Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

29.1: Qu'est-ce que la biodiversité ?
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
What is Biodiversity?
 
TRANSCRIPTION

29.1: Qu'est-ce que la biodiversité ?

La biodiversité décrit la variété d’êtres vivants à plusieurs niveaux d'organisation : la diversité génétique, la diversité des espèces et la diversité des écosystèmes. La diversité des espèces comprend toutes les branches de l’arbre évolutif, allant des organismes procaryotes unicellulaires, les bactéries et les archées, jusqu’aux royaumes eucaryotes : les plantes, les animaux, les champignons et les protistes. À ce jour, environ 1,75 million d’espèces ont été identifiées et de nouvelles espèces sont découvertes chaque semaine.

La biodiversité comprend également les interactions qui relient les organismes les uns aux autres et à l’environnement dans lequel ils vivent. Les organismes ont évolué ensemble pour créer les réseaux complexes de la vie, ce qui implique à la fois des relations coopératives (symbiotiques) et des relations prédateur-proie. La biodiversité est donc un concept beaucoup plus vaste que la simple collection d’espèces à laquelle elle est souvent réduite.

Tous les êtres vivants dépendent de l’existence et des activités d’autres êtres vivants. Des groupes de populations de différentes espèces qui interagissent les unes avec les autres et avec leur environnement physique constituent un écosystème. Les écosystèmes eux-mêmes sont très diversifiés : par exemple les forêts, les étangs, les déserts, les récifs coralliens et même la flore intestinale humaine. Les scientifiques qui étudient la biodiversité ne s’intéressent pas seulement au nombre d’espèces différentes dans un écosystème, mais aussi au nombre d’individus de chaque espèce. L’étude de la biodiversité indique à quel point les organismes interagissent les uns avec les autres et comment les activités humaines locales ou le changement climatique mondial affectent le système en question.

La santé d’une espèce et sa capacité à survivre face à l’évolution des conditions environnementales dépendent de la biodiversité au niveau génétique. De petits changements dans la composition génétique d’individus précis au sein d’une population peuvent leur permettre de réussir là où d’autres peuvent échouer. Dans la reproduction sexuelle des espèces, la biodiversité génétique est essentielle pour maintenir la santé de l’espèce afin que l’accouplement puisse se produire entre des individus génétiquement différents. Il est bien établi que la consanguinité entraîne l’expression de traits défavorables, ce qui diminue la valeur sélective de l’espèce. Pour cette raison, le maintien de la biodiversité génétique d’une espèce est essentiel avant qu’elle n’atteigne un niveau de mise en danger critique.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

30.1: What is Biodiversity?
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

30.1: What is Biodiversity?

Biodiversity describes the variety of living things at multiple organizational levels: genetic, species and ecosystem diversity. Species diversity includes all branches of the evolutionary tree from single-celled prokaryotic organisms, bacteria, and archaea, to the eukaryotic kingdoms: plants; animals; fungi; and protists. To date, there have been about 1.75 million species identified, and new species are discovered every week.

Biodiversity also includes the interactions that connect organisms to each other and to the environment in which they live. Organisms have evolved together to create the intricate webs of life that involve both cooperative (symbiotic) relationships and predator-prey relationships. Biodiversity is, therefore, a much broader concept than the simple collection of species to which it is often reduced.

All living things depend on the existence and activities of other living things. Groups of populations of different species interacting with one another and with their physical environment constitute an ecosystem. Ecosystems themselves are very diverse: for example forests, ponds, deserts, coral reefs, and even the human intestinal flora. Scientists who study biodiversity are not only interested in the number of different species in an ecosystem, but also in how many individuals of each species is present. Studying biodiversity indicates in which ways organisms are interacting with one another and how local human activities or global climate change are affecting the system in question.

The health of a species and its ability to survive in the face of changing environmental conditions is dependent on biodiversity at the genetic level. Small changes in the genetic makeup of specific individuals within a population can allow them to succeed where others may fail. In sexually reproducing species, genetic biodiversity is essential for maintaining the health of the species so that mating can occur between genetically dissimilar individuals. It is well established that inbreeding results in the expression of unfavorable traits, decreasing the fitness of the species. For this reason, maintaining the genetic biodiversity of a species is essential before it reaches a level of critical endangerment.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter