Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

36.5: Réponses à la sécheresse et aux inondations
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Réponses à la sécheresse et aux inondations
 
TRANSCRIPTION

36.5: Réponses à la sécheresse et aux inondations

L’eau joue un rôle important dans le cycle de vie des plantes. Cependant, l’insuffisance ou l’excès d’eau peut être préjudiciable et constituer une menace sérieuse pour les plantes.

Dans des conditions normales, l’eau absorbée par la plante s’évapore des feuilles et d’autres parties au cours de ce qu’on appelle la transpiration. En période de sécheresse, l’eau qui s’évapore par transpiration dépasse de loin l’eau absorbée par le sol, ce qui fait flétrir les plantes. La réponse générale des plantes au stress dû à la sécheresse est la synthèse de l’hormone acide abscissique qui maintient les stomates fermés et réduit la transpiration. En outre, les plantes peuvent répondre à l’insuffisance extrême de l’eau en perdant des feuilles. Cette méthode, cependant, réduit la photosynthèse et entrave par conséquent la croissance des plantes.

Atténuation du stress dû à la sécheresse chez les plantes par les microbes

Le stress lié à la sécheresse limite la croissance et la productivité des plantes dans les régions arides et semi-arides. Cependant, certains microbes présents à proximité des plantes peuvent libérer des signaux physiques et chimiques qui induisent des changements liés à la défense des plantes dans des conditions de sécheresse. Par exemple, il a été rapporté que la bactérie du sol Paenibacillus polymyx entraîne une tolérance à la sécheresse chez Arabidopsis. L’effet le plus significatif de cette bactérie a été observé dans la croissance des légumineuses sous stress hydrique. Les plantes légumineuses dépendent du rhizobium du sol pour la fixation de l’azote ; mais les rhizobiums sont extrêmement sensibles au stress de la sécheresse, ce qui entraîne une fixation très faible de l’azote. Cependant, le mélange du sol avec P. polymyx a eu comme conséquence la fixation accrue d’azote par les rhizobiums et la croissance accrue de la plante de haricot.

L’excès d’eau est tout aussi désastreux pour les plantes qu’un manque d’eau. Trop d’eau peut étouffer les plantes en réduisant les espaces d’air dans le sol, limitant ainsi l’oxygène nécessaire à la respiration cellulaire. Certaines espèces de plantes ligneuses réagissent aux conditions d'inondation en développant une croissance hypertrophique qui se manifeste par un gonflement des tissus à la base de la tige. Cette croissance hypertrophique peut aider à la diffusion vers le bas de l’oxygène ainsi qu’à l’évacuation potentielle de composés toxiques (dioxyde de carbone, méthane et éthanol) formés à partir du métabolisme anaérobie. D'autres réponses adaptatives au stress de l'inondation comprennent la formation de racines adventives, l'augmentation de la porosité des racines par des cellules spécialisées appelées cellules d’aérenchyme, et un exoderme subérifié pour empêcher la perte d'oxygène.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

36.5: Responses to Drought and Flooding
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's JoVE Core collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

 
Start Free Trial
TRANSCRIPT

36.5: Responses to Drought and Flooding

Water plays a significant role in the life cycle of plants. However, insufficient or excess of water can be detrimental and pose a serious threat to plants.

Under normal conditions, water taken up by the plant evaporates from leaves and other parts in a process called transpiration. In times of drought stress, water that evaporates by transpiration far exceeds the water absorbed from the soil, causing plants to wilt. The general plant response to drought stress is the synthesis of hormone abscisic acid that keeps stomata closed and reduces transpiration. Additionally, plants may respond to extreme water insufficiency by shedding leaves. This method, however, reduces photosynthesis and consequently hampers plant growth.

Mitigation of drought stress in plants by microbes

Drought stress limits the growth and productivity of plants in arid and semi-arid regions. However, certain microbes present in the vicinity of plants may release physical and chemical signals that induce changes related to plant defense under drought conditions. For example, the soil bacterium Paenibacillus polymyx is reported to induce drought tolerance in Arabidopsis. The most significant effect of this bacteria was observed in the growth of legumes under water stress. Leguminous plants depend on soil rhizobium for nitrogen fixation - but rhizobia are extremely sensitive to drought stress, resulting in very low nitrogen fixation. However, soil mixed with P. polymyx resulted in increased nitrogen fixation by rhizobium and increased growth of the bean plant.

Excess water is equally as disastrous to plants as a lack of water. Too much water can suffocate plants by reducing air spaces in the soil, thereby restricting oxygen needed for cellular respiration. Certain woody plant species respond to flood conditions by developing hypertrophic growth that appears as swelling of tissues at the stem base. This hypertrophic growth may aid in the downward diffusion of oxygen as well as potential venting of toxic compounds (carbon dioxide, methane, and ethanol) formed from anaerobic metabolism. Other adaptive responses to flood stress include the formation of adventitious roots, increases in root porosity via specialized cells called aerenchyma cells, and a suberized exodermis to prevent loss of oxygen.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter