteria and Fungi in Plant Nutrition

Plants have the impressive ability to create their own food through photosynthesis. However, plants often require assistance from organisms in the soil to acquire the nutrients they need to function correctly. Both bacteria and fungi have evolved symbiotic relationships with plants that help the species to thrive in a wide variety of environments.

The collective bacteria residing in and around plant roots are termed the rhizosphere. These soil-dwelling bacterial species are incredibly diverse. Though some may be pathogenic, most have roles in promoting plant health. In exchange, the bacteria receive nutrition from plants in the form of carbohydrates, amino acids, and nucleic acids.

The bacteria called rhizobacteria can protect plants by producing antibiotics or absorbing toxic metals in the soil. Additionally, bacteria help plants by accessing otherwise unusable stores of nutrients in the soil. For example, plants lack the molecular machinery to utilize nitrogen from the atmosphere directly. Instead, they take up nitrogen in the form of ammonium (NH4+) and nitrate (NO3- ), which is generated by soil-residing bacteria.

During a process called nitrogen fixation, soil-dwelling bacteria convert atmospheric nitrogen to ammonia. Nitrogen-fixation requires large amounts of ATP that bacteria derive from plant-provided carbohydrates. Other groups of bacteria convert ammonia to nitrate during a two-step process called nitrification. These processes provide plants with forms of nitrogen that they can use to synthesize proteins and nucleic acids.

Fungi also participate in symbiotic relationships with plants. Scientists think that the mutualistic relationship between plants and mycorrhizae fungi was a key adaptation in the successful colonization of land, helping early plants acquire essential elements from the soil. Modern mycorrhizae function in water acquisition, growth factor signaling, and plant protection. Ectomycorrhizae cover roots and help absorb water and minerals. At the same time, arbuscular mycorrhizae are embedded within the root tissue, increasing contact between the plant cells and the branching filaments of the fungus, called hyphae.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter